We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning setting, great location and incredible...”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool with a view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool with a view
Chilli room 1 View from veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Pool with a view
Chilli room 1
View from veranda
The mighty palm
Pool and rear of villa
Christmas sunset in front of the pool
Unawatuna festival seen from the veranda
Saffron room 1
Garden sunbeds
Saffron room 2
Veranda seating
Saffron room antique doors
Ginger room ensuite
Rice & curry tonight
Dining area
View from dining area
Chilli room ensuite
Chilli room 2
Landing & sesath
Cardamom room
Cinnamon room
Cinnamon room ensuite
Lounge
November sunset
A head for heights
View across balcony
Sunset lighting
Dusk over Unawatuna
Villa seen from the beach
Wedding outfits
Wedding party by the pool
Garden
Garden by pool
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
fiona b
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning setting, great location and incredible villa”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This villa is one of the most stunning places I have stayed. Every bedroom was finished immaculately and the view from the infinity pool was incredible. The hosts were great and accommodated all of our requests including arranging a birthday cake, organising tuk tuk's and recommending restaurants and places to go. Lesley was fantastic, and provided us (a group of 9 celebrating a 30th birthday) with a wealth of information about the villa, sightseeing and the local area prior to arrival and responded to every email promptly. My only recommendation would be to eat out, as the villa did offer food to be cooked there however, with so many surrounding restaurant choices, we found better quality food and for more reasonable price at the local eateries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
Hi Fiona
We are really happy that you enjoyed the villa and had such a good time. With regard to the meal arrangements, we are currently trialling a new system. Breakfast will continue to be included and other meals will be provided at no extra charge. You decide as a group what you would like and Upul & Piumi will shop and cook for you. You pay only the cost of the ingredients and transport. The only restriction is that the whole group will need to have basically the same- ie all rice & curry, all grilled items, all spaghetti, etc, with only minor variations. We hope this would work for you and we'd be very happy to see you again.
All the best
Ken & Lesley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debsta662...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Gem!!!!!”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

seven family members stayed here recently for my nieces wedding. What an amazing place.The house is finished to a really high standard. All the fixtures, fittings and detail have been done exceptionally well and the view over to Unawatuna beach is stunning with the luxury of an infinity pool. We had access to tuk tuk's on a daily basis which was great for getting to the beach or Fort Gale. The staff made us feel really welcome in particular Upul & Piumi, who cooked fabulous food for us & looked after us, we wanted for nothing. An oasis away from the hustle and bustle of life. Would definitely return & highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying at Far Horizons.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R8097WGch...
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Beautiful views, excellent service and a haven from all the hustle and bustle. The villa is in an outstanding position overlooking Unuwutuna beach, the rooms excellent and the meals cooked by Upal and Pumi great. Everybody loved the infinity pool and spent a lot of time at the end of the pool just watching for wildlife such as monitors, mongoose, beautiful birds and monkeys.. When you first arrive the drive to the top can be an experience especially if like us you are in a ten seater mini bus but once arrived the villa was beyond our expectations. We all loved every minute of the holiday and the tuk tuk drivers who drove us down each day where great. Looking forward to returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans-mort...
1 review
“A diamond among gems”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed on Far Horizons five nights to start our Sri Lankan experience. We were alltogether
10 people, 4 adults and 6 childre. What is there to say. It´s really all you could dream of! Friendly staff, clean rooms, decent secluded location and stunning wiews.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A cold beer in the pool after the kids had gone to bed!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dele83
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Your private slice of pure paradise!”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Me and a group of friends recently stayed at Far Horizons for a week at the end of a two week holiday. We had travelled around Sri Lanka for a week first and were looking to chill for the last week. As soon as we arrived at Far Horizons we realised all our wishes would be met. Firstly the house is finished to a really, really high standard. All the fixtures, fittings and detail have been done exceptionally well and the view over to Unawatuna beach is stunning and the infinity pool, well, amazing! Secondly, Leslie the owner, was there to greet us with a warm smile and enough information about the local area and everything we needed to know about the villa. Thirdly, Upul and Piumi who look after you during your stay were absolutely brilliant, they cooked fantastic food, helped us out with anything we needed and just generally made us feel like we were their family. We couldnt of asked for anymore from them.

The villa is close enough to Unawatuna if you want to go and look at the shops or spend a day at the beach etc, but when you are up on the hill at the villa you feel like you are a world away in your own little bit of paradise. We planned to do more activities during our stay, but when we arrived at the villa we couldn't tear ourselves away. I couldn't recommend a stay at this villa enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attentiveness of the house manager and his wife
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing