We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveller rating
235
267
212
81
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
267
212
81
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub swim up bar covered pool costa rica eco friendly hotel metal roof grocery store hanging bridges enjoyed our stay welcome drink cloud forest in town restaurant staff no air conditioning small hotel frog pond small town
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 831 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The property was in a good location, close to everything and well maintained, except the hot tub was unavailable due to repairs. The room was overpriced due to spring break, usually it is a reasonable value. Other properties in the area are more elegant and grander, this is a small quiet place with garden views and a good daily breakfast included. It was clean, with a lovely garden bathroom, the exception was a large neon green long shag rug on the floor in front of the bed which God knows what has been on that rug (impossible to clean well) it smelled like a smelly locker room, I felt it was unsanitary and tried to roll it up and not step on it. Patio area was nice, but in need of a little TLC gardening.

Room Tip: we had the villa room facing the patio, it was quite spacious, with three beds, a lovely garden bathroom and beautiful views, it was worth the upgrade. Room had a safe and mini fridge, which was nice we picked up supplies at the local grocery; fruit, beer, snacks. Most excursions pick up right from this hotel; however we did not use since we had a car.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank adfrank2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Mr/ Mrs Adfrank. Thank you very much for your review, Thank you for your patience and for understanding we had some reparis to do around the hot tub, right now is fully funtional and ready for our guests. We try our best to be the best option for the rate we offer. In terms of ammenities we feature some of the most varied and nicer from Monteverde. we are a small property, our pool was the first pool on Monteverde, its covered and heated, jacuzzi is very nice and fits around 12 people, we have a brand new sun deck, We offer 4 rooms with air conditionig, ( the first 4 rooms in Monteverde ) we have minifridges in some of our rooms and we have been working on a series of improvements around the restaurant, Bromelia rooms, parking lot, walk ways and more..

We cater for the satisfaction of our guests and will try our best to accomplish that. Monteverde offers lots of very special features: the Cloud Forest is one of the most unique ecosystems in the world, the conservation and sustainability efforts in Monteverde are renowned as pioneer in Costa Rica. There are activities of all sorts, all of them professionally operated, accessible, safe and each provides amazing opportunities to explore, enjoy and experience the Cloud Forest.
Hotel Poco a Poco offers a great lodging option for travelers looking to get the most of their time spent in Monteverde, we are strategically located, just 3 blocks away from down town Santa Elena, the center of town offers lots of colorful attractions: cafés, restaurants, gift shops, minimarkets, ice cream parlors, local salons, live music, and much more. Our guests can enjoy of restaurant, great food, local recipes, Costa Rican cuisine, live music regularly, or they can just go across the street and find stores, supermarket, and a few choices of food.
After a nice day of activities, Hotel Poco a Poco offers a very nice spa for massages, wraps and exfoliations, a very nice way to recover and cleanse your senses. Our garden, open areas and rest spaces offer good opportunities to enjoy a sunset, to see the clouds and mist rise up the hills, or enjoy a cool afternoon downpour.
Our facilities are modern and comfortable, even though our rooms are small, they are very well equipped, wifi is available throughout the property, king size beds are available and we have a special category of garden rooms, one for couples and one for families, they feature air conditioning ( we have the first four rooms with A/C in Monteverde ) mini fridges and are very spacious and well displayed.
We always get compliments about our service, Front desk personnel, our waiters and everybody involved in guest service is outgoing, helpful and willing to provide the best service possible. We thank you for your comments.
Thanks again for staying with us and thank you for choosing Monteverde as one of your stops in Costa Rica.
Best regards and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Loved the hotel and the services. The location is perfect. Easy walk to city center. Breakfast is included and it was great. We only stayed one night in Garden Family # 17 and wish we could have stayed more!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Mrs Anita, greetings and thank you for your comments. We hope there´ll be a second chance for you to come and stay for a couple of days, one night isnt enough.
Room 17 is one of our nicest and it offers air conditioning, large space, with one king bed, one queen and one single, very nice shower and mini fridge, we higly recommed this room. We hope your review will be helpful to other readers and we encourage them to contact us if they need to make a special request or if they have any hesitation about our property.
We cater for the satisfaction of our guests and will try our best to accomplish that. Monteverde offers lots of very special features: the Cloud Forest is one of the most unique ecosystems in the world, the conservation and sustainability efforts in Monteverde are renowned as pioneer in Costa Rica. There are activities of all sorts, all of them professionally operated, accessible, safe and each provides amazing opportunities to explore, enjoy and experience the Cloud Forest.
Hotel Poco a Poco offers a great lodging option for travelers looking to get the most of their time spent in Monteverde, we are strategically located, just 3 blocks away from down town Santa Elena, the center of town offers lots of colorful attractions: cafés, restaurants, gift shops, minimarkets, ice cream parlors, local salons, live music, and much more. Our guests can enjoy of restaurant, great food, local recipes, Costa Rican cuisine, live music regularly, or they can just go across the street and find stores, supermarket, and a few choices of food.
After a nice day of activities, Hotel Poco a Poco offers a very nice heated, covered pool, a hot tub, spa for massages, wraps and exfoliations, a very nice way to recover and cleanse your senses. Our garden, open areas and rest spaces offer good opportunities to enjoy a sunset, to see the clouds and mist rise up the hills, or enjoy a cool afternoon downpour.
Our facilities are modern and comfortable, even though our rooms are small, they are very well equipped, wifi is available throughout the property, king size beds are available and we have a special category of garden rooms, one for couples and one for families, they feature air conditioning ( we have the first four rooms with A/C in Monteverde ) mini fridges and are very spacious and well displayed.
We always get compliments about our service, Front desk personnel, our waiters and everybody involved in guest service is outgoing, helpful and willing to provide the best service possible. We thank you for your comments.
Thanks again for staying with us and thank you for choosing Monteverde as one of your stops in Costa Rica.
Best regards and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

While the rooms are very small, you aren’t really paying for the room here. You are paying quite a reasonable rate for amazing grounds, a fun pool, a lovely spa and incredible food. The breakfast that was included was fantastic and the restaurant was delicious. That said, the rooms could use some hooks or something to make storing luggage and clothes easier.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank rdarr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Mrs D. Thank you very much for your review and coments. We have 36 rooms and have remodelled a lot of them, actually: we have two deluxe rooms: one for a family and one for couples travelling on their honey moon, aniversary, or special ocassion. they feauture: a/c. mini fridge, big showers, one has a private jacuzzi and more.. we also have two more rooms with a/c, please feel free to request one od these when you book a Quetzal room... Our food is very good, the pool is very nice, its heated, we have a brand new sun deck by the pool,, great for sunny mornings.. the breakfast is included: a la carte.. 5 options, great flavor and good selection..
We are going to work on all the rooms during this green season, I´m sure rooms will be more comfortable and better arranged for next high season.. Thank you for your support and comments!!!
happy travels!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

On first sight this hotels common areas are wonderful, an amazing view down to the valley below. However major building works we’re going on around the pool, with welding, banging and grinders making quite a noise during most of the day. The works were to build a new deck around the pool and hot tub I think and although the works were partially curtained off it effectively loses off most of the pool and as the workmen were welding within a couple of feet of the spa it wasn’t conducive to a relax in the spa bath.
Our room was on the top floor and with no lift it was a hard task getting suitcases up to the room. Once in the room there was nowhere to sit other than on the bed. On the first night we had no hot water and despite the wonderful views from the communal areas all we had a view of was the car park. It was also very noisy as we were closest to the road with heavy lorries grinding through the gears as they wound their way up the hill outside.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 192nickg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Mr. Nick.
Thank you for your comments, I´m very sorry you did not get what you expected from our hotel, we have been doing small remodellings: covered walkways, decks, gardening, sun deck and hot tub.. we mean to offer our guests the best and nicest facilities. I totally understand how this may intefere with your time to enjoy the common areas, we never start before 8:30 am, and we finish at 3.pm, to be honest: the mayority of our guests will leave the hotel after breakfast and come back at 3:30 pm, after they daily tours.. Despite the noise, we are trying the hardest no to interfere...
We do offer luggage asistence specially to the upper floors, at Front desk they must offer you assistance from our bell boys, if this didn´t happen I sincerely appologize and will personaly review the procedure with the front desk personnel.
We clearly were not abble to acomplish the level of satisfaction you desired.. Please recieve our sincere appologies. I wish we could have done something while you were at the hotel, to compensate in which ever way possible...
Thank you and we are working to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. There was a little confusion with my reservation, so we were given a room on the top floor. The wind was absolutely brutal and made sleeping difficult. The bed was comfortable and the room clean, but very dark. A bedside table lamp would be much appreciated. Breakfast was okay and included in the room price. Happy hour was offered each day. We ate dinner the first night in the restaurant, but found better dining at other restaurants. The location is excellent for walking to the center of Santa Elena even though the hill back is quite steep. The staff was very nice and friendly. Poco a Poco is an adequate hotel, but if we were to stay there again we would ask for a lower floor sheltered from the terrible wind.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wyndham429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Dear Mrs.Wyndham. we wish to thank you for your comments.
I´m very sorry to read you didn´t get a good rest. We even try harder when guests are staying for more than 2 nights, we meant well when we assigned you on an upper floor room, I´d wish you had say something during your stay, we could have swicthed your room for a more isolated one..
We cater for the satisfaction of our guests and will try our best to accomplish that. Monteverde offers lots of very special features: the Cloud Forest is one of the most unique ecosystems in the world, the conservation and sustainability efforts in Monteverde are renowned as pioneer in Costa Rica. There are activities of all sorts, all of them professionally operated, accessible, safe and each provides amazing opportunities to explore, enjoy and experience the Cloud Forest.
Hotel Poco a Poco offers a great lodging option for travelers looking to get the most of their time spent in Monteverde, we are strategically located, just 3 blocks away from down town Santa Elena, the center of town offers lots of colorful attractions: cafés, restaurants, gift shops, minimarkets, ice cream parlors, local salons, live music, and much more. Our guests can enjoy of restaurant, great food, local recipes, Costa Rican cuisine, live music regularly, or they can just go across the street and find stores, supermarket, and a few choices of food.
After a nice day of activities, Hotel Poco a Poco offers a very nice heated, covered pool, a hot tub, spa for massages, wraps and exfoliations, a very nice way to recover and cleanse your senses. Our garden, open areas and rest spaces offer good opportunities to enjoy a sunset, to see the clouds and mist rise up the hills, or enjoy a cool afternoon downpour.
Our facilities are modern and comfortable, even though our rooms are small, they are very well equipped, wifi is available throughout the property, king size beds are available and we have a special category of garden rooms, one for couples and one for families, they feature air conditioning ( we have the first four rooms with A/C in Monteverde ) mini fridges and are very spacious and well displayed.
We always get compliments about our service, Front desk personnel, our waiters and everybody involved in guest service is outgoing, helpful and willing to provide the best service possible. We thank you for your comments.
Thanks again for staying with us and thank you for choosing Monteverde as one of your stops in Costa Rica.
Best regards and happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews