We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms breakfast OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monteverde Country Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Reviewed 27 November 2017

This is a nice hotel for visiting Monteverde, the staff are very helpful. We found the breakfast not as good as we had experienced at other Hotels in Costa Rica but this was reflected in the price of the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Dear Mr A. Thank you very much for your review. Thank you for your comments and for recommending Monteverde Country Lodge to others. Your feedback will allow us to improve, correct and supervise the standard of service and to achieve excellence. Our breakfast is very good, sometimes due to our high occupancy, we have small issues with refills or similar, yet, we offer: rice and beans, eggs, toasts regular and wholegrain, fruits, yogurt, cheese, plantains, coffee, tea, oj.
We try our best to provide the best service, best experience and to show the old fashioned - Mountain style of hotels from the classic Monteverde. We do recommend our guests to book Superior rooms, not that Classic rooms are bad, they are just more basic.
Other hotel amenities, open grounds, corridors, balconies, playground and Costa Rican Style restaurant are excellent ways to enjoy your stay even more.
Our location, close to town yet, on a more quiet, relaxed area, allows to enjoy the town life, night life, tours, dining, shopping, and more, several choices of food, attractions and natural areas are very close by.
Our sister property, Hotel Poco a Poco, offer guests the chance to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, spa and restaurant!!
Monteverde Country Lodge is indeed the best value hotel within its range!!!
Thank you and happy travels!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Quite a nice place this hotel lies in. Santa Elena is beautiful. Rooms were clean, beds were fine, shower was working excellently.

However, one thing ruined the experience for us. On our last day of visit we took a morning walk. We forgot the room keys at the side table in our room. When we came back the keys were not on the table anymore, nor could we find them anywhere else in the room. We searched the entire room and found nothing. We then told the receptionist that our key was missing and that one of the employees probably took it with them while cleaning the room. She told us that she would ask if any of them had our keys.
When we checked out they told us that they did not have our keys and so we had to pay a 15 dollar fine. I am 100% sure that we left the keys in our room, at the table. Since our door was closed no one else could have entered the room in the meantime. I didn't feel like this lodge was being fair to us.

Would not recommend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Zoë T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Mrs Zöe T. We are very sorry for what happened, I wish to thank you for being ethical about your review, we really appreciate your good remarks. I´m very sorry your experience was ruined at the end. I wish I´d been around at the moment, US$ 15,00 is not a reason for having such a misunderstanding.
Please let me tell you we do have a strict policy about missing keys, missing tv remotes, missing umbrellas, missing pool towels and so. It’s not about you specifically, nevertheless there have been several times when we have replaced missing objects due to guests who have mistakenly loss them. (so they said) I´m very sorry but we do not wish to increase rates just because we want to compensate for replacing missing amenities. ( our keys are not regular ones, and they are very expensive for us ) We have been forced to come up with such policies since every year our profit ranges decrease, due to harsh competition and more price sensitive markets… Thank you again for your comments, for all your compliments and for letting us know it only takes one detail to ruin a whole experience.
Come back again sometime, I´ll give you a US$ 15 credit and we´ll see from there.., Gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

This lodge prides itself on being eco friendly. The rooms are set out in a motel style and the partition walls are rather thin. Spacious rooms with large shower. There are a couple of restaurants close by within easy walking distance and also two small supermarkets. The hotel is on the road out of Santa Elena and is quite a steep hill to walk back up from town. Great breakfast, buffet style with plenty of fruit. Easy to operate safe is provided in each room.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rogerw109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you for your comments and for recommending Monteverde Country Lodge to others, we are indeed very proud of our efforts in terms of sustainable operation, we have a very good rating on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. CST.
Your feedback will allow us to improve, correct and supervise the standard of service and to achieve excellence. We do not offer connecting rooms, yet, adjoining rooms are available upon request.
We try our best to provide the best service, best experience and to show the old fashioned - Mountain style of hotels from the classic Monteverde. We do recommend our guests to book Superior rooms, not that Classic rooms are bad, they are just more basic.
Other hotel amenities, open grounds, corridors, balconies, playground and Costa Rican Style restaurant are excellent ways to enjoy your stay even more.
Our location, close to town yet, on a more quiet, relaxed area, allows to enjoy the town life, night life, tours, dining, shopping, and more, several choices of food, attractions and natural areas are very close by.
Our sister property, Hotel Poco a Poco, offer guests the chance to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, spa and restaurant!!
Monteverde Country Lodge is indeed the best value hotel within its range!!!
Thank you and happy travels!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a G Adventures Tour. Very comfortable hotel with a big shower in the bathroom. The walls are rather thin though, so you could hear people in the connecting rooms. Great breakfast buffet with plenty of choice and very good coffee. Also had a very tasty dinner here. Staff super friendly! Not too far from the town, we walked in and caught a taxi back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supersaint76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Mr. Mrs. Saint76. Thank you very much for your comments, we really appreciate you took the time to let others know about your good experience here at Monteverde Country Lodge, we try our best to deliver the best service possible. Everybody is willing to make their best effort. We have a very nice breakfast and our restaurant features Costa Rican recipes, at excellent prices.
We truly believe we have a very nice, tasty and varied enough breakfast. Thank you for your comments, we have gotten a few negative reviews about our breakfast and do not really understand why.
Thank you for letting other readers know about our rooms, ( SUPERIOR ) and about the quality for the stay at Monteverde Country Lodge.
Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

We found this at the last minute and got two rooms for a family with small children. The rooms do not share a connection but they are very spacious, comfortable, clean and very well appointed. The staff are very helpful, and breakfast was very good. The had a laundry service to wash, dry and fold everything in a given bag for $15 which was very useful. The hotel has a theme of being very eco friendly. There are large gardens thru the property for the children to run around.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank azvisitor2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Mr/Mrs 2011. Thank you for your comments and for recommending Monteverde Country Lodge to others. Your feedback will allow us to improve, correct and supervise the standard of service and to achieve excellence. We do not offer connecting rooms, yet, adjoining rooms are available upon request.
We try our best to provide the best service, best experience and to show the old fashioned - Mountain style of hotels from the classic Monteverde. We do recommend our guests to book Superior rooms, not that Classic rooms are bad, they are just more basic.
Other hotel amenities, open grounds, corridors, balconies, playground and Costa Rican Style restaurant are excellent ways to enjoy your stay even more.
Our location, close to town yet, on a more quiet, relaxed area, allows to enjoy the town life, night life, tours, dining, shopping, and more, several choices of food, attractions and natural areas are very close by.
Our sister property, Hotel Poco a Poco, offer guests the chance to enjoy the pool, jacuzzi, spa and restaurant!!
Monteverde Country Lodge is indeed the best value hotel within its range!!!
Thank you and happy travels!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.4 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
291 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
746 reviews
0.5 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
279 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#17 of 20 in Monteverde
141 reviews
1.3 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monteverde Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monteverde Country Lodge

Address: 3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Santa Elena
Price Range: $86 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco's fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980's. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 Wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room's amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest's enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Monteverde Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Country Lodge Santa Elena, Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing