We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Living the high life”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alexander...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Living the high life”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our three week stay. Well placed for surfing - at least for beginners - lovely space to relax in and a great, flexible staff team who make the atmosphere very relaxing whilst providing an excellent service and delicious food - and were wonderful with our baby daughter. Thanks Dimuthu, Sudat, Sunni and Gamini.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish B
Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pool acidic burning toddler, not fixed for 4 days, owner abuse and sought review removal before promised refund”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in April 2015

Upon arrival, jumped in pool, acidic water burnt us including 2 year old son (!!!).
Waited 4 days for pool to be fixed. Everything else was generally great, except also had continual issue with power outages (and generator not working).
We had people disturbing us for 4 days, and a separate tenant visible and living in corner of garden.
Owner made excuses as to why pool not a big problem and his cost to fix(!!), while we had booked villa on basis of having pool and relaxing in garden.
Owner originally promised minor refund, and then did not make refund for 9 months.
Owner then fraudulently promised to make refund if fair reviews were removed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The chef was fantastic, garden, well fitted out
Liked least: Acidic pool not fixed for 4 days, power cuts, no generator
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trond Ole...
1 review
“Brilliant stay!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Fantastic villa and great location! The private chef makes excellent food! There is a nice beech only one minute walk from the villa. The nextdoor neighbour is the Coco Bay Hotel, which is a nice place to go for cocktails.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house and staff
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMD333
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice spot with great team to take care of you!”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The house is situated just outside Galle, a few minutes from Unawatuna. The house is very comfortable and there are nice touches that make your stay even more comfortable. The Staff are amazing!!! I cannot thank them enough for their care of us. The cook was excellent! We didn't want to leave the house we enjoyed his cooking that much.

The only not wonderful things were that the pillows are a little on the hard side and wifi is a bit hit and miss in the bedrooms, but given all the other positive points this was hardly worth a second thought.

I would highly recommend this house for a relaxing holiday with family and friends. Two thumbs up!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinCer...
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic place for relax and chill, best location on south coast!”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Well House... The magic place which you will´ll never want to leave.

At first, the location - It´s perfectly hidden under Rumassala hill. No traffic, no noise but in the same time just meters away from coastal road and Colombo express highway as well. Connection to and from airport is very fast and easy. Famous Galle fort is just 5 minutes by tuck tuck ride as well as tourist well known Unawatuna beach with all night life. If you want to chill on the beach aside from tourists, Jungle beach is just 10 minutes away by walk.

Hospitality and staff - This is it.. We felt almost like at home and not like in hotel. Chef Dimuthu and Sudath were always handy when we needed but discreet and nearly invisible while we were working or chilling out. If you would like to try the best Sri lankan cuisine, Dimuthu is definitely your guy!

The Well House and garden - Well, we didn´t find any other place like WH during our journey around Sri lanka. Beautifully renovated old colonial house, we almost felt like back in old colonial times. We loved the tranquility of the garden and swimming pool. It´s great place to chill out and gather the strength before you continue in your journey around the island. WIFI connection is fast and stable all over the garden.

When anybody asks me about Sri lanka I always recommend to start or finish in the Well House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality of staff, beautiful garden and location
Liked least: Stay was too short. We want to go back!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing