We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
297
21
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
21
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english patient monks' cells surrounded by lemon trees surrounding countryside magical place beautiful church juice and coffee get away from it all stand still a special place peaceful location words cannot describe dinner one night dream wedding quintessential tuscany care and attention wonderful hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We (two couples) recently stayed for 3 nights and highly recommend staying at this 500 year old renovated monastery just outside of Pienza. We all agreed it was extra special and one of the most memorable stays on our month long trip in Italy. You feel like you have stepped back in time yet have all of the modern amenities. The communication with Stefano and Ornella was excellent; they both work very hard to provide a top class Agriturismo at an excellent price point. The monastery is in a beautiful setting sufficiently off the main road (SP71) to provide peace, tranquility and 360 degrees of Tuscan countryside. As you drive up the cypress lined road you immediately know you are fortunate that you were able to make a reservation on the dates you requested. Having a car was helpful to reach this location but cyclists were also staying there. We requested and were given rooms with a western view. The rooms were an average size, full ensuite and clean. The garden area is as pretty as seen in the pictures and with weather permitting we were lucky enough to have one dinner served in the garden. In the early evening there are small tables and chairs in the garden area where you can read, enjoy a glass of wine and hopefully catch a fantastic Tuscan sunset. The various frescoes and artwork are historic treasures which we all enjoyed.
Breakfast was plentiful with perhaps the best croissant ever. The 4 course dinner different each night was also excellent; delicious vegetable, fruit and meat antipastos, the primi pasta one night was a delicious spinach/mushroom lasagna, and the main courses for two of the nights were ribs with local sausages and guinea hens. They offered several levels of red wine, from the reasonably priced house wine to their bottles of vino nobile.
The monestary is in a perfect location to easily access the surrounding hill towns such as Pienza, Montepulciano, Montecciello, Bagno Vignoni etc. It also close to Monte Oliveto Maggiore, the abbey which originally sponsored the monestary, which also contains frescoes from Bazzi.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank butchcassidysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights for a friend's wedding - a group of about 50 or so. What a fantastic weekend! The staff were fantastic and the wedding festivities were like a dream. Every day was planned by the bride perfectly, and the staff executed her dream wedding festivities perfectly. The staff are so so mind and professional. Definitely a memorable experience, so glad we could make the trip from Canada. The grounds are breathtaking and rustic. Thanks for everything!! :)

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BexHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I couldn't recommend Agriturismo Sant'Anna in Camprena more highly. The monastery and surrounding landscape is extremely beautiful. Situated on a hilltop 7km north of Pienza, it is a really quiet and serene place. You do need your own car / motorbike to get around. The rooms are charming, converted monk cells with lovely wooden doors and windows, and grape vines draping off the roof. Ornella and Stefano are great hosts. Helpful and friendly. Thank you!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauragX2927KX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

This was my third time staying here, each time with a different family member, from my father in his 90s to my 10yr. old grandson. We stayed 3 nights, however, it was not long enough and I would like to spend at least a week.

The gracious hosts of Ornella and Stefano make such a warm and relaxing stay. There is much history behind the monastery that this time I bought the book that is available for sale in their office.

The exterior has a 360 degree scenery which surrounds the monastery. Nestled within the beautiful walled garden are plentiful potted lemon trees. Abundant are flowers, and herbs which they use for seasoning and lovely table center pieces in the dining room. The rooms are quiet and have comfortable beds and modern bathrooms.

An ample breakfast with the most delicious powdered sugar topped croissants which are to die for. Occassionally, Ornella prepares delicious home-cooked Tuscan dinners which is not to be missed.

I can't wait to return for a longer stay.

Room tip: Wifi is available in the garden and dining areas.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nonaleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

After years of visiting Stefano and Ornella for our annual summer break we held our daughter's wedding at Sant'Anna in Camprena this June. We have always raved about Ornella's world class cooking, Stefano's impeccable hospitality skills and the unparalleled beauty of the spot to our close friends, but we were overwhelmed by the perfection of what they and their crew delivered. They went above and beyond the expected and the result was a storybook wedding that surpassed even the wildest dreams of the most discerning princess. It was intimate, elegant, inviting, peaceful and unbelievably romantic; the food was world class, the service beyond expectations and every last detail was beautifully delivered. We have always refrained from leaving reviews as we have selfishly tried to keep this little piece of paradise to ourselves but now feel compelled to share. Thank you Ornella and Stefano for giving Angela and Jesse the wedding of their dreams! Baci e abbracci da Eva e Fabio

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank romersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews