We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing”
other travellers have booked this property
The perfect hideaway by the sea,in a 2 acre paradise,overlooking Unawatuna Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The perfect hideaway by the sea,in a 2 acre paradise,overlooking Unawatuna Bay
Your purpose built,modern holiday home above Unawatuna
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
The perfect hideaway by the sea,in a 2 acre paradise,overlooking Unawatuna Bay
Your purpose built,modern holiday home above Unawatuna
Peacocks are frequent visitors....
Super comfy sofa,indoor/outdoor living
Comfortable lounging areas,inside and out
Open plan design,with hand crafted furniture and lovely objets d'art
Huge bathroom,walkin glass shower with view
Gloious private lake,surrounded by ancient trees..birdlife galore
Our big troupe of monkeys likes to drop in for a visit...and some fruit from the trees!
Oodles of beaches nearby to choose from
Panoramic views
Fabulous sunsets from Rock Mountain.
Nesting turtle at nearby Thalpe
Nearby coconut tree swing
Monkeys in our jack trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
pjovantil...
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“amazing”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is the best place, I located in Sri Lanka.
The lady owner is a wonderful person, who does everything to give you a home feeling.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thanks so,Peter...that is a goal of mine with Rock Mountain...that clients can feel "at home"...relaxed...free to do as they like..in a special setting...a pleasure to have you stay...Sultan misses your friendly pats
Hx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
addisdas
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awake to the relaxing sounds of wildlife”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is modernly furnished and kitted out to a very high specification and is positioned high up on the hillside overlooking Unawatuna, but still only a 7 to 8 minute walk down to the beach, through the interesting garden with its natural landscape that comes complete with amazing wildlife (iguanas, monkeys, chameleons, tortoises, bright blue kingfishers and numerous other interesting birds and insects.
Heather was a fantastic help to us throughout arranging tuk tuk collection from Colombo airport to our hotel in Negombo and then a driver to give us a 7 day tour of the cultural and historical sites of Sri Lanka, staying in touch daily to see how we were getting on. And then over and above our warm welcome on our arrival she gave us a tour of the beach areas and restaurants from as far Koggale, Thalpe, Unawatuna and Galle Fort, introducing us to the owners of various establishments where they would provide umbrellas and sun beds as well as lunch and dinners etc.
Heather had also provided the provisions for first days survival, tea, eggs, milk, fruit, and freshly baked bread and pastries etc.
For those interested one way tuk tuk to Unawatuna typically 200 to 250 in the day and 300 to 350 at night.
Would highly recommend this property to couples.
Many thanks for the welcome and all assistance provided would love to visit again, Best wishes to yourself, Deepthi and Sultan
Lots of love from Diane and Neil xxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2017
Thanks so for the wonderful review,Neil and Dianne....it was a real pleasure to help organise your Sri adventure...and to have such enthusiastic and appreciative guests to stay...you are always welcome here
DD,Sultan and Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacquelin...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner Heather with refreshingly cold towels and a friendly hug, a great start and it just got better and better. The villa was amazing beautiful, spotlessly clean, very well equipped and comfortable. The large bed was heaven. Heather provided us with a great selection of goodies upon arrival including the most delicious of fruits and cool drinks. The views from the villa are amazing and the garden is beautiful. Heather is so knowledgeable about the area and showed us around the town. She also took us into Galle to shop jewellery and I had the most amazing time and purchased some very beautiful items at great prices. She even took my partner for a full body massage to her local masseuse and he loved it and came back rejuvenated. She showed us the best restaurants, bars and beaches. We had many visitors to the garden from monkey's, iguanas, peacock and beautiful birds. The villa even has it's own lake. It is very close to Unawatuna if you use the walk through Heather's land. We had an amazing holiday and could not have asked for a better hostess than Heather she made our holiday fantastic, fun filled, relaxed and we cannot thank her enough for her hospitality. It really is a gem of a place and we will definitely be back to visit again. Thank you Heather for everything we will see you again. We arrived as strangers but left as friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thanks so for your wonderful review,dear Jacky....could actually see you and Ian relaxing more,day by day...and when we got him to take a Pathma massage,he was so chilled I couldn't believe it!!!
It was a privilege to host quests as warm,appreciative and generous as you ....welcome back anytime
Hxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbabe...
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 26 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent two weeks at this fabulous property. Where to start? So, great communication with Heather from our initial enquiry through to our arrival. She organised our transfers with the very efficient Susil and was on hand throughout our stay for any questions. She was the perfect host, driving us around on our first day to give us a feel of the area and taking us into Galle to show us around. The house was perfect, amazing views and a great shortcut down to the main road through her land and the adjoining temple land. Housekeeping was done daily with fresh towels every other day, laundry taken daily and beach towels provided. We didn't cook but the kitchen was well equipped with a well stocked fridge on arrival. Heather would coming bearing gifts of delicious local fruits and the very drinkable Lion beer. She organised an overnight trip to Yala for us and had plenty of advice if we had wanted to travel around more. Staying here ensures you are giving something back to the local area as Heather uses the services of local people where she can. We loved the location. Unawatuna beach is excellent, with plenty of good places to eat and drink. Tuk tuks are plentiful for the trip up the hill at the end of the evening. Galle is a short tuk tuk ride away with a great selection of shops and eateries and a fascinating history to explore. There is plenty of wildlife ,with monkeys swinging through the trees and a peacock coming onto the veranda part of an average day.
If you are looking to holiday in this part of Sri Lanka I can recommend Rock Mountain 100%. A fabulous house in an amazing setting we had a brilliant time and would book again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Dear Alison and Peter
Thanks so for your wonderful review...so glad you enjoyed your Rock Mountain experience....as we enjoyed having you to stay....you were always so enthusiastic..so appreciative of anything we did...and so neat and tidy ...which made cleaning a breeze...really loved having you both...thanks also for the lovely gift you left me...come back soon
Heather and Deepthi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adrian353...
Zaziwil, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“heavenly”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

this new built house is located on top of "rock mountain", surrounded by native trees with lots of birds, a great view to unawatuna beach, and there is always a fresh sea-breeze.
the property is very clean, and furnished in a good taste. the very comfortable beds, and most of the furniture is made from recycled coconut timber, made by local craftsmen.

the beach and unawatuna town center you can reach in a easy 10-15min walk over a local path.

if you have any questions, ask the owner of the property, a very nice lady with great travel experience. i'm sure, she can help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: die veranda
Liked least: Strassenzustand der Anfahrt
Travelling group: Freunden
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Thanks for your review,Adrian
Great feedback on Rock Mountain...and I'm pleased the travel itinerary I suggested for you and your friend worked out so well...you were lucky to see the leopards at Yala!!
When I told my builder Jayantha,that you wanted him to make you a copy of our recycled coconut wood beds..he just laughed,and asked how much to post to Switzerland!
You'll just have to visit again,and enjoy more comfy nights here!
Thanks again
Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing