We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
102
2
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
2
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningthe ownera special placebeautiful placeevery guestbeautiful poolcakestuscanysetting
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Le Traverse is a big part of the charm and beauty of Tuscany! It was a pleasant surprise, and the highlight of our trip to Italy. Even though the pictures and descriptions on line sounded great, there is always that worry that it won't be what you expected. In this case, Le Traverse went way beyond our expectations! From our initial leisurely meeting with Pinuccia, the proprietor, to our activities each day, it was a charming and calming experience. The grounds are beautiful and well kept. There are vineyards and olive groves. A bottle of the house wine is provided in each room. Breakfast is hot, delicious and prompt each morning, and includes Pinuccia's signature home-made pastries, breads, tarts and jams. It was fascinating to see the Le Traverse label on jams and jellies throughout all of Tuscany. Pinuccia and Alessia, her staff, were gracious and helpful, initiating support when it had not even been asked for yet. Pinuccia made sure we knew what to do and see in the region, and made reservations for us without us even asking. She hired a driver for us to make the longer journey to Cortona and Assissi, since we didn't want to drive it ourselves. From beginning to end, it was perfect, and my only regret is that we didn't stay there the full two weeks we were there in Italy!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mary_Carol46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2008

Our stay at Le Traverse was sublime and relaxing. Pinuccia and Alessia took very good care of us - and breakfast was quite good, thank you very much!
As others have noted, they helped set us up at the local eateries in the evenings - we had a particularly great meal at La Porta in nearby Monticchiello.
We plan to return to this wonderful place.

I'll post a picture I took there as well.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DennisTall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

Le Traverse is among the more expensive places we've stayed, but we found it to be worth it. The grounds are gorgeous, the built-in pool picturesque, and all the people (Pinuccia, Alessia, all the groundskeepers, even her family visiting from Milan) were gracious, helpful, and unobtrusive. Each morning at breakfast, Pinuccia came by to outline an itinerary for us, discuss dinner reservations (even during the challenging Ferragosto holiday and Il Palio in Siena), and make calls to ensure that places were open. When we couldn't figure out how to unjam the door to our room, she didn't mind at all when we knocked on her door and asked for help.

We traveled with a group of six and took up 3 out of 4 of the rooms. The one my husband and I stayed in (the one adjoining the main house) had a glass front door but curtains on both sides to keep out light and heat. There's a decent sized kitchen area with a fridge, and each room comes with fresh flowers, fruit, and a bottle of homemade wine. This room had two separate bathrooms (one with sink, shower, bidet; one with toilet and sink) and new towels were provided daily (this was our group's only issue, actually--the sun-dried towels were a little crispy!).

My mother-in-law and her friend took the first room in the "barn," a freestanding building of three guest rooms. It was spacious; their only issue is that one wall shares a wall with the breakfast preparation area so they could hear when the work started each morning. When we arrived, they asked for the one bed to be separated into two singles, which was done by the next day. My mother and friend took the second room in the barn and were very happy, especially with the large shower and bathroom. (This room has one big bed that cannot be separated.) There is then one more room in the barn area. Atop the roof of these three rooms is a flat, grassy terrace where you can relax at night with great views of Pienza. There were fireworks 8/15, a major holiday.

Breakfast was an extremely nice spread of homemade preserves (different every day), bread, a homemade tart, coffee with warm milk, yogurt, and juice, served outside the rooms. They also made eggs for those in our group who wanted them. We practically had to twist Pinuccia's arm to remember to bring out a price list for olive oil and jam, she was so not pushy about the "agro" part of the agriturismo. Everything we schlepped home was delicious.

True, we would not have wanted to hike to Pienza (which was wonderful and has cheap public parking); a car is a wise thing to have for exploring this part of Tuscany. While Pinuccia's driving directions sounded iffy ("pass Pienza, look for the white road, turn left"), sure enough, we found it. Once we did, we didn't really want to leave--there were porches for reading, a garden to wander through, the pool.... but Le Traverse was an excellent base for exploring Montalcino, Montepulciano, Cortona, and at Pinuccia's recommendation, Bagno Vignoni, nearby Montechielo, Gregorian monk chants in San Anselmo...bring your GPS because you're going to need it.

Overall, this place is a big part of what upheld our fantasy view of life beneath the Tuscan sun.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brooke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights.
There are 2 major issues with this place. The room we had was too small for the price we paid (over 150 euro).

The other is the breakfast, when we stayed here the weather wasn't great. They still more or less forced us to sit outside as there is no breakfast room. The breakfast itself was pretty low-key. The cake is not exactly the most earth shattering although the hostess is very good in creating an atmosphere of self-congratulation.

Basically too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank eh_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We were slightly disappointed with our stay at Le Traverse. The property itself is beautiful, but we had paid 170 EUR a night for what turned out to be ok compared to many other hotels we stayed at during our trip (all 100-140 EUR a night). Our particular room was not like the ones pictured on the websites. It was dark and not very pretty. We had a lot of bugs, dead and alive, on the floor, in showers, and near the fridge, and in our folded towels when we arrived- ick! Pinnucia was very sweet, but particularly hard to find during our stay when we needed her. When we arrived it appeared that she was sleeping and there was not a bell or anything to ring. Our breakfast was the worst of our entire trip in Italy. All in all, we were expecting a nicer place for the price but ended up pretty disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank italytraveler0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeTraverse, Proprietario at Le Traverse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2011

I am very sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at Le Traverse.
We are in the middle of the Tuscan countryside, and we use only eco-friendly products. So, although we do our best to keep our room and our whole home spotless, the occasional fly or ladybug may come in our way once in a while.
On our front gate there are both a doorbell and a large brass bell: the brass bell belongs to the original furnishings of our XIV century home and we decided to mantain it beside the updated push botton electric bell.
Every morning I personally bake a fresh Italian cake or pie for my guests, and after so many years I always do my best to please their palate. The rest of our continental breakfast consists of home made bread, home made marmelades and jams, fresh fruits, fresh orange juice, freshly brewed coffee or tea. On request we also prepare on the spot eggs your own style, that we have fresh every day from our hens. We are as well happy to cater to special diets.
And yes! I do sleep once in a while, but, believe me, there is nothing that would keep me from greeting my guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews