We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
503
73
10
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
73
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownercloud forestcosta ricahis wifein townsmall kitchenettecoffee makeran excellent hostrustic charmrecommend this placelarge windowsperfect stayzip liningjeep boat jeepstayed longernight tourfront porch
Filter
Updating list...
283 - 288 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This modest guest house is filled with warmth. The location is amazing, its in a valley that is routinely filled with rainbow's. Rolf is an excellent host and will make sure you have a wonderful time in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supreme44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The RVL was the perfect place to stay in Monteverde - simple, yet clean and comfortable room, beautiful views (rainbows included!), helpful host who provided great recommendations, and coatis just hanging out, looking cute! We stayed in the upper room and enjoyed the views from the kitchen area. It was really nice to be outside Santa Elena, and not in the thick of the tourism. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

It lives up to its name, with spectacular rainbows most afternoons as there is so much moisture. A nice large cabin, with a big balcony looking out at the forest which covers the steep slope. One or two minor things not working in the cabin, but it was well equiped. A coati came visiting morning and evening, wanting the bananas provided in the rooms by the owner Rolf. He goes out of his way to be helpful, and did a lot to make my visit to Monteverde successful, recommending just which areas to visit and what guides to use.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Hands down, this was our favorite place to stay in Costa Rica!

Owner: Rolf, the Minnesotan ex-pat who owns the RVL, is the best! Before we even got to Monteverde, he helped us arrange our jeep-boat-jeep transfer from La Fortuna (and our travel onward to the Pacific coast), and at a price significantly lower than anyone else we met was paying. Once we arrived, he helped us to get all of our bags down to the rooms, showed us all of the facilities and features, and talked to us about the many options for activities in the Monteverde area. He helped to set us up with ziplining and hiking (the latter in the Curi-Cancha reserve, which was EXCELLENT), went over the local map, gave us a ton of coupons to local activities and dining, and discussed the food options. Then, throughout our stay, he checked in with us to make sure that everything was going well, called taxis for us, etc. We also enjoyed just chatting with him! He was absolutely an ideal host - I wish that there could be a Rolf everywhere we travel!

Rooms: Both on the website, and in our email correspondence, Rolf makes sure to emphasize that the rooms are simple (we rented the upper and lower rooms for our family of 4). I suppose that they are simple, compared to some posh place, but they certainly more than met all of our needs! The beds were very comfortable, the shower was refreshing, and there was plenty of space for all of our stuff. The kitchenette in the upper room let us prepare some cheap meals (the Super Compro in town is quite extensive for grocery shopping), and having a minifridge and microwave was great for some cold beer and popcorn at the end of the day. The views from the rooms over the valley were OUTSTANDING. It was absolutely gorgeous looking into the forest at the beginning and end of each day, and it was fun to see the local coati peeking in at us from the branch of an adjacent tree.

Location: The lodge has all of the benefits of a peaceful, quiet location, with the conveniences of Santa Elena just a short 10 minute walk away (our kids are 6 and 9, and we made it to the edge of town in 10 minutes, easy). We walked in the daylight, and took taxis in the dark, which were just $1-2. I wouldn't want to stay in Santa Elena itself, as it is a bit of a mess of cars and shops, so this was a perfect compromise.

In summary, if there is any space available at the RVL for your visit, book it now!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MechTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I never wrote a review on tripadvisor, but I found this hotel from tripadvisor and enjoyed it a lot. To express my appreciation for the website, as well as for the hotel, I wrote my 1st review. Thanks!

We stayed at lower room in the Rainbow Valley Lodge for 3 nights this holiday season and greatly enjoyed our stay. The host Rolf is extremely helpful and answered so many of my questions before we went. When we arrived the 1st day, he provided us all different sorts of information for the nearby attractions, with coupons for those attractions, also for the restaurants. He helped us to reserve some tour trips, jeep/boat/jeep transportation to Arenal, and we didn't need to worry a thing! He also offered us ride twice when we were there, helped us to save as much as he can. Thanks a lot, Rolf!

The room is clean and basic but cozy, I liked the color and the fabric of the window curtain, it is just perfect tropical color and give us warm home feeling. we didn't have a kitchen but had a small refrigerator which could be used to store some cold drinks and small items. There was also a safe that you can leave something you don't want to carry around, one time we left our camera with Rolf when we went to do zipline since it is a bit bigger for the safe.

The rooms are down the hill to oversee the green valley. So we can sit at the porch, drink cold beer at night to enjoy the starry sky with cloud coming by quickly and sip coffee in the sunny morning, take a deep breath of fresh air. A coati came by to our front pouch every morning and afternoon to say hi, it is a wonderful feeling as such!

It is about 10 to 15 minutes walk to the triangle center in the town but we very much enjoyed the walking everyday. The view of such lush green valley and the distant Nicoya coastline was breathtaking, I couldn't much happier to stay there for longer time.:)

Thanks, Rolf, I will certainly come back if I ever visit Monteverde again!

Janet

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews