We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on earth”
other travellers have booked this property
View across Plunge Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa Front Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa
Front Terrace
Entrance Hallway
Entrance Hallway
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
View across Plunge Pool
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across Plunge Pool
Al Fresco Dining
Al Fresco Dining
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across the valley
Plunge Pool Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Marru2015
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We spent a lovely week in the end of July in this gorgeous house. This villa is so beautiful and it is renovated with style and good taste. We felt like home from the first moment we arrived. Steve and Denise, the owners, are lovely people and make you really feel like you are warmly welcomed. Location is very nice with a panoramic view from the pool. The house and pool area are totally fully equipped, there is nothing you could miss or need. In this place you can rest and forget all the stress and worries, just enjoy lovely Tuscan life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa itself and the interior, also the pool and the privacy of it.
Liked least: I can´t find anything to say
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
What a lovely review. Thank you for choosing our holiday home, and for your appreciation of the house and views. We are so pleased that our set up hit the mark, you and your family having a super holiday experience means a lot to us. It was a pleasure having you here as our guests and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Villa with equally fantastic owners”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival at this lovely villa we were met by the owners, Steve and Denise. Their welcome couldn't have been better, with a tour of the premises and loads of information about the local area. The "welcome pack" consisted of everything we needed to see us through to the following day, including wine! We couldn't wait to get into the plunge pool after a long drive. It was very refreshing and was an ideal place to admire the stunning views across the valley. The accommodation and facilities are everything you would want, with two comfortable bedrooms, both with en-suites; a fully fitted kitchen and a dining room/lounge. Outside was a lovely patio/eating area down some steps to compliment the plunge pool. We asked numerous questions throughout our stay, all of which were quickly answered, although if you didn't ring the bell loudly, you wouldn't have known they were there. Denise prepared a pasta dish for us for the cost of the ingredients and placed it in our oven for when we got back from a long day in Firenze and Steve kindly printed out our return Boarding Cards for us, which saved us a lot of messing around. On the whole we couldn't fault them. What lovely people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Thanks too for your comments on the set up of our home & welcome hamper. We are glad you enjoyed the pasta dish, it was a suggestion made by guests last year and solves a supper problem after a days sightseeing. Thanks again you were wonderful guests and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bagni di Lucca in the near future.
Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SusieQSco...
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Amazing stay at Steve and Denise's home. Wow what can we say, from the moment we arrived sheer bliss. Peace and quiet in lovely surroundings.
The house and decor is lovely and the terrace and pool is so private. We immediately chilled out as soon as we arrived.
The welcome hamper was super and just what we needed after our travel to the area.
We mostly self catered while we stayed at the house which was great as everything we needed was supplied.
Steve and Denise are fantastic hosts, there if you need them at all for anything however after a fantastic friendly, helpful welcome they retreated and left you alone.
We had amazing weather for our time there and the private terrace was perfect.
Thank you both so much for an amazing holiday let. Fingers crossed we will be able to visit again x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
Wow – Thank you for your lovely review. You were super guests and we are so pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Thanks too for your kind comments on our welcome hamper. It’s important that we give our guests the ability to relax on arrival and not have to drive out and visit a supermarket after a long days travel. Thanks again and we hope to see you again. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Steve&Denise's wonderful house. The views are amazing, the house is very homely and has everything you need - we especially loved the kitchen! The location is perfect as well, very quiet village but you can easily get everywhere. We could have easily stayed for a lot longer!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Wow! - What a lovely review. Thank you for choosing our holiday home and your appreciation of our house and views. We are pleased you enjoyed preparing local produce from our rustic kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freediveh...
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Idyllic location”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Steve and Denise are excellent hosts and the Contented Tuscan is a wonderfully equipped villa with some stunning views to enjoy with the mountains and the valley in front of you while you enjoy breakfast on the terrace.

The property is located in a quiet village called Guzzano, a short ten minute drive from Bagni Di Lucca which is a decent sized town with places to eat and to pick up provisions. When driving there it is best to set your sat nav for Bagni di Lucca otherwise you may find any number of locations for Guzzano appearing and then like us, you will end up in the wrong place.

Inside the rooms are spacious and stylishly decorated. The kitchen is superbly equipped with everything you need to sample the local produce. Outside the garden is beautiful and there is a wide variety of seating. There was just the two of us on this trip but the villa would comfortably accommodate two couples.

Overall a great location and I would like to thank Steve and Denise for a memorable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, location and how well equipped it was.
Liked least: Tended to roll together in the bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your lovely review – we are so glad you both enjoyed your stay here and the super spring weather played its part in ensuring your holiday was memorable one. We hope to see you again. Ciao Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing