We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good rather than excellent . . . BUT! . . .”
Review of White Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lion Inn
Ranked #14 of 28 Bridgnorth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 October 2016

A Tuesday lunchtime in October is hardly the best time of the year to visit any pub so I apologise in advance to anyone I upset by not rating the 'White Lion' as excellent. Nevertheless, on our Tuesday lunchtime visit, the menu was very limited. The barmaid admitted that the "Cream of Chicken soup was warmed up from a can" and that the pies were from the local butcher (which I'm sure would have been excellent as I tried one of his sausage rolls while wandering around the town and it was). The remainder of the menu was sandwiches or chips. I reported back to my partner at our table and a guy at the next table leant over, and in a voice everybody in the bar must have heard, suggested we try the local chip shop or the 'Shakespeare'. Mmmm. So much for loyalty - maybe he had a grouse with the barmaid!

That was the bad bit! The quality of the beer was excellent, as we ascertained and confirmed over what ended up as a liquid lunch. The 'Lion' has its own brewery ('Hop and Stagger') although apparently no longer on the same site as the pub. We tried all three of their beers including the 'Bridgnorth Porter' and were mightily impressed. We didn't get as far as the guest beers - there really didn't seem any point.

The pub itself was friendly and welcoming and there is a fine garden to the rear. The large pile of logs outside suggests it must be a warm bolt hole in the winter months for travellers and locals alike. I must make a return visit at a more sociable and active time. Maybe then I'll have the evidence to upgrade my opinion to excellent - I rather suspect I would.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mixedmasalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Went to the white lion a couple of times over the weekend, really nice for a relaxed light lunch.
Pies and scotch eggs both excellent, great choice of wine and gin.

Just as a pub should be with papers available to read and friendly locals.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I often go here as fantastic range of real ales .which most are brewed locally . Great atmosphere. Staff are welcoming and friendly. Nice bar snacks . Lovely beer garden. Definitely worth a visit on more than one occasion. It's a real little gem

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank darren l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Very cosy, comfortable and quirky. Welcoming and warm. Excellent range of local ales (including their own Hop & Stagger Brewery), lager and spirits. Homemade scotch eggs and local pies. Real scratchings. Roaring log fire. Beer garden. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.....they know and love their beer. Feel very lucky to have this pub on our doorstep.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank plumnellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

What a truly refreshing visit to a traditional pub, where the staff know all about the beer they are selling and can make recommendations based on individual tastes. No gimmicks, just good beer and good company. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank RachelSt1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bridgnorth hotels
0.1 km away
The Friars
The Friars
#16 of 28 in Bridgnorth
80 reviews
5.6 km away
The Bull's Head Inn
The Bull's Head Inn
#1 of 1 in Chelmarsh
180 reviews
0.2 km away
The George
The George
#12 of 28 in Bridgnorth
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
The Down Inn
The Down Inn
#1 of 28 in Bridgnorth
287 reviews
0.1 km away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#2 of 28 in Bridgnorth
256 reviews
1.6 km away
Swan Inn
Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Knowle Sands
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lion Inn

Address: 3 West Castle Street, Bridgnorth WV16 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Bridgnorth
Price Range: $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small pub in the High Town of Bridgnorth. The rooms are small, clean and comfortable. It is not up to hotel standards which is why we don't charge hotel rates. If you want somewhere to stay that is comfortable enough to lay your head for one or two nights, reasonably priced, friendly and based in a pub then we could be the place for you. If you are looking for a more luxurious stay in Bridgnorth then we aren't. All rooms have en-suite, digital TV and tea & coffee making facilities. If you need anything while you are here just ask and we will be happy to assist, otherwise you are left alone. Welcome.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Lion Inn Bridgnorth, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing