We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
297
21
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
21
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english patient monks' cells surrounded by lemon trees surrounding countryside magical place beautiful church juice and coffee get away from it all stand still a special place peaceful location words cannot describe dinner one night dream wedding quintessential tuscany care and attention wonderful hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

If you're looking for a tranquil and peaceful retreat, Sant'Anna in Camprena might just be the best known, unknown escape. Best known as scene's from the movie "The English Patient" were filmed here yet many have never heard of this lovely agriturismo. The monastery is in a rural area, tucked away in the woods, and perched on a hill that overlooks the Tuscan landscape. The views, as many visitors will attest, are breathtaking and expansive. Here, amidst the towering trees, the frescoed walls, and the ring of the church bell, time seems to stand still. A quiet calm seems to envelop the monastery at all hours of the day. It's a great place to "get away from it all" without ever being fully detached. The hosts are quite pleasant and fun and seem dedicated to making sure guests enjoy their stay and have whatever they need. The Monastery has been beautifuly renovated and well cared for too. Rooms are simple, but comfortable. No TV, no fridge but there is wifi all throughout the property. Each morning you'll find a breakfast consisting of baked goods, cereals, yogurt, juice and coffee waiting in the main dining room. A perfect start to each day. We found the location of Sant'Anna in Camprena to be very convenient, it was a great base from which to do our day trips. The lovely town of Pienza was an easy drive from the monastery as were other destinations. The staff was very helpful in making suggestions on where to go and what to see in the area.Should you prefer a quiet day at the monastery, the garden, with it's lemon trees and koi pond, is a lovely place to sit. There's also a sitting room where coffee and beer is available during afternoon hours. Dinner at the monastery is optional but I would certainly recommend doing it at least once during your stay as they serve a delicious, well prepared meal. Staying at Sant'Anna in Camprena is truly an experience. I would highly recommend it to others and hope to return again myself.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cali_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

My wife and I picked this place for our wedding and everything turned out even better than we had hoped for.

Ornella and Stefano have turned this place into the perfect location for such events. Most of our guests were staying on site. The food was incredible. Their recommendation for catering, lights and music was perfect. The location itself is breathtaking at any hour of the day. And most importantly, Ornella and Stefano were fully invested in the success of our event. We had their full support and dedication. They helped us turn our wedding day into an unforgivable event.

If you're in the area, stop by Sant'Anna to visit the beautiful church and to spend some time in their incredible garden surrounded by lemon trees. You might never want to leave!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Clement H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

This was our second stay at Sant'Anna and it was even more amazing than the first! We stayed three nights in their new rooms, which are very nice and have excellent views. The bathrooms are great and have fantastic showers.

Sant'Anna is a magical place that is run by two wonderful people, Stefano and Ornella. They ensure guests feel at home, and do an excellent job with all aspects of the Agriturismo. Ornella's dinners are incredible; if you stay you must eat there at least one night! Easily one of the most memorable meals of our trip.

The monastery is maintained beautifully, and the grounds offer a chance to get away from the hustle and bustle of other parts of Italy.

We enjoyed this stay as much as the first, and can't wait for another return trip!

~Amy, Margo & Max

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theworldexplored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

This was our second stay here. Ornella and Stefano welcomed us back with open arms and made us feel very special.
Our room was quiet,comfortable and warm. The view from our room simply stunning.
After walking 860kms across Spain on the Camino we chose this beautiful tranquil place to rest and recover
Thank you Ornella, Stefano and staff for your wonderful hospitality and look forward to returning soon.
Francisca and Patrick - Canberra, Australia

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank francisca1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

This was the 4 th time we had spent a week at this beautiful converted monastery, now run as an Agriturismo by the highly efficient and charming couple,Ornella and Stefano.The whole site,which appeared in the film ' The ;English Patient', is built around the Church and related buildings, cloisters and accommodation converted from the original .refectories and sleeping 'cells'( now simple but comfortable) bedrooms, is under the aegis of the Bishopric of Pienza.
Many come for bed and breakfast, but evening meals are available in half board tariff.
Beautiful weddings are celebrated,as photos and grateful feedback in the visitors' book attest.
Ornella and Stefano are passionate in their concerns for the natural world and the planet, food is fresh from the garden , and they believe in conserving energy and water resources . This is reflected in their philosophy over sensible bedlinen and bathtowel change, and is perfectly explained in information for guests.It is Important to understand that this is indeed a simple rural Agriturismo and not a 5 star commercial hotel. The kitchen provides breakfast and dinners, but is not a restaurant with 24 hour services.
Food is always delicious, and copious;the soup tureen and platters often appear on the refectories table for seconds, and the local wine is plentiful, with an appropriately
Medieval wine cellar under the refectory for a wider choice
Our own visits have been with a group of Dutch medical artists who kindly include us in their activities, and it is indeed a glorious setting in which to paint, travel and explore the art and history of Tuscany,or to just relax and dream in the beautiful gardens looking out across the Val d'Orcia.
The local Co-op in Pienza is handy for stocking up for picnic lunches in the peaceful garden.Fabulous and amazing sunsets over the mountains with you aperitifs.

Room tip: Some ground floor rooms, on request. Otherwise mostly along a corridor, up steep stairs, fabulous views.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews