We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best equipped and best hosted holiday home we...”
other travellers have booked this property
View across Plunge Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa Front Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa
Front Terrace
Entrance Hallway
Entrance Hallway
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
View across Plunge Pool
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across Plunge Pool
Al Fresco Dining
Al Fresco Dining
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across the valley
Plunge Pool Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
GabbieYou...
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best equipped and best hosted holiday home we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing. Denise and Steve made us feel incredibly welcome and were available whenever we needed them but if we didn't, we didn't see them which made the holiday home feel lovely and private. The home was so well equipped, from complimentary robes, to the best equipped kitchen we have ever utilised! Their attention to detail is second to none. We had a beautiful welcome hamper with enough supplies to keep us going for the initial part of the holiday including 2 bottles of plonk. The home is situated in a small village but the walk down the mountain (4km) to the local town of Bagni di Lucca was breathtaking where we could buy all our supplies and indulge in local cuisine at a choice of eateries. We used the town's terme (thermal spa) which was a very welcome and relaxing start to our trip. The home is within easy access for day trips to Florence, Pisa and Lucca. We also travelled an hour one day to visit Candalla where we could swim under waterfalls, although it was fairly nippy in mid April. I would highly recommend this home as a place to stay to become the contented Tuscan!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for your super review – it was a pleasure to have you both here as our first guests of the summer season. We are so pleased you enjoyed our villa as a place to unwind and then use as a base to plan your sightseeing trips from. Thank you too for your kind comments on our welcome hamper – we feel it important that after what is normally a long day, our guests feel comfortable that they can start their holiday on arrival and not need to drive out to stock up at a supermarket on your first day.
Thanks again for your kind comments and we would love to welcome you back to our tranquil part of Tuscany soon.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clareyb9
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the best 2 weeks at the end of August. My husband, myself, daughter (12) and son (10) enjoyed every aspect of the contented Tuscan. Steve and Denise were wonderfully discreet and we enjoyed the property for our entire time. We spent most days by the pool, swimming, chilling, playing cards and barbecuing. It was a truly magnificent spot to be. We did venture further afield. Florence, Pisa and Lucca. Lucca was by far our favourite. But to be honest we were just very happy to be up in the hills above Bagni di Lucca taking advantage of the villa. It was a perfect for us. The kitchen was divine, we ate and cooked wonderful Italian produce, drank yummy wine, and didn't really want to leave. We felt so at ease in the villa...........and enjoyed the great DVD collection. Thank you so much for sharing you beautiful property.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2015
Thank you for your super review. We are so pleased the villa and gardens helped make your holiday so special. We are glad the kitchen hit the spot, the views across the valley while cooking is one of our favorite spaces in the villa. Very pleased too that the children enjoyed the DVD library.
You were super guests and we look forward to inviting you back to Guzzano again soon.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marru2015
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a lovely week in the end of July in this gorgeous house. This villa is so beautiful and it is renovated with style and good taste. We felt like home from the first moment we arrived. Steve and Denise, the owners, are lovely people and make you really feel like you are warmly welcomed. Location is very nice with a panoramic view from the pool. The house and pool area are totally fully equipped, there is nothing you could miss or need. In this place you can rest and forget all the stress and worries, just enjoy lovely Tuscan life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa itself and the interior, also the pool and the privacy of it.
Liked least: I can´t find anything to say
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
What a lovely review. Thank you for choosing our holiday home, and for your appreciation of the house and views. We are so pleased that our set up hit the mark, you and your family having a super holiday experience means a lot to us. It was a pleasure having you here as our guests and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa with equally fantastic owners”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival at this lovely villa we were met by the owners, Steve and Denise. Their welcome couldn't have been better, with a tour of the premises and loads of information about the local area. The "welcome pack" consisted of everything we needed to see us through to the following day, including wine! We couldn't wait to get into the plunge pool after a long drive. It was very refreshing and was an ideal place to admire the stunning views across the valley. The accommodation and facilities are everything you would want, with two comfortable bedrooms, both with en-suites; a fully fitted kitchen and a dining room/lounge. Outside was a lovely patio/eating area down some steps to compliment the plunge pool. We asked numerous questions throughout our stay, all of which were quickly answered, although if you didn't ring the bell loudly, you wouldn't have known they were there. Denise prepared a pasta dish for us for the cost of the ingredients and placed it in our oven for when we got back from a long day in Firenze and Steve kindly printed out our return Boarding Cards for us, which saved us a lot of messing around. On the whole we couldn't fault them. What lovely people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Thanks too for your comments on the set up of our home & welcome hamper. We are glad you enjoyed the pasta dish, it was a suggestion made by guests last year and solves a supper problem after a days sightseeing. Thanks again you were wonderful guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bagni di Lucca in the near future.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQSco...
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Amazing stay at Steve and Denise's home. Wow what can we say, from the moment we arrived sheer bliss. Peace and quiet in lovely surroundings.
The house and decor is lovely and the terrace and pool is so private. We immediately chilled out as soon as we arrived.
The welcome hamper was super and just what we needed after our travel to the area.
We mostly self catered while we stayed at the house which was great as everything we needed was supplied.
Steve and Denise are fantastic hosts, there if you need them at all for anything however after a fantastic friendly, helpful welcome they retreated and left you alone.
We had amazing weather for our time there and the private terrace was perfect.
Thank you both so much for an amazing holiday let. Fingers crossed we will be able to visit again x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Wow – Thank you for your lovely review. You were super guests and we are so pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Thanks too for your kind comments on our welcome hamper. It’s important that we give our guests the ability to relax on arrival and not have to drive out and visit a supermarket after a long days travel. Thanks again and we hope to see you again. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing