We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect little paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Skinny Beach House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
milkandma...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect little paradise”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I were blessed to stay at Skinny Beach, one of the best experiences during our time together in Sri Lanka.
So beautifully designed: stylish and luxurious, private and spacious. Amazing fully equipped kitchen, plunge pool, huge bedrooms.
Great location overlooking my favourite Wijaya beach, also heaps of places surrounding for tourist and local food.
The stay was only made better by hosts CJ and Sudda and their beautiful family. The team is super knowledgable about places to check out.
Perfect for a couple, family or a few friends- I can guarantee you won't want to leave your perfect little paradise :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you so much for your visit and beautiful words
Come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UdiWickz
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A quirky combination of a homely getaway”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I stayed at Skinny Beach over a long weekend with my wife and a close friend. As the name suggested the structure of the building is skinny but when you enter the villa and wander around you realize, how craftily designed the living spaces are.

It has a lovely ground floor with a living area, kitchenette and outside mini pool with a sitting area, that is lazily gazing at the beaches of Unawatuna, just a jump and a hop away.

There are two rooms upstairs, which are very spacious and air conditioned.

The Skinny Beach is an example of the owners tasteful approach in creating a home away from home. Thanks CJ and Suddha for an amazing stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2016
Thank you for your visit, we look forward to welcoming you back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puki62
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Little paradise”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We were 4 adults renting the villa for 10 days. Check-in and check-out were fast, breakfast included and prepared to perfection.
Close to walking distances to restaurants on the beach
The main BR upstairs that faces the beach is just simply heaven...
Will recommend without hesitation to future travellers

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: right on the beach, little heaven
Liked least: no A/C on the main floor, it can get a bit humid and hot
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2016
Thank you for your visit. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay
We look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kystal E
1 review
“awsome grettway spot!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the skinny beach house for my birthday. I was accompanied by some of my friends, 6 women in total. The venue is absolutely amazing! The doors open right to the ocean when you enter and are greeted with drinks. The bedrooms comfortably fit 3 girls. The view from the upstairs bedroom is immaculate and you wake up every morning to the sound of the ocean. Everyday we were catered with a delicious traditional SrinLLankian breakfast. Overall the owners of the house were outstanding!! Booking airport transferrs was made so easy by them. They really helped my tranquil beach birthday come to life! They had awesome recommendations of where to eat, where to party and where to have a spa day. They both really made the trip come to life. I would highly recommend staying at this location whether your a family looking for some rest and relaxation or a group of people looking to party.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thanks Krystal
It was our pleasure to meet you all and have you celebrate your birthday at Skinny. We look forward to more celebrations in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taryn_hug...
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“INCREDIBLE”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Strolling on this beach, my wife and I noted its perfection, a safe, clear lagoon filled with tropical fish and TURTLES, interesting rocks, off in the distance, powerful waves, sweeping palm trees...everything we could ever want in a beach. And then we came across the SKINNY BEACH HOUSE! I knew I had to try and book this slice of design perfection for our 10th anniversary splurge.
Sudda attended to every detail of comfort.
The outdoor space was shaded, a plunge pool and very comfortable loungers.
Most importantly, the view, we could watch turtle heads surfing threw the waves just before witnessing another magical sunset.
The indoor space was filled with every comfort.
Music, Chargers, kitchen is fully equipped, access to an in house chef, the very best sleep we had in 5 weeks, that bed & bedding, wonderful.
We were nothing short of impressed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2016
Thank you again for your kind words
Come back soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing