We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splurge for the "Big House"!”
Review of Arco Iris Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arco Iris Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2006

What a wonderful place - both the area and the hotel! This was our third stop in Costa Rica and we really didn't know what to expect. We knew we wanted to try the canopy tour here, but weren't sure what else we were going to do.

We booked the "Big House" for our family of 5 and it was awesome! We had two large bedrooms, a full kitchen with living area and a spectacular bathroom with rain shower. The front deck overlooked a barn with a three horses; we had the pleasure of watching then being trained one day and they actually dance! The $140/night was easily offset with the fact that we ate breakfast and 2 dinners at the house rather than at a restaurant. The location can't be beat - you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere, but it's only a 2 minute walk into the center of Santa Elena (which has a very comprehensive supermarket, by the way).

Monteverde is a beautiful mountainous region know for its coffee plantations and dairy farms. Don't miss the tour of La Lecheria - the largest cheese factory in Costa Rica. It was fascinating and a lot of fun, even for our kids. One of the best restaurants we ate in was also in Santa Elena - try Sofias for a very special night out. There are plenty of tours and activities available, but it is also a great place to just hang out and relax. I look forward to going back some day and will definitely plan to stay at the Arco Iris!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianInUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 538 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2006

Monteverde is a must for anyone going to Costa Rica. The cloud forest is a unique place. Arco iris is a quaint well positioned place and the staff are very helpful at sorting out tours etc. It was a bit pricey for what you got but it was well located and clean. As with most hotels in Monteverde it didn't have air con (don't really need it) or a fan (don't really need it either) but it didn't have screens on the windows (most hotels don't) but I am unable to take malaria pills so my main prevention was bite avoidence. We solved this throughout our stay by bringing our own mosquito net and screen which we taped around an open window and that worked really well. If you are going to do the morning hike at Monteverde reserve have the ladies at Arco iris arrange it with one of the park guides the day before. We had a great time with a small group and saw a lot of animals. Some of the other people that just showed up that morning got put in a large group and didn't see as much. Also go on some night hikes Silvestre and FINCA ECOLOGICA are good places for night hikes as lot of the rangers from the Reserves lead these night hikes when they finish work at the Reserves for the day. Arco Iris can arrange these for you as well. Also do the Sky Trek - it's a lot of fun. Tip here: walk the bridges first and then do the zip lines second. It will give you a better appreciation for what you are 'zipping' past . The tree house has good food. Getting there: We did the car - boat - horse (and then car but they don't tell you that) to get there from La Fortuna and I recommend that as it's less time in the car and it's a nice easy ride even if you haven't ridden in years like me! Do check which company you are going through with the horses some really work those animals to death or use ropes as bridles which cut into the poor animal's face. We were shocked as we booked through Sunset tours which we had a great time with and had responsible guides on our Arenal tours but when we got to the horses (which was a different company but in association with Sunset) the horses were knackered. Also we took a local tourist bus company for our transfer to Nicoya and the bus broke down 40 minutes outside of Monteverde and we had to wait almost 3 hours for a replacement. It was the same price as Greyline but you may be better off sticking with Greyline as they have a bigger fleet.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank jeero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2006

A really friendly and helpful place to stay just a few hundred metres from the shops and restaurants.

Cabins are clean and comfy, and breakfast is good value.

They can organise all the trips you might want to do for you.

On reflection, 2 full days is more than enough in Manuel Antonio.

It rains a lot in Monteverde but we had no problems with mozzies - wear layers, a poncho and take your sense of humour!

One word of warning - if doing the jeep/boat/jeep to Arenal, the Monteverde side of the lake is a walk of a few hundred metres from the boat to the jeep, across the shore of the lake. If its raining, this is slippery and you will get soaked through - so be prepared!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MartyMcFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2006

Stayed for one night in June 2006 in Cabin #2. The wooden cabin was small but very clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and very helpful. There were a couple of problems with the cabin, the front door did not lock completely and there was some loose roofing that banged in th night with the wind. Quiet location close to town.

We paid $50 including tax.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank green_stripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2006

Stayed: May 2006
4  Thank josh l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.0 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
260 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
1.0 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.9 km away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
501 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Trapp Family
Hotel Trapp Family
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Santa Elena

Been to Arco Iris Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arco Iris Lodge

Address: Santa Elena de Monteverde, Santa Elena 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Santa Elena
Price Range: $57 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arco Iris Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arco Iris Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arco Iris Hotel Santa Elena
Arco Iris Lodge Santa Elena, Monteverde, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing