We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A new year mid week city break in January” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waterhouse
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A new year mid week city break in January”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I wanted to get away for my 30th birthday so I decided that I wanted to go to Bath. I didn't want to stay in the middle of one city to another so I looked at somewhere just outside the city centre. I came across this hotel on late rooms.

The Waterhouse is a manor house surrounded by rolling hills of the countryside down a small lane about 2 and half miles outside Bath. Rooms are very nicely decorated with ensuite shower room, mini fridge, tea making facilities with complimentary condiments, hairdryer, tv, free wireless internet for laptops and a very comfy bed.

The staff were nice and friendly, Jane and Anthony made us feel very welcome and at home, providing us with information and going out of their way for our needs. Also Anthony whipped up an excellent full english breakfast as well as having the choice of cereals and fruit juices.

The local pub, The Wheelwrights is in the village on the other side of the river, you can walk there as there is a bridge that you can cross but if its muddy or dark then a car or taxi would be better, they serve food and local ales.

Getting into the city centre is very easy, 5 mins by car or taxi and the taxi fare is around £10 or on a nice day and if you are feeling fit you could even walk.

We would definitely stay at the Waterhouse again. We are thinking of going back in the spring/summer season so that we can do a bit of country walking as well visiting the beautiful city centre again for sites, shopping and spa treatments.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieworld05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Waterhouse is now under new management with an evening menu available and bar facilities.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    127
    13
    10
    9
See reviews for
65
280
11
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here recently and cannot recommend it highly enough. Set in beautiful, tranquil surroundings, it's a real hidden gem. The grounds truly are the stuff the poems are made of!
Clean, comfortable and well presented, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming.
On arrival I was shown to my room which was lovely and spacious, well equipped, extremely comfortable bed and a wonderful shower, I slept like a baby.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I booked this place for a weekend break for my girlfriend and i based on the look of the building and the look of quality in the rooms, we were not disappointed! The surrounding are was really scenic and it is only a quick 5-10 min drive into Bath. On arrival we were greeted by Simon (the owner), a lovely gent who made us feel really welcome and right at home. The rooms are very "boutique" and are kept to a high standard, shower was immense, loved this and the complimentary drinks were a lovely touch. The breakfast that was supplied was great, it had everything that a full english should hav and we found that all of our catering needs were met, if you didnt want a full english you had a choice of pastries, cereals or fruit. All in all i look forward to returning here in the new year when we visit bath again and i would definately recommend this to my friends and family. Thank you Simon for making us both feel so welcome.

Room Tip: If travelling using satnav make sure you use the post-code BA2 7JA
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed at The Waterhouse in late October 2011 to celebrate our first anniversary.
Upon arrival we were greeted by Paul and Simon who were most welcoming, the hotel was rather quiet but very clean and well presented.
After a great nights sleep, breakfast was particularly good, Paul (chef) made an extra special effort to accomodate everyone's tastes.
Our room was modern, newly decorated, (exellent shower!) and had a lovely view..
Despite not being in Central Bath we found it was easy to travel to, and we were guaranteed a peaceful nights sleep due to its idyllic countryside setting.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RionaWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We had a management development event at The Waterhouse, stayed overnight and had the most fantastic time. We were welcomed warmly and looked after throughout our stay. Our every need was catered for. The hotel and grounds provided the very best environment for us to bond as a team in a tranquil setting. The peace and quiet provided the perfect setting for inspiration and refocus too.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, General Manager at Waterhouse, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Waterhouse is now under new management with an evening menu available and bar facilities.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
4.2 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.8 km away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#20 of 33 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
4.5 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#8 of 33 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
6.2 km away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterhouse

Property: Waterhouse
Address: Water House Waterhouse Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7JB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monkton Combe
Price range (per night): $183 - $352
Hotel Class:5 star — Waterhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterhouse is a beautiful Georgian Country house, set in 3 acres of park land with lawns sloping down to its own stretch of river for which we have fishing rights, nestling in stunning countryside with panoramic views. The house has been restored to retain many of its original features and we offer 9 contemporary bedrooms and 4 deluxe rooms to our guests. We are proud to announce that Waterhouse has been awarded an AA 4 Star Rating for its facilities. We now offer room service/light evening meals from 6pm to 9pm. Breakfast is served weekdays from 7:30am to 10am and weekends from 8am to 10am. Come and enjoy our peaceful beautiful valley with bicycle hire on site or a quick 10 min car ride into the bustling city of Bath..we offer you the best of both worlds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Waterhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterhouse Monkton Combe, UK - Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing