We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Weekend”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Had a great Easter Weekend at Tulloch Castle, the room was good, comfortable and clean, staff were very helpful and friendly, and the food was excellent. Couldn't ask for more, we'll definately stay there again.
JG

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    198
    110
    81
    68
See reviews for
124
379
14
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Where to start - the bar area where food is served is the worst decorated place in the area - it's a nightmare throwback to the 1970s. They don't seem able to even light it efficiently. The bar area is cold and unwelcoming and dingy. Beer selection and wine list remind me of a bad social club, not a hotel. The single bar lady/ waitress on duty made it quite clear that customer service wasn't in her job plan.

The food: I had steak pie which was salvaged by having decent meat in it, but the veg etc were a bit sorry. My wife had fish and chips which were ridiculously damp - quite obviously frozen and reheated. Another customer complained of the same thing and was quite rudely rebutted, though was given another meal (which all suffered the same). It's a shame as we've been to a function there in their main ballroom and that was quite good.

It could be a lovely place with such an intersting old building but unless they spruce it up and get some serious attention to detail, it'll die.

Room Tip: Anything not in the Tulloch Castle Hotel would probably be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScruffyBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dingwall hotels

England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The sad thing about this hotel is the general air of complacency. It is a great building, and our room (12) had the potential to be great. As did the restraunt and the bar. Unfortunately the overall feeling we got was 'this will do'.

There was a note on reception stating there was a leak in the roof on the second floor corridor, and that they were aware of and were waiting for contractors. Fair enough, but the leak looked to have been there a long time (plasterboard patching the gap) and the corridor smelt of an awful mix of the Glade air freshener and damp/mould.

Breakfast was ok, but tasted an awful lot like 'value' sausages etc, coffee was instant coffee served black in a coffee pot etc etc.

Please do not go to this hotel expecting a good Scottish 4* experience, I would say it is 3* at best.

Room Tip: Room 12 had a good view - although the door to the balcony wasn't working.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Sleepenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

When you first arrive at the Castle it doesn't look very impressive from the outside. Inside it is quite nice, large staircase, old furnishings and an open log fire. The four poster bedrooms are very nice but I believe the standard rooms are quite basic. Ask for the flat if you are a family as it has two bedrooms en suite, a kitchen, lounge and dining room, it didn't cost any more. I believe this was the owners flat in the tower. The food was certainly not gourmet and neither was the breakfast. When I asked for porridge oats I was told I would have to wait a while whilst someone ran down to the shop to buy some. I didn't bother waiting. We had dinner the night before in the bar, as the restaurant was empty and had no atmosphere. The staff were quite pleasant and the service ok. I would not rate this hotel as a 4 star, a 3 star maybe, but if you manage to get a special it is worth spending a night there just to experience the ambience of a haunted castle.

Room Tip: If you are a family ask for the flat otherwise choose a four poster room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidstoneGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
351 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked this as the main attraction of this tour, with my girlfriend wanting to stay in a genuine Scottish Castle, and this one fitted the bill admirably. The approach up through a housing estate is a bit off-putting but the castle itself is more than grand enough to make up for the approach

The reception area boasts a large wood fireplace about 7 feet tall and you’ve gotta be quick to get a seat by in when the hotel is busy. We were shown up to our room and given a bit of tour of the function rooms too, with an introduction to the stories around the ghosts (all benevolent). We saw none though our room (7) had a small boy visitor playing with a medium’s hair a few years ago.

We had a snack in the Green Lady Bar which was tasty and inexpensive.

A run around the castle ground and up the farm and beyond was a nice morning exercise, with a little bit of snow still laying in places.

Breakfast was very good in the dining room and for all explorations we didn’t find any ghosts or ghouls, but it was good fun thinking about it. – except my girlfriend couldn’t sleep well…

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 7, a 4-poster room at the top of the hotel. A lot of stairs to get up to it, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
5.6 km away
Kinkell House Hotel
Kinkell House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
122 reviews
9.3 km away
Coul House Hotel
Coul House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Contin
743 reviews
38.5 km away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dornoch
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
518 reviews
18.0 km away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
335 reviews
31.3 km away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulloch Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulloch Castle Hotel

Property: Tulloch Castle Hotel
Address: Tulloch Castle Drive, Dingwall IV15 9ND, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Dingwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dingwall
Price range (per night): $150 - $322
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulloch Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an imposing position, with Highland views spread out like an open atlas, Tulloch Castle is on the edge of the bustling market town of Dingwall, just 15 miles north of Inverness. Swift new roads make Tulloch Castle the perfect base to explore the enchanting Black Isle to the east and the stunning contrasts of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the unforgettable deep glens and rugged coastlines of the West Highlands; all just a daytrip away. Whether you want to enjoy a fine meal in our restaurant, rest for a few nights in one of the castle bedchambers, or just taste local ale in the Green Lady Lounge, you will find Tulloch Castle an unforgettable place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Otel, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tulloch Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulloch Castle Dingwall
Hotel Tulloch Castle
Tulloch Castle Hotel Dingwall, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing