We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better (maybe even best) burgers you'll find in Italy”
Review of Pio Burger

Pio Burger
Ranked #22 of 60 Restaurants in Pienza
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

I'm a burger lover from Southern California, and so I frequent the top-notch chains, like In N Out, Habit, and Five Guys. And I'd still take any of those three over Pio Burger in a taste test. But when you're in Italy, about the only options for an American-style burger are going to be McDonalds or Burger King, or the occasional oddity like this place. We were in Pienza for the afternoon and having already been in Italy for almost four weeks, we were ready for a break from pasta and pizza, so we made a point of stopping at Pio Burger, and really enjoyed it. Good solid traditional burger, but on their own homemade buns, which are a little fuller and thicker than traditional American buns, making it a little closer to a burger sandwich, and we found that to be a nice local touch. Good French fries, too. Seating is minimal and the decor is goofy, but this is a great lunch or dinner option for any Americans looking to vary the Mediterranean diet a bit. And the town of Pienza is a great little Tuscan town to stop in for an afternoon, too.

Thank SAillustrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

After having a very nice but very expensive lunch just around the corner, we wanted something tasty but more economical for our evening meal. Five days in Italy left me with a desire for something other than classic Italian fare and even my wife admitted to a desire for some French fries!

This brightly painted and spotlessly clean little place looked as if it fit the bill perfectly and we ordered a couple of burgers (one of them a wild boar burger), some fries to share, a half bottle of red wine and some water. We perched ourselves on a couple of stools and waited only about five minutes for it to arrive.

It was delicious, hot and meaty with just the right amount of salad filling, we both agreed it hit the spot perfectly. Total cost? €25. Less than a third of the cost of our similar sized lunch!

A final compliment. The proprietor accepted my order in Italian and answered my simple questions in Italian. Much nicer than assuming that because I have white legs and a pink face I must only be able to understand English!!!!

For a quick, tasty, inexpensive high quality meal this place will be hard to beat.

Grazie tanto - torniamo presto.

Thank CumbriaRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioBurger, Proprietario at Pio Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017
Google Translation

Scriverò la replica in italiano, visto la sua buona conoscenza della nostra lingua.
Siamo molto felici ch abbia scelto noi per là cene e siamo molto contenti che abbiate apprezzato il nostro locale, ma soprattutto i nostri burger.
Speriamo di avervi presto nostri ospiti
Un abbraccio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Great little place to get a tasty burger if you are American and having a touch of withdrawal symptoms

Thank burningdaylite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioBurger, Proprietario at Pio Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

We are happy that you enjoyed our Burgers and que are happy that alleviaed your sympotms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We popped into Pio Burger for a quick meal one evening as we were tired and wanted something quick. The burgers we chose were OK but not outstanding as I was led to believe they would be by other reviewers on TripAdvisor. The chips weren't anything special either, they were very dry. We liked the cleanliness of the kitchen and the fact that the meal was reasonably fast. This place could work if a little more imagination was put into the burgers.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sagittarius09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioBurger, Proprietario at Pio Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

We are happy that you enjoyed our burgers and you'le noti e that much we take care of cleanliness of our local....
We are preparing some news, but our tastes ara always in relazione with the product of our land....
Tha le for the visit and for the review that we aprreciate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Grabbed a burger and fries from this little shop. Well priced and tasty, prepared in short order and had us on our way again.

Thank TheNoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PioBurger, Proprietario at Pio Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Tha k you so much!!!! We are vera happy for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pio Burger also viewed

Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 
Pienza, Province of Siena
Pienza, Province of Siena
 

Been to Pio Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing