We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
27
8
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
8
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Stunning view of the ocean and the surrounding jungle from the hill top balconies. Very easy access to the hidden jungle beach which is a unique experience. Great place to relax, take a dip in the pool, go down to the beach for a swim and unwind in the BBQ area with the sunset. Very friendly staff. We have been here three times already!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Madura2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the rooms on the 1st floor which are a bit more spacious. The hotel is very good located to visit thr lovely beach and its rught across the main street. Still, no noise dyring nights. Very friendly staff. All in all excellent valie for money!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank pkopijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2017

- Spacious rooms with great views towards Galle Fort
- Good air con & fans
- My room had a Fridge, cooking facilities, TV (only CNN & BBC)
- Walk-in wet room with decent showers
- Wifi OK in rooms, less reliable outside
- Breakfast $10, fruit, toast, cooked breakfast of eggs as you liked them with sausages or fish cakes or spiced mash
- Dinner $20 – fish and crab, soup e.g. banana fritters or fruit and icecream
- Tuk Tuk waiting almost outside at Japanese peace pagoda – 20 minutes to Galle Fort (600RPs) and about 10 mins to Unawatuna main beach strip (500Rps)
- Jungle Beach – not just the first beach you come to at end of the track – turn right and at end of beach step up over rocks to footpath to lead around to main beach where bar and sun loungers are
- Great friendly staff, especially owner Channa and hotel manager, Dilshan
- If coming by car/Tuk Tuk, tell driver it’s just by the Japanese peace Pagoda

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMiggins46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBaywatch, Owner at Villa Baywatch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation about our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed for 7 nights along with a friend over the Christmas period. The Villa is very good value, recently refurbed rooms. I had a large room with a double and single bed. We had a nice breakfast daily and stayed for dinner several times, good food and served in a friendly way. China the owner could not have been more welcoming, plus Dilshan ho was on site all the time was really helpful and attentive. The Villa is about 20 mins from Galle and closer to Unawatuna. A local Tuk Tuk driver took us daily out. 600 rupees for Galle and 500 Unawatuna. Really reasonable and easy to get to. Galle is great, the Fort has lovely coastal views, loads of great places to eat and drink, the Dutch Hospital our favourite. Local curries and cuisine the best! Unawatuna lovely beaches, with enjoyed Kingfisher bar which served nice food and lovely beach area. All round recommend a stay at Villa Baywatch you will be well looked after, pop down to Jungle beach just a short walk away.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBaywatch, Owner at Villa Baywatch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your review which is informative to our prospective guests and of much help to us. You were lovely guests and I along with my staff all enjoyed your stay with us. It was nice to see you enjoying our meals cooked by our own chef.
All conversations I had with you were also very informative and interesting. We would love to have you back in Sri Lanka to stay with us.
Wish you all the very best with your future travelling.
Hope to see you again sometime.

Bests regards
Channa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Villa Baywatch is a beautiful retreat at Galle,from the madding crowd of the urban honks and people buzz which are there are Galle Fort and Dutch Hospital vicinity. Perched on the top of the hills with a fantastic view of the Galle Bay, those who are looking for an nature escape, Villa Baywatch is just the place. The little villa has little bits of everything - comfortable rooms, loving care of Dilshan, hearty breakfast cooked by Migara, the dedication of the owner Channa, the money cant buy views of the ocean from the rooms and the terraces serenaded with the call of the birds in the daylight and crics of the crickets at night. I will come back for sure and those who loves serenity, this is the place to be at Galle. But be sure to book in advance as they have only 6 rooms to give away!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are the ones to go for as they have great views of the ocean and private seating terraces
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rabeth k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaBaywatch, Owner at Villa Baywatch, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your review. It is of much help to us as reviews like your motivates us, guides us in the right direction and helps us to overcome any deficiencies that we have. We much appreciate it.

Also thank you for selecting us as your hotel in Sri Lanka.
We welcome you again to come and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews