We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 112*
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ben Wyvis Hotel(Strathpeffer)
USD 94*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mackay's Hotel(Strathpeffer)
USD 107*
USD 94*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Highland Hotel(Strathpeffer)
USD 82*
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Dower House(Muir of Ord)
USD 203*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 203*
USD 188*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priory Hotel(Beauly)
USD 135*
USD 116*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
287
230
132
87
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
230
132
87
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghost tourfour posterposter bedno liftold buildingreception arearoom was largemodern hoteldining roombar menulots of historyroaring firefull scottish breakfastloch nessfantastic stayboth nightsevening meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Where to start - the bar area where food is served is the worst decorated place in the area - it's a nightmare throwback to the 1970s. They don't seem able to even light it efficiently. The bar area is cold and unwelcoming and dingy. Beer selection and wine list remind me of a bad social club, not a hotel. The single bar lady/ waitress on duty made it quite clear that customer service wasn't in her job plan.

The food: I had steak pie which was salvaged by having decent meat in it, but the veg etc were a bit sorry. My wife had fish and chips which were ridiculously damp - quite obviously frozen and reheated. Another customer complained of the same thing and was quite rudely rebutted, though was given another meal (which all suffered the same). It's a shame as we've been to a function there in their main ballroom and that was quite good.

It could be a lovely place with such an intersting old building but unless they spruce it up and get some serious attention to detail, it'll die.

Room Tip: Anything not in the Tulloch Castle Hotel would probably be better.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScruffyBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The sad thing about this hotel is the general air of complacency. It is a great building, and our room (12) had the potential to be great. As did the restraunt and the bar. Unfortunately the overall feeling we got was 'this will do'.

There was a note on reception stating there was a leak in the roof on the second floor corridor, and that they were aware of and were waiting for contractors. Fair enough, but the leak looked to have been there a long time (plasterboard patching the gap) and the corridor smelt of an awful mix of the Glade air freshener and damp/mould.

Breakfast was ok, but tasted an awful lot like 'value' sausages etc, coffee was instant coffee served black in a coffee pot etc etc.

Please do not go to this hotel expecting a good Scottish 4* experience, I would say it is 3* at best.

Room Tip: Room 12 had a good view - although the door to the balcony wasn't working.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The_Sleepenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

When you first arrive at the Castle it doesn't look very impressive from the outside. Inside it is quite nice, large staircase, old furnishings and an open log fire. The four poster bedrooms are very nice but I believe the standard rooms are quite basic. Ask for the flat if you are a family as it has two bedrooms en suite, a kitchen, lounge and dining room, it didn't cost any more. I believe this was the owners flat in the tower. The food was certainly not gourmet and neither was the breakfast. When I asked for porridge oats I was told I would have to wait a while whilst someone ran down to the shop to buy some. I didn't bother waiting. We had dinner the night before in the bar, as the restaurant was empty and had no atmosphere. The staff were quite pleasant and the service ok. I would not rate this hotel as a 4 star, a 3 star maybe, but if you manage to get a special it is worth spending a night there just to experience the ambience of a haunted castle.

Room Tip: If you are a family ask for the flat otherwise choose a four poster room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaidstoneGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We booked this as the main attraction of this tour, with my girlfriend wanting to stay in a genuine Scottish Castle, and this one fitted the bill admirably. The approach up through a housing estate is a bit off-putting but the castle itself is more than grand enough to make up for the approach

The reception area boasts a large wood fireplace about 7 feet tall and you’ve gotta be quick to get a seat by in when the hotel is busy. We were shown up to our room and given a bit of tour of the function rooms too, with an introduction to the stories around the ghosts (all benevolent). We saw none though our room (7) had a small boy visitor playing with a medium’s hair a few years ago.

We had a snack in the Green Lady Bar which was tasty and inexpensive.

A run around the castle ground and up the farm and beyond was a nice morning exercise, with a little bit of snow still laying in places.

Breakfast was very good in the dining room and for all explorations we didn’t find any ghosts or ghouls, but it was good fun thinking about it. – except my girlfriend couldn’t sleep well…

Room Tip: We stayed in Rm 7, a 4-poster room at the top of the hotel. A lot of stairs to get up to it, but it's a large airy room with a stone fireplace in it. Perhaps it was a little bit tired looking, but a nice room nonetheless.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We drove up the driveway and loved it from the first moment. Lovely staff from the ladies at reception to the bar and restaurant staff. The room is spacious for 2 adults and 2 kids and the bed is wonderful. There is a huge fireplace to sit in front of with your chosen glass of beverage. Overall, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndaw573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews