We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Time Out”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Unakanda

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Jan F
Suva, Fiji
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time Out”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Unakanda is a great house, well set up for the climate and beautifully decorated. The bathrooms have an indoor outdoor tropical feel, the bedrooms are cool and comfortable retreats. The kitchen is well set up, and the sitting area is comfortable with books and games which we just didn't have time to enjoy, as the pool with its wonderful view and comfortable bean bags distracted us!
Booking was easy - Tim and Shar were easy to contact and responsive to queries and requests, and they have a great on site team. We felt extremely well looked after, from the house which was beautifully clean for our whole stay, to the very good rice and curry meal waiting for us when we arrived after a long day of travelling, to our choice of breakfast - one day a Sri Lankan breakfast and another, a Sri Lankan omelette breakfast with very good coffee.
We would highly recommend Unakanda as a great place for relaxing and for visiting the beaches of Unawatuna and the history of Galle Fort.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good food, lovely bathrooms and the pool
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thanks so much Jan. The pleasure was ours! All the best from Team Unakanda :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul N
1 review
“Absolutely unbeatable experience”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in March 2016

What more can I say? From the moment we arrived we were treated like kings, Manoj and Sujeeva were so accommodating and helpful. From making us early morning coffees to arranging whatever activities we wanted to do throughout the day, giving us advice on the area, talking to us about their lives and cooking us spectacular dinners.

Unakanda itself is the perfect location for a getaway. I can't imagine any better spot than sitting by the pool (or in the pool), set amongst the trees, overlooking the stunning view of the ocean. The facilities were top notch, everything from comfortable poolside seating to a luxurious bathroom (which so perfectly blends the outdoors and indoors).

We were at Unakanda for our honeymoon and we simply could not recommend it more highly.

PS - a special shout out to Sujeeva's dog Morrie, a dog with an easygoing nature to make us feel at home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Manoj and Sujeeva
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
Thanks so much Paul. It was a delight for us to have a part in you and Laura having a great honeymoon. PS - Morrie is our dog.....Sujeeva just looks after him 99.9% of the time ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick T
2 reviews
“Wonderful hilltop retreat”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Manoj and Sujeeva took care of all our needs - from meals to tours and transportation. Wonderful villa that combines indoor and outdoor facilities without being too rustic.
Our young children loved their stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: infinity pool
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Many thanks Patrick. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHFEF
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Nice place on top of a hill with view. Secluded in a local village setting. Off season and in the evening there are plenty of mosquitos trying to satisfy their blood thirst. Very close to the premises are two huge telecom towers. The Internet in the house is reliable and fast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ewan m
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place ”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Really great house, with high quality fixtures and fittings making it a real luxury to stay here. Sujeeva cooked us fantastic food and we would have eaten in every night had we not had friends in galle to see. Secluded spot with great view from the private pool down to the ocean.
Would recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Thanks Ewan! Pleased you guys had an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing