We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable place in the most beautiful part of Tuscany.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pienza
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2017

Sant'Anna in Camprena is a memorable experience.The Monastery has been beautifully restored and well cared. Very large room and very large bathroom in the little building just outside the garden gate. .Amazing view from the garden over the beautiful tuscan country side.Stefano and Ornella are perfect hosts. Ornella and her team prepare excellent tuscan food (some times too much...!) Stefano is a perfect waiter at dinner and serves good Nobile wine from Montepulciano.Every morning breakfast is served by a charming lady. We appreciated this particularly peaceful place. You feel you are in a Monastery even if there aren't monks anymore: peaceful atmosphere, Sodoma frescoes, the refectory tables, the chapel, the cloister, and the bell that wakes you up at 8.00 am.We were lucky to be at Sant'Anna the day of the 500 th anniversary of the Chapel consecration.We can recommand to stay at Sant'Anna and we would like to come back.
Bernard and Françoise M, France

Room Tip: We appreciated a large and quiet ground floor room with large bathroom in a small building just out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bernardm95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2017

If you're looking for a tranquil and peaceful retreat, Sant'Anna in Camprena might just be the best known, unknown escape. Best known as scene's from the movie "The English Patient" were filmed here yet many have never heard of this lovely agriturismo. The monastery is in a rural area, tucked away in the woods, and perched on a hill that overlooks the Tuscan landscape. The views, as many visitors will attest, are breathtaking and expansive. Here, amidst the towering trees, the frescoed walls, and the ring of the church bell, time seems to stand still. A quiet calm seems to envelop the monastery at all hours of the day. It's a great place to "get away from it all" without ever being fully detached. The hosts are quite pleasant and fun and seem dedicated to making sure guests enjoy their stay and have whatever they need. The Monastery has been beautifuly renovated and well cared for too. Rooms are simple, but comfortable. No TV, no fridge but there is wifi all throughout the property. Each morning you'll find a breakfast consisting of baked goods, cereals, yogurt, juice and coffee waiting in the main dining room. A perfect start to each day. We found the location of Sant'Anna in Camprena to be very convenient, it was a great base from which to do our day trips. The lovely town of Pienza was an easy drive from the monastery as were other destinations. The staff was very helpful in making suggestions on where to go and what to see in the area.Should you prefer a quiet day at the monastery, the garden, with it's lemon trees and koi pond, is a lovely place to sit. There's also a sitting room where coffee and beer is available during afternoon hours. Dinner at the monastery is optional but I would certainly recommend doing it at least once during your stay as they serve a delicious, well prepared meal. Staying at Sant'Anna in Camprena is truly an experience. I would highly recommend it to others and hope to return again myself.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WarnerArtDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

My wife and I picked this place for our wedding and everything turned out even better than we had hoped for.

Ornella and Stefano have turned this place into the perfect location for such events. Most of our guests were staying on site. The food was incredible. Their recommendation for catering, lights and music was perfect. The location itself is breathtaking at any hour of the day. And most importantly, Ornella and Stefano were fully invested in the success of our event. We had their full support and dedication. They helped us turn our wedding day into an unforgivable event.

If you're in the area, stop by Sant'Anna to visit the beautiful church and to spend some time in their incredible garden surrounded by lemon trees. You might never want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clement H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

This was our second stay at Sant'Anna and it was even more amazing than the first! We stayed three nights in their new rooms, which are very nice and have excellent views. The bathrooms are great and have fantastic showers.

Sant'Anna is a magical place that is run by two wonderful people, Stefano and Ornella. They ensure guests feel at home, and do an excellent job with all aspects of the Agriturismo. Ornella's dinners are incredible; if you stay you must eat there at least one night! Easily one of the most memorable meals of our trip.

The monastery is maintained beautifully, and the grounds offer a chance to get away from the hustle and bustle of other parts of Italy.

We enjoyed this stay as much as the first, and can't wait for another return trip!

~Amy, Margo & Max

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

This was our second stay here. Ornella and Stefano welcomed us back with open arms and made us feel very special.
Our room was quiet,comfortable and warm. The view from our room simply stunning.
After walking 860kms across Spain on the Camino we chose this beautiful tranquil place to rest and recover
Thank you Ornella, Stefano and staff for your wonderful hospitality and look forward to returning soon.
Francisca and Patrick - Canberra, Australia

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank francisca1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pienza hotels
10.9 km away
Agriturismo Castello di Spedaletto
10.9 km away
Agriturismi Il Castello La Grancia
5.2 km away
Agriturismo Bonello
Agriturismo Bonello
#4 of 62 in Pienza
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Podere Spedalone
Podere Spedalone
#1 of 62 in Pienza
615 reviews
8.4 km away
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
Agriturismo Podere Santa Maria
#1 of 11 in Monticchiello
115 reviews
9.4 km away
Terre di Nano
Terre di Nano
#5 of 62 in Pienza
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena

Address: localita Sant'Anna in Camprena, 53026, Pienza, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Pienza
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Pienza
Price Range: $125 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Sant`Anna In Camprena Hotel Pienza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing