We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique house for a home away”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Whitestrand House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Doonbeg, County Clare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Irlandfan...
Emden, Germany
1 review
“Unique house for a home away”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved to stay in your little gem.
It was a perfect week - seaviews from the very comfy armchairs and from everywhere around the house - and our fabulous favourite colours - blue and green at its best. Pictures in the Internet do not lie! - it is the right place for many purposes. Everything in the house is refurbished with passion and you can feel that Teresa and Michael love their house. Nice furniture of a high Standard and many architectonic details and extras that make the house very special, modern and warm.
We found a very relaxing home and met wonderful hosts. Thank you so much Teresa and Michael. It turned out to be a bit hard to leave after just a week.
Even our arrival after midnight was a special event when we found the cosy house with all its lights on and the warm welcome of the cows smiling at me when looking for the sunrise :-) and a breakfast provided for us.
For us it was a great experience to take the cows to the stable with Michael and to milk them! Good luck to both of you.

Whitestrand house is a great touring base and a delightful place to come down to earth and enjoy nature. You can go to unique places of Co. Clare and its lovely landscape within easy reach by car or even take a walk from the doorstep.

We can highly recommend a stay and would be glad to return to "our holiday home".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for that lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you, and thanks for helping with the milking. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seaandsun...
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely house, such a scenic location”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved our stay at White Strand House, we were going to a wedding in Doonbeg but the hotel was quite expensive as we had teenagers and needed 2 rooms, so the house was just ideal for us. Teresa and her husband Michael are a lovely couple, so friendly and helpful. My brother left a portable speaker behind and Teresa has offered to post it to us. White Strand House is very new, lovely and bright with great views from the lounge/kitchen and upstairs bedroom. The beds were very comfortable and the house is just spotless, everything is brand new and the house is very well equipped. I would have no hesitation in recommending it and would hope that we will be back to stay in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thanks for your review. Delighted that you all enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
molloypau...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Amazing views.”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This holiday home is just fantastic. A glorious beach 20 meters from the house, we couldn't believe our luck when we arrived. It was immaculate with everything we needed. I cannot describe the amazing views. We spent our days touring the Wild Atlantic Way and the evenings walking the beach and relaxing. i would recommend this location and beautiful house without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about our house. Looking forward to seeing you again in May.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
Brussels
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“House with glorious beach views and easy access to walks, cycles and drives.”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The house was perfect for a week's stay with my wife and my mother who joined us for the second half of the stay. Great easy access to beaches, cycle routes, restaurants, sight-seeing and a part of Clare still a bit 'undiscovered'. Very helpful and friendly costs.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thanks for taking the time to write about us. It was great meeting you both and your lovely mother. There will always be a warm welcome for you at White Strand House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja K
1 review
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We absolutely loved our weeks stay in this lovely property. It was immaculate and the location cannot be beaten. The Beach was right on our doorstep and the kids loved it. The views, the decor and the lovely hosts were all great. We would definitely go back again and would highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thanks for that wonderful review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing