We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
173
80
28
19
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
80
28
19
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews knock airport knock shrine lovely hotel lovely meal second to none stayed for one night wonderful stay short drive breakfast was excellent claire wedding mayo ireland castlebar mary galway
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed a night here courtesy of Aer Lingus when the fog at Knock prevented our plane from landing to take us back to Gatwick.

Rooms comfortable, nice shower and separate bath. We had a double and a singe bed for my wife and 3 year old son. Lots of room and you get shower gel and shampoo which was much appreciated as we had neither on us.

Dinner was also on Aer Lingus which was a set menu that was OK. I’d have preferred to have been given the option to order from the main menu and pay the difference. Can’t complain about free food!

Breakfast was good but the white pudding (love the stuff) was very salty as too were the sausages. Scrambled eggs were cooked in too much oil. Suggest you order poached as fried only available from the buffet and were over cooked by heat lamps. Lovely brown bread.

Lunch was really nice. Lovely chicken wrap.

Staff very friendly and very accommodating. Internet speed was good but kept dropping out. Hotel is well prepared and accommodating for tired travellers stuck at the airport unexpectedly.

We went for a walk around the town the next day and there is a lovely nature trail opposite the hotel which my son really enjoyed exploring.

We would stay again and is a good starting point for those doing the Atlantic highway as well as those stuck an extra day due to flight delays. Your about 15 minutes by taxi from the airport.

X

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank jpavalanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We were down to attend the performance of the Messiah in Knock basilica. The Park is only ten minutes away. The hospitality could not have been better and the food was absolutely wonderful Not to mention the extensive gin menu!

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Z8007EUgeraldineh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We had a weekend stay here recently as we were attending an event nearby. We checked in easily on the Friday evening to a lovely spacious and clean room, we also ate in the bar / bistro. The food was good with a varied menu. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good, plenty of fresh fruit, cereals and the usual 'Full Irish'. Very close by Kiltimagh, you can walk in to the nice little town in 5 minutes. A little noisy at nightime but it was a busy weekend.

Room tip: Don't choose a room the sits over the bar!
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScreenqueenIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a access enabled room in Mayo at very late notice and we were looking to go somewhere we hadn't been before so we were delighted to find availability here. Shiela was extremely helpful at check in and gave us all the information we needed. Reception was newly renovated. Our room was huge with everything that's usually available and an accessible bathroom (which we were told was also going to be done up). Some things showed signs of wear and tear but everything was clean and the beds comfortable. We were delighted to be able to get cocktails at the bar and sampled many before moving on to gins with various tonics. Shaun entertained us all night with stories and drinks suggestions. We ate in the bar and would highly recommend the chicken and brie melter, it was divine! Breakfast was standard. All staff were really friendly and helpful. It's a great central location for Knock, Ballina and Castlebar, very keenly priced and a real surprise. We'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank micihay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Short break, two nights, bed and breakfast, 3 of us, all adults.The hotel staff were pleasant, polite and friendly. We arrived late Monday afternoon, checked in the room which was clean and spacious with coffee and tea making facilities. Had food in the bar before we headed off, which was good and plentiful. Went to visit family for our evening meal and came back to relax in the bar.The bar staff on Monday were absolutely brilliant and most accommodatingshowing good knowledge of different drinks (especially the gins available). Breakfast in the morning was good, although there were no baked beans which was a disappointment to one of the party but everything else was plentiful and the service was good. We went on our way, our room was serviced, toiletries replenished and when we asked for extra towels more than needed were given. For us this was a fab place to stay as we knew we would be out for the day and with family for our evening meal, apart from the baked beans at breakfast. I would comment that it is disconcerting to enter the bar area and see every table set up for food to be served as if it is a restaurant not a bar, no empty tables just to sit down and have a drink at. That said we really enjoyed our stay and the staff we met, even the workmen refurbishing were fab. Convenient for Knock, Foxford, Westport, Castlebar, etc. Will visit again. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews