We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,163)
Filter reviews
1,163 results
Traveller rating
873
247
38
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
873
247
38
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pancakes sabor tico costa rica the owner wooden furniture fruit soccer field great place to stay every morning cloud forest breakfast was delicious la fortuna downtown santa elena thin walls night hike stayed here for two nights booking tours
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,163 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

What an amazing place, and innkeeper.

Jose is like a brother I never knew I had. He embodies the spirit of Monteverde. Make the Rustic Inn your home base for all of your adventures in Monteverde.
If you like peaceful walks, adventure, or something in between, Jose will point you in the right direction.
The breakfast is included in the rate and was fantastic! Thanks again to Jose and his team, we can't wait to return!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelAddict15222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

I consider that we were very fortunate to have chosen to begin our Costa Rican vacation by spending three nights with José and his staff at the Monteverde Rustic Lodge! They were wonderfully accommodating and helped us choose and plan our time there by providing expert tips on local attractions and then booking them for us. The attractions picked up us and delivered us right at the Lodge door so we never had to worry about finding our way.

The Rustic Lodge is a very short walk from the town where there is plenty of good food and souvenir shopping to be had! Breakfast was delicious and always served with a smile! Don't forget to ask José for his special..."Chicken Caviar"!

We were missing our pets so the friendly Beagle from next door and José's two rescue cats made our stay just that much more enjoyable.

José, Eduardo and the rest of the staff quickly worked very hard to ensure that we knew that the Rustic Lodge was 'our home away from home'! I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the region and I highly recommend that you stay here as well!

Room Tip: They are all nice rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TSOTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights while in Monteverde. Staff was very helpful in getting us organised on tours/excursions and the lodge itself was peaceful. We had a large room and the location was good - walking distance into the main town and only a couple minutes from Sabor Tico (delicious local food!). Based on stories I've heard from others staying elsewhere in Monteverde- this was the best decision we made!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank tanjay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We enjoyed our stay at the Rustic Lodge. It is much nicer than appears from the pictures. It is a short walk from the downtown area (5 + mins downhill & a 10 + min steep walk uphill to return) but we saw that as a positive as you avoid the hustle of downtown. The grounds are very peaceful w/ beautiful gardens. The walls are thin or maybe just bad acoustics as you can hear your neighbors but this did not cause us any problems as days are so full that everyone goes to bed early. We did not have any problems with the WiFi. Breakfasts included tasty fresh fruit and seems to rotate between cooked to order eggs and pancakes. We had already booked our outings but this was not necessary as they could have done so for us. A favorite (& reasonably priced) nearby restaurant is Sabor Tico (the sea bass was wonderful).

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dablakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We were doing some roaming around and rolled into town after spending time in La Fortuna. Santa Elena had a great cozy town feel to it. We visited a motel that we were thankful we passed up, because we stumbled onto the Rustic Lodge for the night. We had coffee with Ernesto. We got a good rate in a really nice room with a fantastic shower. We booked a night hike and they came to pick us up. The owner's are two very kind brothers. Don't forget to say hi to Misu, the adorable twin kitties that are around.

The location was walkable to town - maybe 5 minutes. I would recommend this place to anybody! We had delicious fruit, eggs, and toast for breakfast.

Remember to keep the screen closed or bugs will come in towards the light.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are good! The hotel had a nice personal rustic décor that was lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mcktex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews