We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainbow Valley Lodge
Nearby Hotels
USD 147*
USD 92*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 110*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 102*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 52*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Historias Lodge(Santa Elena)
USD 68*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 81*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 52*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 88*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Santa Elena(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
USD 29*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel(Santa Elena)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
487
73
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
73
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownercloud forestcosta ricahis wifein townwhite faced monkeyscoffee makerthe perfect place to staysmall kitchenettean incredible viewsurrounded by naturean amazing hostrustic charmmonteverde reservelarge windowsgreat recommendationsrecommend this place
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The Rainbow Valley Lodge was a great way to start our trip to Costa Rica. It was the perfect escape, beautiful views from the room, private, and no radio or TV which was perfect for us!

Rolf set us up on a couple of great tours, horseback riding and a great night tour. He also provided great restaurant recommendations with coupons!

It wasn't anything fancy, but it was a great and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We were in Costa Rica for 2 weeks and staying at Rainbow Valley Lodge was definitely the highlight of our trip. Rolf (the owner) is a remarkable host, and made us feel welcome right from the start. We booked the room less than 24h before arrival, and he was still able to accommodate us and offer us a beautiful cabin looking out the cloud forest. The cabins have a cottage-like feel, which we found very cozy and warm..not to mention the beautiful view! It is hard to believe that a peaceful and beautiful place like that is located minutes away from Santa Elena town, where you can find all the necessary amenities. Rolf gave us a bunch of coupons to restaurants with great food! He also took care of booking our night walk and zip lining tours at a discounted price! It was a really nice break from having to do all of that on our own...Rolf, if you're reading this...thank you so much! Of course, I can't finish writing this review without mentioning the special coati named El Diablo, who was sitting in one of the trees looking into our cabin as we made breakfast each morning. In addition to many great photos, he made our stay that much more memorable. We give this place 5 stars and recommend it to anyone who wishes to stay in a comfortable and welcoming place surrounded by natural beauty while remaining close to town.

Room Tip: the upper room has a beautiful view of the valley with huge windows making it nice and bright.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This modest guest house is filled with warmth. The location is amazing, its in a valley that is routinely filled with rainbow's. Rolf is an excellent host and will make sure you have a wonderful time in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supreme44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The RVL was the perfect place to stay in Monteverde - simple, yet clean and comfortable room, beautiful views (rainbows included!), helpful host who provided great recommendations, and coatis just hanging out, looking cute! We stayed in the upper room and enjoyed the views from the kitchen area. It was really nice to be outside Santa Elena, and not in the thick of the tourism. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

It lives up to its name, with spectacular rainbows most afternoons as there is so much moisture. A nice large cabin, with a big balcony looking out at the forest which covers the steep slope. One or two minor things not working in the cabin, but it was well equiped. A coati came visiting morning and evening, wanting the bananas provided in the rooms by the owner Rolf. He goes out of his way to be helpful, and did a lot to make my visit to Monteverde successful, recommending just which areas to visit and what guides to use.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews