We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You won't find a bad review on Unakanda because...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Unakanda

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
harrisade
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“You won't find a bad review on Unakanda because it is perfect!”
Reviewed 28 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We read the amazing reviews and Unakanda lived up to all our expectations & was a highlight of our travels in Sri Lanka! Stop reading now and book!
You're set away for the busy beach area, yet not too far to walk to beach or shops. It is so peaceful, private and relaxing. Enjoy your own pool and the outstanding Sri Lankan food cooked for you.Great coffee @ Kat's at the bottom of the hill too.
The service from Manoj & Chi is genuine and heartfelt. Nothing is ever too much trouble.
However long you stay, you'll wish it was longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2018
Cheers Addy! Glad you guys enjoyed yourself and thanks for the photos and help in the garden :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmercanti
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most amazing place ever ”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Unakanda was a dream come true. It is perfect in every way- spacious, modern, clean yet cozy and comfortable. We couldn't imagine staying anywhere in Sri Lanka and almost wish we could have extended our stay. Not only are you perched up on a hill with the MOST incredible views, you have an infinity pool to boot. Chirath and manoj also made our trip 5 stars always answering our questions, arranging us Tuk tuks and best of all creating the most delicious dinner we had in all of Sri Lanka. We are still dreaming of the pumpkin curry! We cannot wait to return. Do yourself a favour and stay here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thanks so much Marisa! We are flattered you guys chose us for your honeymoon and hope you have a fabulous time in Marrakech :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErangaHad...
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed 31 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This was an incredible experience. Manoj was very professional and courteous. Contacted me before we arrived to ensure everything is okay and to check what we needed for dinner etc. Greeted us with cold decorated King Coconut when we arrived. Cooked us amazing meals during our stay (so much better than what you get in restaurants in Unawatuna).

The place itself was incredibly well designed. The decor was just right and very well thought through. Amazing view from the swimming pool. Most of all, the atmosphere of the place was so relaxing and felt like you are at home in your private space.

Special thanks to Sujeewa for helping Manoj with everything.

And Morrie! the calmest dog in the world!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Fabulous! We love it when our guests love the things that are most important to us. I think you touched on every one of them Eranga. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan F
Suva, Fiji
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time Out”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Unakanda is a great house, well set up for the climate and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms have an indoor outdoor tropical feel, the bedrooms are cool and comfortable retreats. The kitchen is well set up, and the sitting area is comfortable with books and games which we just didn't have time to enjoy, as the pool with its wonderful view and comfortable bean bags distracted us!
Booking was easy - Tim and Shar were easy to contact and responsive to queries and requests, and they have a great on site team. We felt extremely well looked after, from the house which was beautifully clean for our whole stay, to the very good rice and curry meal waiting for us when we arrived after a long day of travelling, to our choice of breakfast - one day a Sri Lankan breakfast and another, a Sri Lankan omelette breakfast with very good coffee.
We would highly recommend Unakanda as a great place for relaxing and for visiting the beaches of Unawatuna and the history of Galle Fort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good food, lovely bathrooms and the pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thanks so much Jan. The pleasure was ours! All the best from Team Unakanda :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N
1 review
“Absolutely unbeatable experience”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What more can I say? From the moment we arrived we were treated like kings, Manoj and Sujeeva were so accommodating and helpful. From making us early morning coffees to arranging whatever activities we wanted to do throughout the day, giving us advice on the area, talking to us about their lives and cooking us spectacular dinners.

Unakanda itself is the perfect location for a getaway. I can't imagine any better spot than sitting by the pool (or in the pool), set amongst the trees, overlooking the stunning view of the ocean. The facilities were top notch, everything from comfortable poolside seating to a luxurious bathroom (which so perfectly blends the outdoors and indoors).

We were at Unakanda for our honeymoon and we simply could not recommend it more highly.

PS - a special shout out to Sujeeva's dog Morrie, a dog with an easygoing nature to make us feel at home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Manoj and Sujeeva
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thanks so much Paul. It was a delight for us to have a part in you and Laura having a great honeymoon. PS - Morrie is our dog.....Sujeeva just looks after him 99.9% of the time ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing