We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
57
19
12
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
19
12
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baker room the owner the king size bed my husband and i other guests late at night coffee pot those places ste anne private bathroom montmorency falls old house lunch waiter fireplace noise highway
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2008

My boyfriend and I enjoyed the last weekend of Winter Carnaval in Quebec City. Everything was booked solid we actually stumbled on this quaint B & B, because we were shut out of the City. Only 15 minutes from Quebec City with a fantastic view of Montmorency Falls en route.
The Inn was secluded and we booked the Studio, which is actually an upstairs apt. housed seperate from the main building. This is great for privacy. Also had a jacuzzi bath and bar fridge with cable ( English) and two thermostats for each side of the apt. We paid $99 per night, that included a fantastic buffet breakfast( excellent price since most of QC was in prime rate season).. My man won't setle for just cornflakes, we were able to make our own eggs!. COOL>
The evening meal was O.K. but overpriced and the waiter was not that attentive. The outside stairs to the apt. were snow covered and posed a safety hazard if you didn't hold on to the rail. Overall though, a great romantic weekend for a bargain price.

Date of stay: February 2008
1  Thank Alison099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2007

I was one of three women who were vacationing together at the Auberge Baker when the Sept. 22 reviewer was there. We had a lovely time with no complaints about mattresses, service or, especially, the meals.
This is my third stay in the Cloutier Room. I first visited in 2003 with my teen-age daughter and one of her friends. It was so much fun, I recommended it to a couple who were looking for somewhere romantic, and they had a lovely time too.
I returned in 2005 with a woman friend, and she, too, enjoyed her stay.
My one complaint about the Cloutier Room is that the shower could be a bit easier to figure out, but the owner has affixed instructions on the inside of t he bathroom door.
I am very familiar with the area and would never have kept returning to the Auberge Baker, if I thought it was overpriced or lacked character.

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ilovehistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2007

Baker Room: the most expensive. Worth it? Absolutely not! A tourist trap that's all.

Concrete hard mattress definitely not prone to intimacy but then again, even whispers can be heard in the shared middle room where all room doors connect to.

One window in the room gives directly unto the shared balcony-quite handy if you want to enter your room by the window instead of going through the shared living/dining-room where people play cards etc.
Room seemed large in picture but actually quite small. Very basic.
A rip-off as is the cost of the food handed in small amounts to keep you ordering more courses.

That was the last room we rented after a 2 week travel holiday and frankly was the worst of all.

Would never recommend even with the owner's promise that they are soon to buy new mattresses! Certainly didn't get a discount for being unable to sleep on the one there!

Date of stay: September 2007
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dixietrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

We stayed in the Cloutier Room at the Auberge Baker for two nights. The room was very spacious and quaintly furnished with antique furniture. The Auberge sits back from the main road and is fairly quiet. Within easy driving distance are the Chutes at Montmorency and the Cathedrale St. Anne de Beaupré as well as some nice hiking. Because there aren’t many restaurants in the area we ate both days in the hotel. The food was very good and the lunch menu was very reasonable, so we had planned to break one of our sightseeing days by doing lunch there, too. We were told that lunch was served until 5. We double checked again with the waitress that they would be doing lunch the next day and planned accordingly. We arrived back at the hotel at 3 looking forward to a nice meal. Well, the restaurant had closed at 2 and no lunch was being served. It was a Sunday and they only served brunch till 2. We were none too happy about this because there were very few places too eat nearby and quite frankly we were starving! We had to wait till dinner to get anything to eat and survived on peanuts and crackers till they started serving dinner. It really spoiled the day. We also had an issue trying to figure out how to get the shower in our room to work. We called down to reception and asked if they could send someone up. No-one ever came. The next morning we called again and even the person they sent couldn’t figure it out. Through trial and error we finally figured it out ourselves. All in all the hotel is very charming, the food is good, but we were disappointed with the service. The staff weren’t particularly friendly or knowledgeable, but it’s certainly the best hotel in the area, so we would probably stay there again. At least we’d know how to operate the shower this time!

Date of stay: September 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginzingggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018
Google Translation

Date of stay: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews