We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
AU$106
Go to your Happy Price
Booking.com
AU$106
No prepayment needed
Agoda.com
AU$90
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Jayde A
Brisbane, Australia
Lush garden retreat 150 metres from the beach!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 May 2019via mobile
We had four nights here at the end of our trip. It was a glorious way to end our holiday. The garden is so beautiful and the pool area is surrounded by lush greenery. It was so very relaxing. The staff were delightful and our whole experience was just the best. Wish we could have had longer here! It was great to be set back from the busy beach - it definitely has a secluded retreat feel.
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$117
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$117
  • Agoda.com
    AU$88
  • Trip.com
    AU$124
0.1 km from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$316
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$407
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$176
  • Hotels.com
    AU$266
0.5 km from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$234
  • Priceline
    AU$241
  • Agoda.com
    AU$163
  • Hotels.com
    AU$231
0.7 km from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$169
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$151
  • Hotels.com
    AU$181
0.7 km from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$179
  • Priceline
    AU$228
  • Agoda.com
    AU$151
  • Hotels.com
    AU$195
1.5 km from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
AU$299
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    AU$327
  • Agoda.com
    AU$245
  • Trip.com
    AU$332
0.6 km from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$317
  • Priceline
    AU$348
  • Agoda.com
    AU$250
  • Hotels.com
    AU$344
2.0 km from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$129
  • Hotels.com
    AU$158
  • Agoda.com
    AU$122
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
0.8 km from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$86
  • Agoda.com
    AU$86
  • eDreams
    AU$86
0.3 km from Thambapanni Retreat
Beachfront
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$105
  • Priceline
    AU$162
  • Agoda.com
    AU$85
  • Hotels.com
    AU$148
1.1 km from Thambapanni Retreat
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Unawatuna
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
506
167
42
12
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
506
167
42
12
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sri lanka sister hotel yoga classes beautiful hotel jungle beach short walk to the beach pool area is a couple of minutes walk seafood every morning great room calm place deluxe room prawns monkeys trees sofa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2019

We stayed for 5 nights with our 7 year old daughter and loved it, we didn't want to leave!! We received a warm and friendly smile on arrival, followed by a cold juice and a speedy check in by the two lovely ladies on reception. We had booked a Deluxe triple room, but we were upgraded to a Superior room. This was in the block that is above the reception, we were on the 5th floor, a long way up, but we are fit/healthy and being in the tranquil nature of the tree canopy was worth it! We loved watching the monkeys and listening to the wildlife moving around in the early morning, we got a nice breeze too. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped. Lovely modern bathroom and a very large balcony which we really enjoyed sitting out on. The pool area was well maintained and the pool was in the shade most of the day, which was great as we didn't get burnt and it was nice and cool for a dip. I loved all the lovely statues and decorations around the grounds, fresh flowers were placed around every day, lovely attention to detail. Food was good, we ate at the hotel a few times and had breakfast there too. I had a mediation/Yoga session with Ranjan, followed by a Ayurvedic full body massage and herbal steam bath...wonderful and super relaxed by the end. I had a good long conversation with Ranjan, he is a very wise and lovely man. I am still drinking the warm water with ginger every morning that he recommended. We found that most of the staff were really friendly and accommodating, no request seemed to be too much trouble. We unfortunately were staying when the bombings happened, which was a very difficult time for the local people. We had curfews most evenings and the hotel manager (we did not get his name, a very lovely young man) who kept us informed of any changes, we were made to feel very safe within the hotel by the staff and security,thank you. We were very sad to leave and would love to return again, we had a wonderful experience and would totally recommend.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DinksyDerbyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2019

I really enjoyed my holidays in this beautiful place. The enviroment is just amazing!
I loved watching the monkeys in the morning playing in the three in front of my balcony, after that I went for Yoga classes every morning guided by Ranjan, what I can totally recommend! After this experience you feel like a brandnew person :-)
The food is also absolutely delicious and the stuff is very kind and helpful. Livia

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liveon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2019 via mobile

Let me start off by saying this by no means is a bad hotel! It just wasn’t as I expected it to be.

First off, I read some reviews regarding very bad ant problems. We unfortunately experienced it first hand (think we initially had room 101) - ants everywhere. When I first told the front desk staff they just shrugged it off and didn’t really seem to care.

It wasn’t until it was brought to the attention of the management they agreed to clean the room. It helped initially, but unfortunately the ants started coming from other places instead. We couldn’t unpack and I had a giant ant trail right next to my side of the bed. Not very relaxing. Furthermore, there was a giant crack in the door which enabled everyone to look straight at our bed. Room 101 is one of the first rooms you pass, meaning almost everyone (except those saying by the pool) would pass our room on the way to their own.

We were moved to another and better room, but we felt our stay was ruined even though staff tried to make it a good one. They even offered us a complimentary dinner which was a nice touch.

The last straw was at breakfast when I had a pancake and bugs/little flies started coming out of it. Didn’t feel like staying or eating there after this incident.

We were eventually relocated to Thaproban Waves (same owner) and it was much better suited to our expectations.

All in all, I would say the staff was nice and tried their best, hence the 3*** review. The hotel itself would be nicer if maintained properly.

I get it is a nature property and that the hotel is “co-existing” with its surroundings BUT that doesn’t mean you should have an ant trail right next to your bed. I feel with small updates here and there, it could become a lot better.

Note: All pictures were taken after the first attempt to clean our room from ants

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank chilietht
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Dear Chilie T,
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna.
Thank you for sharing your personal concerns regarding your recent stay with us.
Ants and birds and species are expected in tropical islands like Srilanka especially in Rumassala
Sanctuary where the hotel is build blessed with Nature. We however do our utmost to keep ants to a
minimum by having a dedicated pest control team who not only conduct fogging of the entire resort a
minimum of 1 time a month but also conduct daily cleaning. Still we should understand The Hotel is
sited on a Sanctuary here you will find lots of birds and Monkeys, Scorpions and so many species.
As the concept of the Retreat is living by the Nature it’s in fact not a problem it’s the message we are
sending to the world we must respect nature living by that than try destroying then.
Again in the restaurant we keep all our food items wrapped as it’s an open restaurant concept there
might be flying insects can come inside also it does not happen every day only during a period After
observing the pictures we observed the left side upper lock was kept open by you and showed as
there is a crack in the door which is not accepted. As you have mentioned the management had
done their best to make your stay a wonderful and offered you alternative room and Dinner also a
Hotel Transfer to our newest sister Property on the Beach side. It’s unfair you have given us and 3***
rating.
We are so sorry to read our little paradise is not to the level of your assumptions. We apologies for
the inconvenience caused to you.
We however remain hopeful that you would allow us the chance to welcome you back as our valued
guest. So we recommend you to pick our sister hotel which you were transferred is new and modern
concept.
Kind Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2019 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Thambapanni Retreat.
It seems to be built in to the hill so quite an unusual setting.
The room was very spacious with a big open air shower room. Good standard of cleanliness.
The pool was lovely.
Lots of wildlife around in the garden.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shirleymtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Dear Shirleymtravels,
Ayubowan,
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna.
Thank you for having chosen us as your holiday destination. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed
a perfect holiday here at our resort.
Thank you for showing your appreciation towards location and standards.
We hope to have the immense pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2019

We booked 4 nights at the Thambapanni Retreat, but we left in the morning of the second day. The Hotel does simple not live up to the standards of a 4 star hotel.
It all started the day we came. We had to ask for some madras's for the chairs on our terraras - and the ones we got was old and so worn out that you didnt want to sit in them.
We chose to eat at the restaurant the fist evening and we we got the food served my plate was so dirty on the surface beneath - when approaching what i think was the restaurant manager he just looked at us for some time, took the plate to the kitchen and came back with the food again on a new plate and explained, that it was just the dressing from the other plate that caused this.
On top of this it was the feeling of bad smell from one of waiters, when bringing our white wine it was in an old dusty bucket, when seeing the toaster it was just not very clean.
Key-word for this hotel is it is worn out.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 188nielsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thaproban, Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2019

Dear Niels H,
Warm greetings from Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna.
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor.
It is never our intention for our guests to leave the resort with anything other than wonderful,
memorable thoughts of their time with us and I can see we have failed to achieve for you.
For readers information we are not a four star hotel we are a boutique hotel located in Rummasala
sanctuary where we offer a personalized service. While we pride ourselves in providing quality
service for our guests, I would like to sincerely apologies for the inconvenience you experienced.
Rest assured that all areas you have highlighted are aware of your dissatisfaction so that corrective
action can be taken to improve in our services and facilities.
I am saddened that you would not be recommending us. I would like to take this opportunity to thank
you once more, not only for choosing us for your recent visit to Unawatuna but also, for providing
valuable feedback regarding your stay.
Kind Regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews