We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
487
194
37
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
194
37
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town cloud forest honeymoon suite breakfast buffet costa rica fruit trees eggs made to order orchid cafe monteverde area superior room reception area private guide white faced monkeys living area guided tour bunk beds restaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Great, little clean place of excellent value. It is right in town and very close to everything. We felt safe and more secure here than we may have at some of the other places in town. They offer a great buffet style breakfast for a good value. The staff is friendly and will help organize activities for you. Monteverde is only a ten minute drive away. Just don't ask them to arrange a zip line tour with Sky Trek! They really push the Selvatura company there for some reason. Just watch out, if you leave your door open to long, the resident cat may pay you a surprise visit.
Gina & Sean, Pittsburgh, PA

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coffeeberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

A friend of mine and I booked the cabin with bunkbeds for $40, which I think is the cheapest option there. While the room was very small, it was well arranged and we didn't feel too cramped. The room was immaculate and had tasteful decor with lots of wood, giving it an elegant jungle lodge feel. We had a nice little balcony in front of the cabin and it looked out over a jungle area. There were a lot of nice touches that you ordinarily wouldn't see in a hotel at this price point.

Location was great: a little set back from the main road so it was quiet and relaxing, but still in town and close to a lot of stuff.

The staff was extremely professional and friendly and was able to give useful recommendations and book a number of activities as well as transportation for us.

The breakfast was the best we had in Costa Rica and was actually worth the $7 it cost (which was the most expensive breakfast we had in Costa Rica as well).

Overall, it had the feel of a high end hotel for a very reasonable price.

Our only complaints, both of which were minor were 1) According to my travel companion, the ladder to the top bunk was a bit difficult to get down since it didn't have any handholds above the top of the bunk, but was manageable and 2) there was no light switch on our balcony light so it was constantly on, and it would have shined in the room a little if we hadn't covered it up with duct tape.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We just got back from a vacation to Costa Rica. Arco Iris was not the fanciest hotel we stayed at, but it was definitely our favorite. The staff was extremely welcoming when we arrived and helpful throughout. The cabins are simple, but extremely comfortable and functional. We had a cabin with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a sitting area. One bedroom had a Queen bed, the other had a single and a double - perfect for a family of 4 with kids aged 12 and 14. The sitting area had a comfortable futon sofa, television, and mini-fridge as well. The location is great, right in the heart of Santa Elena with multiple restaurants within walking distance, but the hotel is about 50 m up a fairly steep driveway, above the bank, and when you are at the hotel, it is peaceful, quiet, and comfortable. The breakfast is good, and many of the ingredients are produced on site. Free Wifi available in the lobby, but we could usually get signal on the front porch of our cabin. Overall, great service, great location, comfortable accommodations, very good value.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

This cluster of cabins is a block from the center of town, and you would never know it. Once you pull in, it feels like you are away from it all. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We had a two bedroom cabin and it was perfect for us. The grounds were pretty and most mornings we were greeted by monkeys as we went to breakfast!! The price and the location make this a great choice when in Monteverde.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMKKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at Arco Iris lodge toward the end of our Costa Rica trip. The lodge itself is a good choice because while it is located in Santa Elena it is tucked back into a quiet area. The cabins are clean and comfortable. The grounds are well maintained and we saw several bird species as well as a sloth right on the property. The price is also very reasonable. Mary Ann in guest services was helpful in explaining the town and possible trips. On our request, they arranged for a bird guide (Adrian) who was fabulous and although slated for 3 hours of birding took us for 8 hours!! We saw 40 species that day. Two points of consideration: (1) if you are a serious birder- this place does not offer breakfast or coffee any earlier than 6:30am which is a real disappointment as most birders need to headed out by 6am. Our guide was gracious enough to stop for coffee and breakfast after a few hours of birding. The staff will not accommodate earlier coffee. The nearby bakery is definately not worth the stop!. (2) While Mary Ann was very helpful, other staff, although pleasant, were not as helpful in answering questions. They also arranged tours that we felt were too "touristy" and were told by some in town that this is because they get kickbacks from these companies. If you arrange tours in advance don't hesitate to cancel if it looks too commercial or touristy. If you are a birder- ask for Adrian and go to Santa Elena. Also go to Monteverde and hire a guide (small groups 8 people) or a private guide. I would avoid any other arranged groups such as "hidden valley", etc. if you are a serious birder. I would stay at Arco Iris again. I would just be mindful of the breakfast/coffee issue.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmeraldCityTraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews