We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rustic and beautiful Tuscan farmhouse, in the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Private patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private patio
 large traditional bedroom Single bed in bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Private patio
large traditional bedroom
Single bed in bedroom.
Second roll out single bed.
Kitchen and dining area
Sitting area
'bathroom with a view'
Shower stall
Private patio viewed from entrance.
Main house entrance
Paul's sculpture and ceramics studio
surrounding area view
Olive trees on our property
Surrounding area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Montespertoli, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
BaileyPer...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Simple lodgings in great location”
Reviewed 16 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Paul and Linda's lovely hideaway just above Cerbaia, in Tuscany. The location was outstanding, as it gave us easy access to Florence and Siena, as well as the option to park our hire car at a local station and catch the tram into central Florence. The apartment itself is very charming in a rustic Tuscan way. It's furnished with antiques and attractive artwork and has a lovely spacious bedroom, which is very tranquil. Our host, Linda, was very sweet and helpful. She did a great job of welcoming us, with fresh fruit other lovely treats, and local information, and then she left us to ourselves, which suited us well.
There are a few small things that I think could be improved in the apartment. The kitchen is very basic, which is not ideal if you want to cook a full meal. The bathroom has everything you need, including unlimited hot water, but it could do with some larger towels (and more of them). The bedroom is charming but the bed isn't comfortable for a couple because it has old springs which creak, and the mattress doesn't provide much support for anyone with lower back issues. There's also an electrical problem in the apartment, which seems to originate with the bedroom lighting but which affected the whole apartment the morning we left. We had to catch an early flight from Pisa, which meant leaving the apartment before sunrise. We ended up having to pack in the pitch dark because none of the lights in the apartment worked the morning of our departure. The lack of a torch or candle made it even more difficult. But overall we enjoyed our stay and we would recommend it to other travellers who are looking for an authentic experience.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your suggestions. The electrical blackout was due to a problem on the grid and we are very sorry there wasn't a torch, but the last guests must have taken it away with them by mistake, and candles have caused problems in the past. We weren't aware of the blackout unitil morning and the first thing we thought of was the difficulty you must have had leaving the apartment in the dark. We are very sorry for the inconvenience, but are happy you recommended to other travellers nonetheless.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12678
2 reviews
“Rustic and beautiful Tuscan farmhouse, in the midst of olive groves.”
Reviewed 18 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Our hosts, Paul and Linda, were excellent, and my family had a most enjoyable stay in this well-located base for exploring beautiful Tuscany.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
firecrack...
Denton, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tuscany farmhouse for those who like quiet country stays”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Raffiacane is the perfect location if you want to experience much of Tuscany because many of the major cities are within 30 minutes to an hour from this location. Mastering the roadways was our biggest challenge however and you must have a car (we rented our from Hertz in Florence) and good, up-to-date GPS. Once you've figured out the roundabouts, driving is really fun because everything is marked well. The nearby village of Cerbaia has two nice, small markets with helpful locals who will guide you to make good food choices. It has a laundry, post office, gas station and a weekly market on Thursdays in the town square. Some of the nearby towns to visit include Montelupo if you're interested in Tuscan pottery (check out ND Dolffi), Volterra for alabaster, Scarperia for legendary knives and blades, Florence for the art of the ages and the train and tram system. We encourage you to use the tram if you're visiting Florence because you can pick it up in Scandicci, not too many kms away, and ride it to the end of the line at Santa Maria Novella train station. From there, everything is within walking or taxi distance. You must visit the Duomo in Florence - truly a wonder. We recommend Through Eternity tours as all of the guides we had, had degrees in archeology and art history and were incredibly knowledgeable and entertaining as well.
Linda and Paul Poppolo are wonderful hosts and the apartment is comfortable and roomy. We had all of our dinners on the patios and had the windows open all the time we were there. It is hard to describe what a beautiful setting the place is in as it sits up above the village and is surrounded by olive groves and sunflower fields and looks out to nearby Tuscan hills. Paul is a sculptor by trade and if you ask to see his studio, he will gladly oblige! They have two adorable cats, one that is very friendly, also!
We also visited Castello De Poppiano, a castle from 1199, that specializes in olive oil and wine and we sampled some of each and definitely brought it back to enjoy. We would go back tomorrow and spend a longer time because there is so much to see and do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts
Liked least: The beds are a bit hard!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Reviewed 21 June 2012 for a stay in October 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris_Kar...
Fresnes, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Le coté rupestre et nature de la location, la proximité de Florence
Liked least: La maison assez ancienne et le manque de commerce de proximité
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us, but I wanted to address the two problems you mentioned. You say that the access road was difficult, but the unpaved part of the road is only 100 meters long and is flat, so I'm thinking that perhaps you remembered a different place where you stayed on the same trip. Also I'm sorry you were dissappointed by the lack of a washing machine. Our listing does not say there is a washing machine in the apartment, but rather that you are welcome to use our machine if you need to. We had problems with the wifi connection last year when you stayed with us, and we later discovered tha the cute squirrels had chewed the cable. The problem has been resolved. Thank you for your detailed review. I'm sorry my French isn't good enough to reply to you in your language. I will use google ranslate and hope for the best. Kind regards, Paul and Linda
Nous sommes heureux que vous avez apprécié votre séjour avec nous , mais je voulais traiter les deux problèmes que vous avez mentionnés . Vous dites que la route d'accès était difficile , mais la partie non goudronnée de la route est à seulement 100 mètres de long et est plat , donc je pense que peut-être vous rappeler un autre endroit où vous êtes resté sur le même voyage . Aussi je suis désolé que vous étiez déçus par le manque d'une machine à laver . Notre liste ne est pas dit il ya une machine à laver dans l'appartement , mais plutôt que vous êtes invités à utiliser notre machine si vous en avez besoin. Nous avons eu des problèmes avec la connexion wifi année dernière lorsque vous resté avec nous, et nous avons découvert plus tard tha les écureuils mignons avaient mâché le câble . Le problème a été résolu . Merci de votre examen détaillé . Je suis désolé mon français ne est pas assez bon pour vous répondre dans votre langue . Je vais utiliser google translate et espérer pour le mieux . Cordialement , Paul et Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing