We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
13
6
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
6
6
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Awesome Guy! Sweetest person in CR! Freddy was awesome went into monte verde wanting and hoping to see a sloth! we asked around, and everyone said that there was no luck! But Freddy didn't need luck! He had SKILL! :) We told him we were dyeing to see sloths and had already scheduled a bird seeing tour with him the next morning, but that night, without us asking or anything he found us a sloth!!! right there minutes away from our hotel! That wasnt even included in our tour but Freddy went out of his way to find a sloth for my little brother. and it made all the difference! Freddy is AWESOME! I recommend eveyone to stay with him and go on his bird seeing tour! He has an eye for those birds! he can spot them miles away!

Room Tip: The top story has a great view of the sunrise and sunset!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claryssa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights at La Puesta del Sol and it was a very nice experience. The owners, Freddy and Juanita are very nice and attentive people and we felt very much welcomed with them (and their daughters too!). They are locals, so they really know the area and we could learn a lot about how life is in town. Our room was very spacious and super clean, and since the hotel is slightly outside the town center (5-10 minutes walk) we had very good and quiet sleep nights. This is something we were very grateful for, after spending our days walking, trekking and doing different activities. The wildlife tour with Freddy was just amazing! We were only 3 people and he took us to three different off-the-grid areas to spot sloths and different birds as toucans, toucanets, quetzals and bell birds... These places are only known by locals, so we got to see far more animals than with any other tour!! Thanks Freddy and Juanita for those 3 great days....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovingHutValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My sister and I stayed at Freddy's La Puesta Del Sol during the holidays in 2012 and definitely recommend it. This was - thankfully - not in the center of Santa Elena where our first hotel was located. This was slightly outside of the town center which made for a much quieter night sleep! It was only a 10 minute walk into the very center of town anyway, so the location was just right. We had a 1st floor room with 2 twin beds and one double, our own shower and bath - it was very comfortable and super clean. The best part about the stay was Freddy's wildlife tour! He is from Santa Elena, knows EVERYONE in town, and not only took us out for a 5AM birding+ tour of the area, but got up and made us breakfast in his kitchen too! We saw FAR MORE birds and wildlife with Freddy than we did with the guides in the Monteverde Cloud Forest - in part because he knows the special areas around that are not heavily frequented by tourists, and which are owned and accessed by local people instead. We definitely recommend this hotel and Freddy's tour!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We recently spent three nights at Freddie and Juanita's hotel. They were most attentive to any of our needs or concerns and made us feel right at home. We took Freddie's tour our first morning and were thrilled with his knowledge of the birds and wildlife in the immediate area. A great way to discover some of the sights and sounds of Monteverde.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Although we didn't stay at this hotel we booked a birding tour with Freddy since he was recommended. I went with my boyfriend who is a hardcore birder and he was super exited. Freddy took us on a 4 hour tour where we saw birds, including Toucans and Motmots, and as a bonus we also saw a sloth and one aguti. He definitely knows his birds and you can see the love and passion that he has for it. Needles to say we were super happy we booked his tour and had a chance to ride in his awesome blue jeep.Pura Vida!

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank chabela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews