We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worst room ever, but very good breakfast if the chef decides to get out of bed.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conon Bridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Conon Bridge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Dingwall B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worst room ever, but very good breakfast if the chef decides to get out of bed.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

There are only two channels on a 12 inch portable tv with no remote control. Shared bathroom and toilet, with no thermostatic safety device on shower. Toilet roll was either non existent or see through. No extraction system for steam in shower area, also 60 watt candle bulb in glass open shade over shower area, would not pass modern building regs. There is something that emits a low bleeping sound every 15 mins to keep you awake. Room was very cramped and dated. Breakfast was excellent except for one morning when the chef decided to have a morning off, when this was reported the owners accused us of imagining the situation. Also if you do stay here, get a member of staff to check room with you, you could be accused of damage that you have not caused. I was expecting john cleese to turn up with his funny walks bureau.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rappo011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    11
    20
    32
See reviews for
14
22
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

We went here for dinner one night during our stay in the area and what can I say? The food was exceptional.
Beautiful breaded camembert with cranberry sauce for starters, followed by an exquisite Chicken Balmoral with locally sourced haggis for main, and the best floater coffee I've ever tasted to finish. All at a good price too.
Excellent, attentive service as well. The guy on the bar said he normally chef's at the hotel but was helping out waiting tables as they were short staffed. He was a credit to the hotel.
I did not stay overnight at the hotel so cannot comment on the rooms (Ive just given 5 stars for everything anyway) but I came back to the area I'd certainly consider doing so as the overnight rates looked reasonable. I would thoroughly recommend a visit here on the strength of the food alone.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Kitty_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

When i arrived on the monday night after a 9 hour drive i asked about food and the reply i got was ' i will ask the chef and see how he feels ' , this was 1.5 hrs before the restaraunt was due to close.
There were some very noisy young girls swearing loudly in the public bar which was carrying through to the lounge where myself and others were having our meal.
The television had only 1 channel available.
When i went for a wash in the morning i found there was no hot water.
I decided to check out after having breakfast even tho i had booked in for 4 nights.
The chef was in charge of the booking out and when he asked me why i was checking out early i told him about the lack of hot water and no tv channels.
He apologised to me and said that it was a regular occurence!
When he called the manager asking about how to deal with this the manager asked to speak with me.
I explained my reasons wth him about my premature departure.
He then pointed out to me about his hotel policy of a 2 day payment in the event of cancelling after the first night.
I said i would pay for my 1 night which i had stayed but not for 2 nights due to my complaints and reasons for leaving in the first place.
He basically said i was lying and showed no compassion to my circumstances whatsoever, and wouldnt change his mind about charging me for the 2 days.
After i refused he told the chef nt to charge me anything.
When i checked with the credit card company later i found he had charged me for the 2 days and taken it off my card .
Im sure i'm not the first person to fall foul of this hotel nor will i be the last.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrano22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dingwall hotels

haverfordwest
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

I do not recognise the hotel from some of the previous comments. I had a lovely big room well furnished and so comfortable the staff were wonderful, and friendly and the food was good too no complaints at all and would certainly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archaeo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

My only tiny complaint would be the lumpy mattress in my single room, but that can be fixed easily and cheaply by the owners.

Other than that I loved this place. It is well situated on the main street in Conon Bridge and you can walk along the nearby River.

The best thing about this place was the food. I had a great "lamb shank" followed by the best ever Sticky Toffee Pudding which was so gorgeous I photographed it to post on here (how sad?!!!).

The dining room is nicely illuminated and cosy and the host and staff were all very pleasant. The breakfast in the morning was simply outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
3.1 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.7 km away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
8.0 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
National Hotel Dingwall
National Hotel Dingwall
#3 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
9.4 km away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
27.0 km away
Royal Hotel Cromarty
Royal Hotel Cromarty
#1 of 2 in Cromarty
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conon Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conon Bridge Hotel

Property: Conon Bridge Hotel
Address: High Street | Conon Bridge, Dingwall IV7 8HD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Dingwall
Price range (per night): $88 - $116
Hotel Class:3 star — Conon Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional highland village hotel providing comfortable accommodation coupled with very attentive service. Hotel has two bars and a restaurant and serves excellent quality meals using the best of locally sourced products ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Book Direct Rooms and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Conon Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conon Bridge Hotel Dingwall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing