We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous Tuscan house”
other travellers have booked this property
View across Plunge Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa Front Terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
View across Plunge Pool
The Villa
Front Terrace
Entrance Hallway
Entrance Hallway
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Rustic Kitchen
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Dining and Sitting Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 1 Ensuite
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
Bedroom 2 Ensuite
View across Plunge Pool
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across Plunge Pool
Al Fresco Dining
Al Fresco Dining
Plunge Pool Terrace
View across the valley
Plunge Pool Terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Fiona D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Tuscan house”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at this gorgeous Tuscan house in September. They have mixed boutique hotel quality and style with a real home feel. Everything is just amazing quality with lots of really nice, clever touches. The house is nestled right in the Tuscan hills and the view is breathtaking. The pool and terrace are perfect for relaxing with a bottle of wine! The local town has all you need and it's a perfect base for exploring the region. Steve and Denise are brilliant hosts, discreet but knowledgable and nothing is too much trouble. I really didn't want to go home. We will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review – what a super way to end our first season renting our holiday home. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our villa. The September weather played its part – Tuscany can be such a great place to visit after the heat of August has subsided. Thanks again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Take care Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevorjb
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly authentic Tuscan delight”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Many thanks to Steve & Denise for making our holiday such a wonderful experience. The villa is a perfect combination of quality and style in a superb location overlooking the beautiful Tuscan countryside and rolling hills.

The house has been expertly and lovingly restored with all of the original features retained. One of the most striking aspects of this property is the high standard of equipment and décor not normally found in a holiday home. The furnishings are totally in keeping with the local area and create a wonderfully warm and cosy atmosphere. All the rooms and en suite bathrooms were spotlessly clean and fresh on arrival. The garden has a sheltered terrace area with a large table and chairs for al fresco dining. The pool area is well equipped with plenty of chairs, sun loungers etc.. and towels are provided. The whole area is complemented by a selection of interesting and colourful potted plants.

It is clear that Steve and Denise have gone out of their way to guarantee a carefree and enjoyable holiday experience. They greeted us on arrival with welcome drinks on the terrace and a cosy introduction to the house and local facilities. After this they discreetly retreated to their own part of the house on the bottom floor and left us in complete privacy. As with previous guests the local taxi driver Marco was recommended to us and he was a real gem. He is kind, helpful and chatty with good English. Although we had a car it was great to be able to eat and drink out and have Marco drive us home. We had a superb meal at the Buca Do Baldabo restaurant with top quality home cooked food and freshly made pasta dishes to choose from. We also enjoyed a lovely meal at Ristorante Del Sonno in Bagni Di Lucca (seasonally available and locally sourced truffles and mushrooms a speciality).

The villa is well situated for a trip to Florence – best by train from Lucca as the parking near the station is easy. The walled city of Lucca is well worth a visit and we had a very pleasant lunch at Ristorante Giglio.

Thanks again to Steve & Denise for providing us with a great opportunity to enjoy such a lovely part of Italy in a quality traditional Tuscan property.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you had such a wonderful time here at the The Contented Tuscan. Thanks too for your comments on the décor of our home. Sourcing antique items for the house and garden is a joy and is great to know our guests feel we got it right. We will pass on your kind comments to Marco, his taxi service is being well received by our guests – as you say, he is a gentleman. We look forward to welcoming you back to Bagni di Lucca in the very near future Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashmcpmol...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Tuscan Dream!”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

What a real treasure! My husband and I along with our fiends have just returned from an amazing week at The Contented Tuscan. The property is located in the hills a few miles out of the small town of Bagni Di Luca in the hamlet of Guzzanno.

The owners Steve and Denise were wonderful hosts, they were very warm, welcoming and approachable. They greeted us with lovely welcome drinks. They live on the bottom floor of the large property, which is completely independent from the main house. You would never know they were there as they are very discrete although they are always on standby should you need anything.

The house is absolutely stunning inside and out, spotlessly clean and beautifully and lovingly restored. It is tastefully decorated in a traditional Tuscan farmhouse style. It looks like it could feature in an interior magazine. The owners’ attention to detail did not go unnoticed, they have put a lot of thought and time into creating a very comfortable space where your every need is catered for. The bath robes and slippers in the bathrooms was a lovely touch. The property also has wifi/internet access.

The terrace and pool area was very beautiful and relaxing with the perfect, picturesque views across the valley. The property is ideally located for a bit of sightseeing. During our stay we visited Florence, the beach resort of Viareggio and the nearby town of Lucca.

If you don’t fancy the driving, definitely use Marco the taxi man. Denise and Steve recommend him and we were so very happy they did. A fantastic, kind man who went above and beyond, he was also like our very own tour guide. He brought us to fantastic restaurants in the hills where we got to try amazing traditional Tuscan food. A bit of a drive out of Bagni Di Lucca and we would never have found these great places ourselves if not for Marco (Buca Do Baldabo – so good we returned a second time, and Villa Aurora). We also ate at Del Sonna in Bagni Di Lucca, also very good. Marco also brought us to see The Devils Bridge by night, a must see!

I could go on and on about out highlights, I definitely recommend this location, a real home from home. Thank you again Denise and Steve….oh and Marco (our taxi man friend).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the kitchen window
Liked least: The windy road from Bigni Di Lucca to Guzzanno but this vanishes once to get to the property.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Wow! - What a lovely review. Thank you for choosing our holiday home, and for your appreciation of our house and views. We are so pleased that our set up hit the mark as our guests having a super holiday experience means a lot to us. Great news that you found Marco the taxi man so helpful, we will make sure he sees your kind comments. Thanks again and we would love to welcome you back Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomasz K
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Extremely beautiful house and very nice atmosphere. The only think we don't recommend is an extra pay italian dinner in the neighbour house. Food was disappointment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Many thanks for your super review of our holiday home. We very much enjoyed having your group spend the week here. You having a good experience really matter to us. In terms of the Tuscan dining experience, we will pass on your comments to our neighbour.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loukos340...
Montpellier, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A very typical and nice house, very cosy and well renovated by the owners who are, by the way, very nice hosts, very attentive to their guests' comfort and in the same time very discreet.
You'll find here the right place to rest (swimming pool plays its role, of course) and to visit the whole region. The area is as well on a small hill, so it's colder at night, and consequently more comfortable than in the valley during Summer time.
The house is located in a small village with a large proportion of visitors coming from all countries. You can also have an organic dinner at owner's friends home with very typical Tuscany food.
Highly recommended !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, calm, hosts
Liked least: Maybe could coffe machine be changed?
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Many thanks, we really appreciate you taking the time to write the review and for your kind words. Reviews are incredibly important to us. We will pass on your kind comments to our friends that organise the traditional Tuscan al fresco dining evening. We very much enjoyed your time here as our guests and look forward to your return Steve & Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing