We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”
Review of Riva Bella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riva Bella Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We really enjoyed staying here, it's a shame we were only there for one night!

Staff were OK in the reception area, better in the spa area. We didn't have much contact with them though, and room only so no comment on food.

We got the spa included with our room, and it was great to be able to use the pool area. Our child really enjoyed it, kids are allowed in 5pm-8pm.

It's right on the beach as well, so we just popped outside to go down to the shore. The rooms are nice, clean, and modern in appearance with TV, drinks making facilities, towels, and you get a towel/bag/gown to use while in the spa. You change in your room and go in with it. Apparently you are meant to return it there and hand back your spa card to reception, but that was lost on us! I'd be happy to go back there again and stay for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank xxTinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe R, Directeur général at Riva Bella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2017

Dear xxTinker,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in our establishment.

We received your compliments with great pleasure and will pass them along to the rest of our team. Your satisfaction is the highest reward for our staff, who work hard every day to offer impeccable service.

We hope to welcome you in Ouistreham Riva bella again very soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Hotel has a great position, close to Ferry port and on the beach with only sand dunes and bike/walking pathway between. Hotel is nice and room nice. Spa too crowded to be relaxing and too many people in there for a decent swim. Restaurant nice surroundings but couldn't understand the menu as we don't speak French. Starter was soup= amazing! Main, ordered beef medium and it came very rare. Asked for it to be cooked further which they did no problem but it had so much grizzle my sister couldn't eat hers at all. Mine had a small amount too but I was able to eat most of mine. We told the waiter and he just said 'oh sorry' and still billed us for it. We told them we didn't want to pay for it as she was unable to eat any of it (considering there was only beef and a few green beans on the plate) not acceptable to have to ask for it to be taken off the bill....it should have been automatically done or an alternative offered, in my opinion. On the Saturday we had a bar meal which was a seafood platter (ordered one which was more than enough for two!) this was fantastic and served beautifully. All in all we had a great stay but if we return will eat dinner elsewhere I think.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the beach side we were the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank twineat38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe R, Directeur général at Riva Bella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Dear Twineat38,

Your comments on your stay help us to improve the quality of our services.

We have taken into account your reviews, the satisfaction of our customers is at the heart of our concerns.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, very soon for a new experience in our hotel and with dinner..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Just stayed here overnight before getting early morning ferry to England. We had a suite on the ground floor: big bedroom and small lounge. It was very clean and the hotel is situated directly on the beach so nice for a walk etc. Had a swim in their spa: busy but nice. The hotel is ok but needs a few plants or something in the reception area. All in all, nice place and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe R, Directeur général at Riva Bella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Gillian P,

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in ous hotel and spa resort in Ouistreham Riva Bella.

Your comments on your stay daily help us to improve the quality of our services.

We have taken into account your reviews, the satisfaction of our customers is at the heart of our concerns.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, very soon for a new experience in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

A welcomed overnight stay before return ferry,after a long drive. Enjoyed the pool and spa experience.Welcoming and helpful staff, restaurant a bit pricey but good standard.Deco stylish and in keeping with the general calm feel of the hotel .There were no children staying there while we were there (not sure of hotel policy on this) but adult guests of all ages.Would recommend to friends.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank chrisie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe R, Directeur général at Riva Bella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Dear Chrisie 72,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay in our establishment.

We received your compliments with great pleasure and will pass them along to the rest of our team. Your satisfaction is the highest reward for our staff, who work hard every day to offer impeccable service.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

This is a spa hotel as witnessed by most of the guests walking round in bathrobes. I had no idea of this when I booked !
This meant the facilities were not what I was looking for although the other guests seemed to like them

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 608Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe R, Directeur général at Riva Bella Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for yuour comments.

I am sure you would appreciate our swimming-poll, hammam, sauna and our SPA massages next time you come and stay in our hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ouistreham
9.4 km away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
10.5 km away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
1 km away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Best Western La Mare O Poissons
10.4 km away
Mercure Cabourg Hippodrome
0.1 km away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Bella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Bella Hotel

Address: Avenue du Commandant Kieffer, 14150 Ouistreham, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ouistreham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ouistreham
Price Range: $153 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Bella Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riva Bella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Bella Hotel Ouistreham, Basse-Normandie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing