We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beachfront hotel, beatifuly furnished rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tambor Tropical Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Spacey beautifully furnished and ample rooms, all wood with a kitchenette/bar, quality kitchen equipment, ample bathroom

Nice gardens, lots of birds and squirrels. Monkeys in the nearby woods with birding trails.

Excellent service and restaurant. Included breakfast is not american style nor buffet, but plenty enough with fruits, cereals, yogurt, juice, coffee and homemade bread.

One odd thing is that service vehicles cross straight through the gardens instead of using a back road.

Good silence rules and fast wifi.

Property is in front of the beach and has a river close where you can kayak on high tide.

A little toward the expensive side at USD 200 a night

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have better view but are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Oreste G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Thank you so much for your review, it's wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to a return visit in the near future. Pura Vida!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2017

Tambor Tropical Hotel at the NICOYA Peninsula,
Best Hotel & Restaurant, located among a unique Tropical Ambient” -
Tambor Tropical Hotel, is definitely a Tropical Jewel destination -
Natural protected by mangrove and coconuts palms, it seats at front of Tambor bay Beach. Once you're there, the place discovers it self, like a majestic Tropical Island.
Great accommodation's, great ocean and surf view and overall a great cuisine/drinks menu.
The food can be describe as simple but, majestic delicious. Among some incredible meals that we ordered, I remembered the Mark's Famous Shrimp Nachos, definitely addictive!
The restaurant bar service, the overall hospitality and the surrounds natural views were all there, like a musical marimba, enchanting the senses.
We definitely recommend stopping by and pamper yourself with a Costa Rica Tropical experience.
The Hotel is conveniently located near the Tambor municipal airport, great sleeping destination or the perfect restaurant stop if you are passing through.
Costa Rica offers a lot of different destination but, Tambor Tropical Hotel & Restaurant stands alone ! Welcome

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review!!! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!!! Gracias y Pura Vida!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

My husband and I enjoyed 8 days at Tambor Tropical, two days on our own and six with a Birding Tour led by the outstanding birder, Nick Hawkins. Some of my amazing experiences include floating in the warm ocean as frigate birds and pelicans flew overhead, being fed delicious healthy meals on the outside patio without being bothered by bugs, being shown where to hike right from the resort with the emphasis on bird-watching, and finally watching recently released scarlet macaws make their new home in the 'wild', with the help of a few nesting boxes around the resort.
The work of the hotel manager, Juan Carlos, a birder in his own right along with other like minded people made for an unique, rich experience in a spot which has highlighted nature. It is ecotourism at its best in a place not overrun with tourists.
As a special mention to Juan Carlos, I will never forget the two large juicy mangoes that were placed in my hands the day after I mentioned that I was looking for mangoes!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have a skylight; lower level rooms are a bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Hola and gracias for your review! What a great description of our resort, bay, trails and birds! Hope you can join us again in one of our birding tours for 2018. Again, thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Loved, loved, loved our stay at Tambor Tropical. This is a small resort ( the best type ) that is very quiet, relaxed and offers beach and jungle views. We had the top floor of our villa and I would recommend it if you want views of the beach and waves. The room was quite spacious and did have a kitchenette, which we did not utilize. The restaurant at the resort is second to none and we ate most of our meals there. Try the shrimp nachos ! Yum. Juan Carlos, the manager of the property, has a fantastic staff working for him all make you feel welcome. We loved all the scarlet macaws that nest and fly over the property. The nature trail at the back of the property is very nice and we enjoyed it. I can't think of a thing we didn't find perfect about this resort other than one detail. They were supposed to pick us up from the airport and no one showed. This left us very confused and finally a taxi driver insisted he drive us so off we went. We did not complain about this and assumed it was a mix up, however, if they aren't there when you land just take the cab. No need to sit in the heat and wonder like we did....
Highly recommend this resort if you are in the area !

Room Tip: Tip floor is best for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, General Manager at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your time with us. Thanks for your tip on the Tambor airport transfer which is complementary for all our guests. In that sense, please when a reservation is made whether directly or through any booking system, please make sure we have your arrival time and local airline information. We apologize for any confusion. Thanks and look forward to your return visit!! Gracias!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

My wife and I stayed at the Tambor Tropical for 6 days and it was amazing! We were on a birding trip run by Nick Hawkins, our young guide who was so knowledgeable about the birds and the local ecosystem. The birding trip is highly recommended and includes some wonderful half-day trips or day trips to Raptor Ridge at Larry and Ruth’s place ( the highlight of our trip), the river trail and local nature preserves. The biodiversity of Costa Rica is truly amazing!

We loved the view from the hotel which is right on the beach, the rooms are beautiful and all buildings are constructed of local wood. Other highlights were the great food at the outdoor restaurant, the pool…and the friendly staff. Juan Carlos, the hotel manager was always making sure we were well taken care of…and he is also an avid bird-watcher and came out with us on some days.

Tambor is a quiet place, off the beaten track, so not many tourists and the beach is not busy.

We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CruiserII, Director General at Tambor Tropical Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2017

Muchas gracias! Definitely our birding trips are awesome and we enjoy it as much as our guests do. We look forward to your return visit so we can go on other birding adventures and amazing undiscovered locations. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tambor
3.6 km away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.9 km away
Vista Hermosa Boutique Bed & Breakfast
40 km away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
Hotel Tropico Latino
Hotel Tropico Latino
#2 of 27 in Santa Teresa
588 reviews
17.4 km away
Vista Las Islas Hotel
Vista Las Islas Hotel
#1 of 2 in Paquera
223 reviews
1.5 km away
Barcelo Tambor
Barcelo Tambor
#2 of 6 in Tambor
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tambor Tropical Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tambor Tropical Beach Resort

Address: | 100m East and 75m North from local public school, on beachfront, Tambor 60111, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Tambor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tambor
Price Range: $294 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tambor Tropical Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tambor Tropical is an intimate boutique beach resort on Costa Rica's beautiful Nicoya Peninsula. Nestled on the on the bay, our resort offers guests a private and luxurious vacation in the less traveled Playa Tambor. Relax in the comfort of one of our 12 spacious beachfront suites, swim in our gorgeous mosaic-tiled pool, indulge in massage treatments, enjoy the cuisine of our full-service restaurant or explore the nearby jungle via many guided adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tambor Tropical Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambor Tropical Beach Hotel Playa Tambor
Tambor Tropical Playa
Tambor Tropical Hotel Playa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing