We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome food

We eat here fairly regularly......but today had a particularly excellent meal. Just wanted to... read more

Reviewed 2 August 2018
sanderson23
Cawsands hidden pub

The Rising Sun is the away from the beach a so sometimes overlooked. It is the first pub you will... read more

Reviewed 17 May 2018
Alan W
via mobile
Read all 24 reviews
  
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
11
7
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
7
3
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

We have visited Kingsand many times over the years and the Rising Sun has always been our favourite pub. Lovely atmosphere, friendly staff and locals, and great food. However, this last visit we are a bit disappointed. The food is still great, the atmosphere and locals still friendly, but the staff were more interested in their phones than clearing tables of glasses. Guests were leaving and no attempt was made to thank them for their custom.
I am hoping it's a blip but I am guessing new management is in place now. If that is the case, then some serious training needs to be done in service skills. A real shame but can be easily remedied.

Thank melwhicher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

We eat here fairly regularly......but today had a particularly excellent meal. Just wanted to review the Moroccan Lamb...thought I would try something different. It was delicious. Its one of the nicest pubs in the area...we are spoilt for choice over here. !

Thank sanderson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely family meal at this local. A pub out of the way with plenty of space to spill out into the front. Perfect on a warm evening. The food was super and quick service. Saturday night music was great. A little crowded as the pub is small but this creates the ambiance and local feel. Cheers from the Aussie visitors.

Thank Q7691LWmarkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

The Rising Sun is the away from the beach a so sometimes overlooked. It is the first pub you will come to if you chose to walk to Cawsands from Plymouth which is a beautiful walk and its a great place to stop off for refreshments. Try there crab salad it is great .

Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Had a positive experience here on a family vacation. Service was good - food was just ok. Not the best available in Cawsand/Kingsand. The evening that they hosted the Rame choir outside on the green was lovely. Not bad, just not great food . . . we preferred the Halfway House and the Old Bakery which were amazing.

Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We joined friends in Cawsand for lunch at the Devonport which was lovely may I add then headed for the Rising Sun to what the rugby. On entering we were shouted at that we were to posh to drink there and when ordering drinks it was clear we were putting the bar man out, he was also very rude about an out of date crisps we were served.
There plenty of other lovely establishments in Cawsand I would suggest going to 1 of them.

1  Thank Adam82TRAVE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Absolutely fabulous pub, small but very friendly. Food excellent and lots of it. Music entertainment on Saturdays. Very popular so recommend booking for meals.

Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

I decided to walk to this pub from Cremyll through the stunning Mt Edgcumbe Park and meet up with my family and their dogs for the final mile. The walk terminated at the Rising Sun in Kingsand where we had lunch outside on a gorgeous October afternoon. All of us were impressed with the service from Monica, the bar person on the day and the food came out in a timely manner and was very good too. The pub is dog friendly and water was provided for ours without hesitation. After lunch we returned along the Mennah Dhu pathway to Hooe Lake where we collected our car and returned to Plymouth

Thank pjt247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Good staff and good pub food. Children and dogs allowed and only a small bar so can be hectic at holiday time but all part of the atmosphere.

Thank 60woody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Had a really nice meal here. Plenty of choice and very good value .It is quite small and very busy so best to book in advance

Thank LondonRoberth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews