We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
295
21
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
21
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english patient peaceful retreat three nights juice and coffee stand still magical place tuscan countryside wonderful stay stefano monastery refectory lemon history agriturismo montepulciano val hosts
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Si tratta di un posto da incanto, dove regna la pace. Gli edifici, pur essendo ben curati, conservano un'atmosfera d'altri tempi. ll monastero e' circondato da una bellissima campagna che comprende dolci colline, fitti boschi, deliziosi paesini, e case coloniche di nobile aspetto. Calda l'accoglienza offerta dagli osti. Ci tornerei volentieri.

It's an enchanting place where peace reigns. The buildings retain an air of the past, though they are well kept up. The monastery is surrounded by a very beautiful countryside which takes in rolling hills, dense forests, delightful villages, and the typical Tuscan "case coloniche," noble stone farmhouses. The hospitality offered by the hosts is very warm. I would like to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emly90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

There is something magical about this place. Wondrous scenery, beautifullly preserved history, warm, welcoming staff. A very special place and the highlight of our time in Tuscany. Rather than high end amenities, the serenity, beauty and history are the draws here.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Sant’Anna is a very special place to us as we got married there in July 2011. We originally found the monastery as it was pointed out as the place where they filmed ‘The English Patient’ in our guidebook but it is also known for its frescos by Sodoma, a famous renaissance artist.

We decided to get married there because the place is very atmospheric to start with. But as we had guests travelling to Italy from all across Europe it was also very convenient as it was possible to rent the whole place for the weekend and all 65 guests could sleep there. Accommodation at Sant’Anna’s is quite basic but – again – very special as many of the rooms are former monk’s cells with the comfort of a monk’s cell – no en-suite facilities, no TVs, no spa. You stay there for the atmosphere and the peace and quiet.

Coming from Switzerland it wouldn’t have been possible to organise a wedding in Italy without the help of Ornella, the Lady of the house. Hosting several weddings a year she has a good network of local people to work with – different caterers, florists, hairdresse, sound system and everything else you would need for a big party, and she found a solution to any kind of problem.

What also needs pointing out is the food at Sant’Anna’s. In the evenings they serve a delicious, typical Tuscan meal, all home made with wine from their own vineyard. For our wedding weekend we had a welcome dinner on Saturday evening hosted by their own staff. As it was raining it was not possible to have the dinner outside so they set up long tables and benches in the cloister which was only candlelit. This was not only extremely atmospheric but the food they served - plate after plate of typical antipasti followed by home-made pasta – was a unique experience not only for people who’ve never been to Tuscany before.

The wedding ceremony took place in the Refettorio which is the room with the frescos. There is also a church that can be used but only for traditional Christian ceremonies. The reception and dinner were outside in the garden overlooking the hills of Val d’Orcia. For us there was no need for a lot of entertainment as it was just gorgeous to enjoy the sunset, the warm summer night and the excellent food, wine and good company.

Thank you to Ornella and Stefano and their Staff for all their hard work and for making Sant’Anna an unforgettable place you’ll have to go back to.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniela3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

First of all the pictures on website do not do this Agriturismo justice
We spent 4 nights at Sant'Anna in Camprena and it was amazing. The Monastery is an incredible place to stay. Everywhere the athmosphere is very striking. In the great garden were the air is scented with lemon blossoms, you can enjoy a glass of wine looking the spectacular view on the hills. But the best starts when you make your way to the restaurant, however... everything is perfect. Good wine, best service and best meals we had in Italy. The staff of the Agriturismo is awesome, the owners (Ornella and Stefano) are professional, warm, knowledgeable and very helpful really know what they do.
If you love food, wine, art, history, quiet and you don't need TV, AC, pool... just go... you will love it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jackec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Sant’Anna in Camprena may very well be Val D’Orcia’s best-kept secret. You won’t find any amenities like swimming pool, spa, TV, Internet connection… If this is what you are looking for, this will not be the place for you (but there are plenty of other resorts nearby with these characteristics). However, Sant’Anna is a unique place for enjoying truly breathtaking views with a glass of local red wine; for reading, writing, painting or thinking surrounded by a magical silence… and for eating some of the most authentic and delicious Tuscan food that you’ll ever taste.

While Sant’Anna is not a high-end hotel, it does not mean that you have to rough it: rooms are comfortable and spotless – many of them are the old monk cells, which have been restored but not altered. These most ‘authentic’ rooms have shared bathrooms, but several rooms with en-suite bathrooms are also available, as well as a few mini-apartments with cooking facilities (particularly convenient if you are traveling with young children).

We stumbled across Sant’Anna by pure serendipity during a vacation in Tuscany, and we were immediately won over – to the point that we made it the location of our wedding in June 2011.

We had the monastery for ourselves for an incredible weekend of celebration. We started off with a welcome dinner in the monastery’s dining rooms (the old library and pharmacy of the convent). The food – catered by the staff of Sant’Anna – was simply amazing and our guests are still talking about it months later! The following day, after a simple civil ceremony in the nearby town of San Quirico D’Orcia, we were back at Sant’Anna for a reception in the garden as the sun set on the hills of Val D’Orcia, and continued with dinner in the monastery’s cloister. We cut the cake in the old refectory, surrounded by 15th century frescos, and then partied until dawn (no neighbors to complain about the noise!) in the “limonaia” (winter garden). We concluded the festivities the following day, with an informal brunch in the garden – and once again, the staff of Sant’Anna did an amazing job.

Ornella and Stefano, the managers, have been incredibly helpful throughout the process of wedding planning and during the wedding weekend, and we cannot thank them enough for making it all so special.

We are looking forward to going back often, and we cannot recommend Sant’Anna enough – be it for a vacation or for tying the knot! (For those interested in a religious ceremony, it is also possible to use the beautiful church of the monastery).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ValeI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews