We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the true highlights of our holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Olu villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front terrasse
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
front terrasse
part of the living room seen from the backyard door
details
details bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Subaquana...
Malaga, Spain
1 review
“One of the true highlights of our holiday”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Everything about our short stay at Olu Villa was perfect. Such as the great welcome and being looked after by Sarath and his lovely family. The amazing location, gardens, local wildlife (monkeys in the trees!) and the villa itself. We have promised to go back and hope there will be some availability in a year's time! Our 3-year-old son still talks about Sarath and we all have some fantastic memories. What a shame we could only manage three nights here. Make sure to order the homecooked curries. It will be the best decision of your holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve L
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We all had such an amazing time here, and would recommend it to everyone. The family took care of us when we needed it, they came and cooked us delicious meals on the days we didn't feel like going out, took care of any minor issue or question, and had transport for us whenever we needed it. My wife and I rented a scooter for the days we were there and were able to get to the beach in about 5 minutes, or drive anywhere else. There are plenty of great restaurants and beaches all around. It's a great location to get to downtown Gaul to see the ramparts and the lighthouse. Our friends have an 18mo old, and he was completely safe to roam the property, and Sarath was like a great uncle to him. We couldn't have been happier with our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and nature around us.
Liked least: Not on the beach.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonb12340
Stebbing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This is a beautiful and peaceful villa.”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful and peaceful villa set in a quiet area and lovely gardens.
The house is very well equipped, spacious and comfortable, which is perfect for the climate. It is near the beach, Galle, and very good restaurants.
The host family kept the villa clean and were a great source of local information, also provided one of the best Sri Lankan meals we ate cooked by the host family themselves - a real treat!
The whole family, including 2 girls (19 and 16) loved the experience, did not want to leave and would come back - need I say more!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design and layout
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powderren...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful ”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (my wife, my 7 yrs old son and I) had the pleasure of staying in Ninas Villa for 6 days in July. Let me start at the beginning. I contacted on short notice various owners of villas in the area between Galle and Mirissa. A part from the fact that Ninas Villa was one of our favorites from the beginning, she was also the most responsive and helpful from the start. Her help continued throughout the stay via email which she responded in record times. Arriving at Colombo airport, we booked the transfer to Unawatuna, which is approx. 2.5 hours, with a taxi service Nina recommended. At first I wanted to rent a car for the week. But after our stay I was glad that I didn't. You'll see for yourself what I mean;) The guys who picked us up were super helpful and made us feel comfortable right from the start and are very swift but safe drivers. Arriving at the villa we were greeted by Sarath and his family. They made us feel at home right from the start and throughout our stay. My son still talks about Sarath and his whole family. And I shouldn't forget to mention the home cooked rice and currie you can order and will be clocked at the villa. No restaurant can beat that! The villa is in the middle of a beautiful stretch of wilderness (at least to us it seemed wilderness which probably doesn't mean much coming from Dubai ;) The architecture of the villa is very open and beautiful. The garden is just amazing and we spent hours just wandering around taking pictures and relaxing and honing our skills in monkey feeding and coconut cutting. You can get to all the nice beaches, which are some of the most beautiful beaches in Sri Lanka, within 5-15 minutes by Tuktuk or with the train (station is a 5 min walk and the train ride itself is worthwhile). And there is plenty more to do around in the area which was all very well explained by Nina and her family. Since it was our first visit to Sri Lanka it's probably not fair to others to say that don't look anywhere else, but I'll say this. You won't regret spending your vacations in Ninas Villa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Hello Rene,

Thank you for your great review. We hope to see you all again one day. The whole family says hello to you all:)

Nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthandpa...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had the best stay at this beautiful villa! The house itself is elegant and beautiful laidq out , it looks even better than in the photos! The gardens are what make the place a real oasis. There is so much wild life! Squirrels, birds , monkeys and glow flies at night! what made the stay extra special was the beautiful welcome we received from Sarath and family , as well as the amazing Sri Lanka curry meal for my husbands birthday! I can honestly say this was some of the best food I have ever eaten ! Our little daughter loved staying at the villa as well as giving Sarath big hugs ! I would recommend staying at the villa to anybody . Everything about this experience had been great .Nina, thank you ! You have been so helpful . Sarath you are such a lovely guy, thank you for the king coconuts, The great food and showing us the river and the Water monitors . We had an unforgettable time and would Love to come back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Hello Ruth,

Thank you for your kind words! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay:) we try our best to make it special for each one of our guest. My father in law Sarath absolutely adores children and they love him:) and he knows a lot about wildlife and flora and is a very kind and gentle soul.

take care and i hope we see you again!

love nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing