We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Tuscan farm house - the perfect get...”
Pool and stunning mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and stunning mountain views
Metato with Pool Pool and View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Pool and stunning mountain views
Metato with Pool
Pool and View
Metato with springtime view
Olive trees
Springtime view
Metato
Garden in spring
Property
Apartment
Dining Room Metato
Kitchen and Dining Area Metato
Metato bedroom
Metato bedroom
Kitchen Nido
Vineyard and view
Enjoy the many local festas held during the summer season
Hill top town of Barga
Visit the Wind Caves - La Grotta del Vento
Suspension bridge at Chifenti
The Devils Bridge at Borgo a Mozzano
Visit the beautiful walled city of Lucca
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Colm D
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Tuscan farm house - the perfect get away!”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in August 2016

Four of us stayed at Podere Vitiana in August 2016. For two of us, after a busy week in southern Tuscany with the extended family, we wanted somewhere a bit more peaceful. It was the first time in Italy for the other couple. We all agreed that it was a perfect holiday.

Podere Vitiana is isolated - the drive off the main road is a little nerve wracking the first time. The mountain road is narrow, but during our stay we never encountered another vehicle. And the drive is worth it once you get to the house! On one evening driving home we saw wild boar, deer, porcupines and foxes!

Giulio and Silvana were the perfect hosts. They made us feel most welcome. They supplied us with fruit and vegetables from their farm, and were always happy to chat and suggest places to visit.

One couple slept in the house and one in the apartment, although the beautiful house was definitely hub of activity - where we ate, enjoyed the local wines, and played games in the evening. The pool was very welcome during the heat of the day, and both the table tennis table and boules court were used during the 'Vitiana Olympics'! During the less active time, we just sat outside the house, enjoying the beautiful views of the surrounding mountains, and the olives grove and orchards around.

Vitiana is in a great location. Using it as a base, we visited Lucca, Pisa, the beach at Via Reggio, the opera at Torre de Lago, and the wineries around beautiful Montecarlo. Yes, you have to drive quite a bit, but all these locations were about an hour from the house. On the way back you can stop off at the supermarket to stock up, or take a pitstop in one of the local towns and villages for dinner.

The house and apartment are well equipped - we had everything we needed for cooking meals, using the kitchen and the BBQ. Because of its location in the mountains, there was no need for A/C (we used the fans sometimes) and mosquitoes were non-existent making it very comfortable in the evenings.

There was so much more in the region that we didn't get to do that we're going to have to return in the future. However, the four of us agree that the holiday we had in Podere Vitiana was amazing, and we'd highly recommend it. Thanks again Giulio and Silvana - hopefully we'll be visiting again soon!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Tuscan hospitality and tranquility with pool in the mountains near Lucca”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lovely quiet place in the mountains above Lucca and 1,5h away from Florence. We had the old (18th century), nicely renovated house (2 bedrooms and kitchen) and an appartment (1 double) in the main house, where the owners live. The hospitality of the owners was amazing. They even prepared a barbecue for us one evening. Owners produce their own olive oil and wine. Our children enjoyed the small pool 5x3,5m, table tennis and especially the boules/boccia cort in the evening.
Only disadvantage is the narrow, partially quiet uneven road to the property, which may be difficult for unexperienced drivers or deep/heavily loaded vehicles. Follow the instructions of the owners not GPS.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and hospitality plus pool
Liked least: The road to the property
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Great to hear that you loved this stunning location and enjoyed the garden which I think is really special .
For future guests do note the pool is 6M x 4M (still small but that extra space makes all the difference!) and great for cooling off and playing.
Giulio and Silvana (who I agree are wonderful cooks!) send their best wishes and would love to welcome you again.
Lorraine at Tuscan-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmhdmh
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Tuscan base in stunning countryside.”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a stunningly located place from which to explore North Tuscany. The surroundings are ravishing and there is wonderful walking as well as the opportunity to visit the famous Renaissance towns. The former barn and apartment are simply but well equipped and the swimming pool and garden are lovely to relax in. Giulio and Silvana are a welcoming but discreet presence who are there if you need them but never intrude and you feel you have the run of the outside space. They also provide delicious and plentiful home cooked meals on request. Highly recommended. The driving in the area is not for the feint hearted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review, and we are so glad you really enjoyed this place!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
titirz
Alsace, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Le calme.
Liked least: Le chemin d'accès.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing