We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
56
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool wine tasting perfect location excellent hotel the entire staff star resort bedroom suite went above and beyond beautiful property our honeymoon chianti hills heaven on earth comfortable beds perfect stay breathtaking views the kitchen luxury
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We stayed 4 nights at Villa le Calvane and loved it. The rooms, the staff, the pool, the restaurant, and the views were all amazing. I hope we can go back again some day!

A few things to note for activities during your stay:
The location is a bit of a drive to the main Chianti region if you are wine tasting (approx 30 minutes to most wineries we booked), but it's a scenic ride.

We did a cooking class, and the food was delicious, but we actually didn't cook at all. Just watched the chef make the dish, which is not really what we had in mind, but maybe cooking classes are just different in Italy. One suggestion would be to give the recipe (written) to the guests to take home so we can try to make it ourselves.

We paid in advance to rent bikes one day, which in retrospect I wouldn't have done. Once we arrived we realized how narrow, curvy and hilly the roads are. With the e-bikes, the hills aren't problematic, but drivers fly over the hills and around blind corners so it just didn't feel safe. If you're an experienced road cyclist though it probably wouldn't bother you.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

My boyfriend and I visited Villa Le Calvane for one week in June 2018. We were blown away by its beauty, great customer service and perfect location. The hotel is stunning inside and out. The views of Tuscany and the Italian countryside were incredible. And the hotel was only 30 or so minutes away from Florence which was very convenient. The hotel staff were so accommodating; they did everything from booking car services, to making amazing restaurant reservations with such care and ease. The food at the hotel was some of the best food we have ever had! The chef even let us order custom dishes that were not on the menu. Our suite was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated with both modern and antique furnishings. The pool area was picturesque and we really enjoyed relaxing there each day. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel to all travelers visiting Italy. It’s the perfect place for a dreamlike getaway.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elisia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

The Hotel was faultless . Perfect location , very helpful staff , great scenery and spacious /wonderful suite ! All the staff were very friendly and accommodative .
The Hotel is ideally situated to get to major attractions /towns like Florence , Sienna , Pisa , Chianti areas etc ..
We had a very enjoyable and memorable time .

Room tip: Higher Floor and corner suite offers great view of the hills
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hitesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Everything about this hotel was fantastic. The location was perfect, incredible scenery, fresh air and best of all quite! The rooms were comfortably huge, the staff was very pleasant and accommodating, the lobby bar is a great place to relax and enjoy a cocktail before or after dinner, and the restaurant had great food and a wonderful staff. The best part of this hotel is the infinity style swimming pool and the lovely terrace, my all time favourite place to relax and enjoy a top-notch meal. Overall the views and location are the best part of the property. Also, the on property winery was very interesting to tour.

Room tip: The Junior suite was very spacious and had everything our family needed.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harrison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

We have been to Tuscany many times and have done extensive research on accommodations. There are a plethora of rustic villas, Castellos, hotels etc but if you are looking for luxury with a personal touch there is only a small list. Our original option where we got married was fully booked so thankfully we found Villa Le Calvane. Our goal was to stay in the Tuscany countryside to be surrounded by the beauty and calmness but be able to jet to Florence within 30 minutes to have dinner at our Michelin rated wedding chef’s restaurant in Florence( not to be missed - La Leggenda Dei Frati- Filippo Saporito
I think Villa Le Calvane is a perfect place for a romantic getaway, a small wedding, a reunion with a small group of friends and family. It offers an excellent restaurant, accommodations are luxurious, staff are still learning( variability in experience) and comfortable, the grounds are lovely( though with her limited stay and agenda, we did not have time to use much of the facilities). I think the views are beautiful but there are definitely cuter areas around like Castellina in Chianti where you are up higher and have more vast views of the rolling hills .
We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom from an executive suite- very spacious and perfect for our baby to have a separate room. Bathrooms were relatively sound proof as well as bedrooms which was nice.
Standouts -
1) Francesco - at breakfast truly went out of his way for us and made us feel warm. He worked hard and was so hospitable
2) the evening woman( forgot her name) who greeted us when we arrived later in the evening was incredibly warm and accommodating - a natural warmth

Some growing pains:
1) breakfast was good but it’s the same thing everyday so after 3 days it got a little old. They should try to offer different fruits- berries not just melon, pineapple and then a fruit salad
Granola would be fantastic/ muesli
2) one of our bathrooms was really smelly and we never used it the whole time since we had 2 bathrooms-
3) the bath towels are in an odd location - the toilet room so I’d forget to grab a towel and then have to run across the bathroom to the toilet room
4) the maid wanted to clean the room but we were trying to get ready to take the baby out for the day- the maid said she could not come back because she was leaving for the day. Perhaps they could clean the room either while we were at breakfast or out for the day since we were always out from 11:30am or so till late at night.
5) some of the staff were shy and socially awkward but that will come with exposure and time
6) they should definitely have a spa for massages
7) wish the pool or one of the little pools Was heated or a little warmer.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank drgolfermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews