We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family owned business with an extremely warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Room was typical, a little dim and extremely, incredibly thin walls. My daughter was next door and I could hear her talking like she was in the room. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and the hotel was in a good location. As far as the service, you feel totally at home and welcome in this lodge. The service was awesome and I sincerely hated leaving such a comfortable location. You can easily walk to the center of town although the hills and thin air will tax your heart! Overall, I would stay again.

Room Tip: There are areas where you have two rooms and an enclosed shared balcony so a family can visit and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Star S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

25 - 29 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place, and innkeeper.

Jose is like a brother I never knew I had. He embodies the spirit of Monteverde. Make the Rustic Inn your home base for all of your adventures in Monteverde.
If you like peaceful walks, adventure, or something in between, Jose will point you in the right direction.
The breakfast is included in the rate and was fantastic! Thanks again to Jose and his team, we can't wait to return!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelAddict15222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

I consider that we were very fortunate to have chosen to begin our Costa Rican vacation by spending three nights with José and his staff at the Monteverde Rustic Lodge! They were wonderfully accommodating and helped us choose and plan our time there by providing expert tips on local attractions and then booking them for us. The attractions picked up us and delivered us right at the Lodge door so we never had to worry about finding our way.

The Rustic Lodge is a very short walk from the town where there is plenty of good food and souvenir shopping to be had! Breakfast was delicious and always served with a smile! Don't forget to ask José for his special..."Chicken Caviar"!

We were missing our pets so the friendly Beagle from next door and José's two rescue cats made our stay just that much more enjoyable.

José, Eduardo and the rest of the staff quickly worked very hard to ensure that we knew that the Rustic Lodge was 'our home away from home'! I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the region and I highly recommend that you stay here as well!

Room Tip: They are all nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TSOTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights while in Monteverde. Staff was very helpful in getting us organised on tours/excursions and the lodge itself was peaceful. We had a large room and the location was good - walking distance into the main town and only a couple minutes from Sabor Tico (delicious local food!). Based on stories I've heard from others staying elsewhere in Monteverde- this was the best decision we made!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tanjay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Rustic Lodge. It is much nicer than appears from the pictures. It is a short walk from the downtown area (5 + mins downhill & a 10 + min steep walk uphill to return) but we saw that as a positive as you avoid the hustle of downtown. The grounds are very peaceful w/ beautiful gardens. The walls are thin or maybe just bad acoustics as you can hear your neighbors but this did not cause us any problems as days are so full that everyone goes to bed early. We did not have any problems with the WiFi. Breakfasts included tasty fresh fruit and seems to rotate between cooked to order eggs and pancakes. We had already booked our outings but this was not necessary as they could have done so for us. A favorite (& reasonably priced) nearby restaurant is Sabor Tico (the sea bass was wonderful).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dablakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.5 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.5 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
310 reviews
0.9 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#2 of 20 in Monteverde
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
285 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
762 reviews
0.8 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Rustic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $104 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Santa Elena, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing