We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
297
21
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
21
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english patient monks' cells surrounded by lemon trees surrounding countryside three nights beautiful church juice and coffee get away from it all stand still a special place peaceful location magical place words cannot describe dinner one night dream wedding quintessential tuscany care and attention
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We got lucky enough to be able to book a 3 night stay at this old monastery. Needless to say the place is hard to beat if the idea of staying in a slightly remote and quiet area attracts you.
This place is obviously not for people who want to be loud and party. They have weddings there and other private events.
They have "monk cells" with private but common bathrooms. We got lucky enough without knowing in advance and got one of the few appartements in the old farmer house. It was great although the bed mattress was nod good at all. Sleeping was difficult for that reason but the rest of the services and the setting is so great that we forgive the mattress part.
Breakfast was great, cereals, fruits, juice and coffee, pastries and cakes and jams.
Of course if you expect to find the exact same thing you get at home, then go to a hotel that tender to Americans.
We had one supper there and it was 5 stars. It is worth the 25€/person. Homemade and local food.
Also offer local wine, get the Montepulciano, a top wine for 20€.

The other few people there (end of season, they close for winter) we clearly also there to enjoy the unique place and be in a calm environment.

If you want to visit the place, you can walk in the olive trees grove or visit the beautiful small church.

Beware: there is no TV so my girlfriend had a bad first hour but after that it was ok!

Hope you can also live the experience of Sant'Anna.

Please give me a helpful vote if it applies.

Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mister_Simple_Truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

What a delight we had at this wonderful monastery. The owners welcomed us with wine and olives at our arrival in the garden. We were extremely pleased with our immaculate rooms and breakfast was delicious.
Stefano is extremely helpful with road directions and sights not to miss. His recommendations of places t o visit in surrounding areas was spot on and we were never disappointed.
We will definitely return here!!!!!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank enomyry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Words cannot describe our magical wedding at Sant'Annas in late September. The Monastery and surrounding landscape was absolutely stunning ,a special place indeed, the food, the best in Italy, and Stefano and Ornella.....two in a million! We cannot thank this special couple enough for EVERYTHING they did to make our wedding weekend absolutely perfect. From start to finish they were extremely helpful, and their attention to detail was absolutely amazing. They treated us and all our guests like family and it was so sad saying goodbye! Thank you from the bottom of our hearts for making our wedding truely special and unforgettable! We will never forget you guys, the magical Sant Annas, the delicious food and all the fabulous memories created that weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emilykite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We (two couples) recently stayed for 3 nights and highly recommend staying at this 500 year old renovated monastery just outside of Pienza. We all agreed it was extra special and one of the most memorable stays on our month long trip in Italy. You feel like you have stepped back in time yet have all of the modern amenities. The communication with Stefano and Ornella was excellent; they both work very hard to provide a top class Agriturismo at an excellent price point. The monastery is in a beautiful setting sufficiently off the main road (SP71) to provide peace, tranquility and 360 degrees of Tuscan countryside. As you drive up the cypress lined road you immediately know you are fortunate that you were able to make a reservation on the dates you requested. Having a car was helpful to reach this location but cyclists were also staying there. We requested and were given rooms with a western view. The rooms were an average size, full ensuite and clean. The garden area is as pretty as seen in the pictures and with weather permitting we were lucky enough to have one dinner served in the garden. In the early evening there are small tables and chairs in the garden area where you can read, enjoy a glass of wine and hopefully catch a fantastic Tuscan sunset. The various frescoes and artwork are historic treasures which we all enjoyed.
Breakfast was plentiful with perhaps the best croissant ever. The 4 course dinner different each night was also excellent; delicious vegetable, fruit and meat antipastos, the primi pasta one night was a delicious spinach/mushroom lasagna, and the main courses for two of the nights were ribs with local sausages and guinea hens. They offered several levels of red wine, from the reasonably priced house wine to their bottles of vino nobile.
The monestary is in a perfect location to easily access the surrounding hill towns such as Pienza, Montepulciano, Montecciello, Bagno Vignoni etc. It also close to Monte Oliveto Maggiore, the abbey which originally sponsored the monestary, which also contains frescoes from Bazzi.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butchcassidysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights for a friend's wedding - a group of about 50 or so. What a fantastic weekend! The staff were fantastic and the wedding festivities were like a dream. Every day was planned by the bride perfectly, and the staff executed her dream wedding festivities perfectly. The staff are so so mind and professional. Definitely a memorable experience, so glad we could make the trip from Canada. The grounds are breathtaking and rustic. Thanks for everything!! :)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank BexHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews