We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the last unspoiled havens on earth.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Without question Sant' Anna is an exceptionally beautiful place. It is not just tranquil, it has a spiritual quality that has of course, at least partly, to do with its history as a Benedictine monastery (active until the end of the 18th century). I say partly because I'm still not sure if the monks built here because it's such a special location, or vice versa.

It has been wonderfully restored in a manner that has kept the essence of the place intact and alive. One feels a communion with the land and we often felt as if we had been transported back in time into the middle ages. This is actually easier than one may imagine as there is no TV, no internet, and cellular phones only work at “certain places”. No trains or highways can be seen or heard, although the views across the Tuscan landscape are breathtaking (one can see for 30 or 40 miles). No swimming pool, tennis court, ping pong table or video arcade here; children over four should be bookworms or culturally obsessed!

The staff were super and gave us the feeling that we were staying at a favorite relative's rather than in a hotel. The price was also a very pleasant surprise, as were the fantastic four course meals every night, for 20 Euro per person!

Our main objective was just to get away from the rat race. We certainly did that, each of us got through 3 or 4 lengthy books in the garden, and we still found time to play tourist and enjoy several day trips to Siena, Pienza, Montalcino, Montepulciano, etc., none of which is more than an hour away by car, driving along picturesque, deserted country roads.

We stayed for two weeks on the recommendation of a colleague at work (thanks Heiko!) and left wonderfully relaxed, with that funny, paradoxical feeling of having been away for months even though the time had flown by.

If you need some quiet time in one of the most beautiful and culturally rich settings on earth … this is it.

Thanks Ornella and Stefano … we will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

If you are in need of a quiet, peaceful beautiful retreat in beautiful surroundings and want to visit Siena, Pienza and other picturesque villages and towns in toscane, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fransje2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I have stayed over and over at this special and rare place in Tuscany. The first time when the currency still was Lire and only af few rooms and one dining room was operational. I have often stayed several times during the year and it is a big sexperience no matter the season (open from around Easter to October).
Sant´Anna is a place you simply have to see if you like a special stay in historic, tranquill and nature sourroundings. There a so many nice and interesting towns and nature to see just in a short drive; Pienza, Montepulciano, Bagnio Vignoni, Montalcino and even Sienna (one hours drive)
After a nice days excurtions it´s just fantastic to return to Sant´Anna for a wery Tuscan 4 course dinner and local wine in the old waulted rooms where the monks dined in the past.
My room, this time, had a view of the rolling tuscan hills to the west with farmland and groups of farms set on top of the hills and sundown right over this view , just beautefull....
I´m going back again some time this year, I can´t simply get enough of this fantastic place.....

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ildanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

You will love Sant'Anna in Camprena. It is a beautiful, restored monastery in tuscany with its own frescos in the refrectory. It was featured in the film, 'The English Patient". It is beyond charming. It is spotlessly clean, our room was incredibly charming with a beautiful view. If you go...be sure to take the evening meal. It is worth every penny and the wine was luscious. The breakfast which was included lures you to the diningroom with smells that were irresistable. The price was very reasonable and the area surrounding it very walkable. and the grounds themselves lovely with dew coveres lemons hanging from trees in the garden It really is paradise. Be sure to go into the little chapel to the left of the front door. It is close to Pienza. I wish we could have stayed longer and on my next trip I will.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjane07005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena is a wonderful old monastery built in the 1400's. It is perfectly situated to take day trips to Pienza, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Siena, the thermal baths, La Foce and other local sightseeing highlights!

We were given a lovely and large apartment where we were able to 'cook in' on the nights when we didn't go out for dinner or go to the dining room in the monastery. We were there for 7 nights and had dinner in the dining room when it was available (4 nights). Each dinner had 4 courses and jugs of wine for 20 Euros per person...a wonderful value considering the quality of cooking...all done in their own kitchen.

The bells chimed at 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. to announce breakfast and dinner...we would then wend our way through the lemon and lime garden courtyard, complete with a fish pond, and an incredible view of the surrounding countryside, to arrive at the refectory, where we were treated to local recipes using fresh produce and homemade pasta (pici...just excellent!).

Stefano and Ornila (sp?) were superb hosts...friendly, helpful, and delightful.

We plan on returning to Tuscany again one day in the future...we will return to Sant'Anna for sure! The views from the courtyard are breathtaking!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave499285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pienza hotels
6.2 km away
Il Chiostro di Pienza
10.9 km away
Agriturismi Il Castello La Grancia
10.9 km away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
463 reviews
10.7 km away
Agriturismo Casa Picchiata
8.4 km away
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Monticchiello
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena

Address: localita Sant'Anna in Camprena, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Price Range: $122 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Sant`Anna In Camprena Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing