We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
296
21
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
21
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english patient surrounding countryside three nights juice and coffee stand still magical place peaceful retreat wonderful hospitality wonderful stay stefano monastery refectory lemon history agriturismo montepulciano tuscany
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2016

The beauty of this extraordinary place is reinforced by the warmth of the hospitality of the people on the staff. The classic hilltop monastic architecture and the beauty of the century-old frescoes on the walls of the public rooms surround one with a feeling of peace and harmony with nature. Breakfasts and dinners are superb, with Tuscan cuisine and ethereal pastas. Touring advice, from an outstanding wine tasting cellar under Montepulciano to superb restaurants, was unerringly reliable, and led us to places we might otherwise have missed.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CWLNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary in Italy and booked three nights at this beautiful monastery! What a wonderful time we had ...from the spacious and lovely suite to the fabulous surroundings and such amazing memorable meals. Of course, none of this would have been possible without Stefano and Ornella. Every detail was covered and all perfectly executed. Our dinner on the first night was fabulous
and, and we have agreed, the most memorable of our 3/12 weeks in Italy. Duck was excellent and comp champagne from another couple who were celebrating their anniversary also. Just delightful ❤️. We would love to return someday !

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PatanChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We got lucky enough to be able to book a 3 night stay at this old monastery. Needless to say the place is hard to beat if the idea of staying in a slightly remote and quiet area attracts you.
This place is obviously not for people who want to be loud and party. They have weddings there and other private events.
They have "monk cells" with private but common bathrooms. We got lucky enough without knowing in advance and got one of the few appartements in the old farmer house. It was great although the bed mattress was nod good at all. Sleeping was difficult for that reason but the rest of the services and the setting is so great that we forgive the mattress part.
Breakfast was great, cereals, fruits, juice and coffee, pastries and cakes and jams.
Of course if you expect to find the exact same thing you get at home, then go to a hotel that tender to Americans.
We had one supper there and it was 5 stars. It is worth the 25€/person. Homemade and local food.
Also offer local wine, get the Montepulciano, a top wine for 20€.

The other few people there (end of season, they close for winter) we clearly also there to enjoy the unique place and be in a calm environment.

If you want to visit the place, you can walk in the olive trees grove or visit the beautiful small church.

Beware: there is no TV so my girlfriend had a bad first hour but after that it was ok!

Hope you can also live the experience of Sant'Anna.

Please give me a helpful vote if it applies.

Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mister_Simple_Truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

What a delight we had at this wonderful monastery. The owners welcomed us with wine and olives at our arrival in the garden. We were extremely pleased with our immaculate rooms and breakfast was delicious.
Stefano is extremely helpful with road directions and sights not to miss. His recommendations of places t o visit in surrounding areas was spot on and we were never disappointed.
We will definitely return here!!!!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank enomyry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Words cannot describe our magical wedding at Sant'Annas in late September. The Monastery and surrounding landscape was absolutely stunning ,a special place indeed, the food, the best in Italy, and Stefano and Ornella.....two in a million! We cannot thank this special couple enough for EVERYTHING they did to make our wedding weekend absolutely perfect. From start to finish they were extremely helpful, and their attention to detail was absolutely amazing. They treated us and all our guests like family and it was so sad saying goodbye! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for making our wedding truely special and unforgettable! We will never forget you guys, the magical Sant Annas, the delicious food and all the fabulous memories created that weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emilykite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews