We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday home EVER”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Doonbeg, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Vickyjk20...
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best holiday home EVER”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I and our two kids (Ages 11 & 5) spent a week at Sandhills House. I had tried to book last year but Nuala was completely booked up so I booked a year in advance so sure was I that we would have a fantastic holiday at Sandhills. I was not wrong. The house is by far and above the best holiday home we have ever stayed in. The house is not only beautifully decorated with large, spacious rooms and hot water on tap courtesy of solar panels, Nuala has literally thought of absolutely everything to make your stay a special one. From the daily fresh eggs, the wonderful herb garden, the choice of kids' toys (especially the trike!) to a fantastic selection of condiments and little gadgets to make life easier to binoculars to take to the beach! For families with kids who love animals, Sandhills House is a must. There are 3 beautiful, friendly dogs to accompany you to the beach - Bruno, Bailey and Max. My son was crying leaving the dogs after our week and cannot wait to go back next year. That says it all really. We are booked in for two weeks next year and cannot wait to go back. Thank you Nuala for wonderful memories xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unrivalled beachside location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for that great review and looking forward to meeting you all again next year and making more great memories!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jfmullig
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best vacation venue we ever rented anywhere”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A five star cottage at a three star price, but price is nothing compared to the presentation Nuala has made for her rental home. The house was so clean you could eat off the floor. There was a great welcome with some eats in the fridge for the first morning, and there is nothing you have to buy in the way of condiments or pots, pans, dishes etc. You can get your own fresh eggs in the morning from the hen house, and also fresh veggies from the garden. The shower in the bathroom was large enough for the big guy, with plenty of hot water with more than enough pressure, and lovely big towels

You are a few minutes walk from the beach which must be at least a mile in length. Nuala has even supplied those safety vests for you walk along the bohreen (small roads). I am leaving a lot more advantages out because of space, but gaurantee you will be more than happy with your choice for a holiday home rental.. Superbly located with excellent restaurants in the village of Doonbeg..enjoy Feel free to contact.

Jim & Ann Wenatchee Washington State (jfmullig@gmail.com)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post that lovely review and hope our paths cross again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rucuki
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Five star accommodations in a spectacular location.”
Reviewed 14 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Impeccably appointed guest home with all possible amenities, and an owner that goes above and beyond in every regard. In a lovely location from which to enjoy the Irish countryside. So glad we found this gem.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for posting that review. It was lovely having ye stay with us and hope our paths cross again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeHarris...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So good we stayed an extra night!”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had just the most fabulous stay in Doonbeg. Doughmore - where the house is located - is just beautiful. The house is amazing, modern and furnished to a very high standard (way better than home!!!). Nuala had just about everything we could have thought of covered (and a few things we didn't think we'd need). The house had everything to keep the kids entertained, the kitchen has everything you could ever need. The location is just perfect, quiet, a couple of minutes to the beach, views of the sea. It's always a bit nervy reserving online but we did a little happy dance when we got in.

Nuala was just the best host. She looked after everything for us. One of our guests turned up having forgotten his coat (don't ask, he's from Dublin) - a warm jacket appeared within a few minutes. Seriously, where else do you get that? We borrowed some wellies for the kids who didn't manage to work out the sea is indeed wet.

All the things you don't want to bring with you (washing powder, dishwasher tablets, milk and tea/coffee, shampoo, shower gel, bedding and towels) were all there and the bathrooms were just amazing. And the kids loved going to see if there were eggs in the chicken coop.

We had such a great time - and the weather had blessed us - that we decided to see if we could stay another day. We're so glad we did.

Really, just the best weekend. The kids are desparate to come back even though I warned them that blue skies weren't a guarantee. I don't think they'd care.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fantastic host and outstanding property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post that lengthy review. We'll be looking forward to having ye back again sometime! Cheers, Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah24...
Royton Oldham Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutley Fantastic”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Well what a wonderful place firstly we took a wrong turning so rang Nuala who was with us in 5 minutes so we could follow her to the house. On arriving what a great view of the sea and countyside and Bruno the dog to greet us! The house is fully equipped with everything you may need..washer/dryer herbs and spices in the cupboards fresh milk butter and juice. Help yourself to fresh eggs and veg.
The bedrooms are fully modern and spotless. I was with my husband my Mum and Dad and Auntie and it catered for all. Plenty of vieos and games to entertain yourself in an evening.
The beach is a 5 minute walk through the farm what a fantastic beach and scenery.
We had days out to The Cliffs Of Moher, Spanish Point the Loop drive to the lighthouse and a ferry across to Tralee and other trips. All information for trips out and places to visit are in the house.
We all had a great relaxing week and will definitley return.
Couldnt fault anything.
Thanks Nuala and family & Bruno!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you for that great review Deborah and we hope to see ye again at some stage. Nuala.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing