We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Live like a local”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Jungle House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
scuabdive...
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Live like a local”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Jungle Cottage is a basic cottage style villa, the photographs give a good indication of the accommodation. There is air conditioning in the bedroom which is very effective.The main lounge area has a ceiling mounted fan which gives good air circulation and two day beds with mosquito nets over them,though we were not troubled by them at all.
On the outside veranda there is L shaped seating on which we put the interior day bed cushions so we could sit and read while listening to the sound of the surrounding area.We were visited by monkeys jumping through the trees and onto the house roof.
As you are staying in the tropics be prepared for the unexpected house visitor,in our case a 6 foot Rat snake which was encourage to leave by the family next door.
Cecilia(CJ) and Sudda the owners live just down the road and provided every possible assistance to us,which went beyond what we had expected.
They have a safe which you can leave your valuables if you want ,though we felt really safe in the property.
There is wi-fi available by using a dongle which was supplied.
We were given essential supplies to start off our stay.
The local beach is a Ten minute walk away past a couple of local stalls which sell water and bits. It is a nice beach for snorkelling in a shallow lagoon with Turtles. Tip - use the Sun Beds in the Hotel this gives you use of their facilities at 500 rupees a day (£2.50) including a nice Blue and White towel.
Great food in Wijama,s own wood fired Piza oven Tuna steaks to die for.
Guy next door ha a Tuc Tuk which we used to take us into Galle.
Be ready for the bread van coming by,indicated with the playing of either, Santa Claus is coming to town or Its a Small World after all accompanied by the howling of a couple of the local dogs- very funny.
We feel this property would be suited to a couple rather than a family who wanted to chill out and experience the local life.
Liked Best : The charm,atmosphere.

Liked Least :- Snake

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location Atmosphere Charm
Liked least: Snake
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
Thank you for your visit
It was lovely to meet you both and we're glad you enjoyed our jungle house
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H P
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Humid”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Me and my family arrived to the location only to find that the "House" was extremely hot and humid. At the ceiling you could see fungus and the smell that was present may have originated from this.

My youngest daughter (9 years old) started to cry so we had to leave in a hurry. My theory is, that we arrived just after rain season and that this had affected the indoor climate.

The photos that are uploaded seems correct.

Regards Simon

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2015
Dear Simon
Thank you for your advice. We'd tried to contact you by phone through your driver but were unable to get through.
Yes we'd had steady rain for the last week but the bedroom does have AC so generally able to lift the heat/humidity
Hopefully we'll be able to host you another time and are happy to credit you for a future stay
Kind Regards
Cecilia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amasc
Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Peaceful Paradise”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This simply and tastefully furnished property had everything we needed for a relaxing stay

We were met by Cecilia who gave us the low down on local eating spots and ideas of things to do as well as an open invitation to drop by or contact her at any time for further help and advice. She put us in touch with a local, friendly and reliable tuk tuk driver who took us around for our week.

Local shops provide most of the staples you need supplemented with a trip to a wine shop and supermarket on the road to Galle. A 10 to 15 minute walk though lovely greenery takes you across the railway track to the beach where there are good spots to eat.

Mostly the tranquility of the Jungle House got into our bones, a pile of books went unread as did a list of work related tasks. We lounged in the sit out area watching the local wildlife and did next to nothing. A few trips to Unawatuna to try different restaurants confirmed to us that we had made the right choice.

We would return in a heartbeat.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind words and your visit. It was lovely to meet you both and we look forward to welcoming you back.
The Jungle House awaits you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolSydn...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic little hideaway”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had such a great time at the Jungle House. Our host Cecilia was so helpful from the moment we enquired and during our stay. She had a great knowledge of the local area. We loved the place, it is a simple little cottage that has been tastefully renovated with everything you could need. It's only a short 10 min walk to stunning local beaches where there are also a couple of great restaurants and bars however it's very quiet compared to busier areas which for us was lovely. Unawatuna is only 10 min taxi ride away if you want to go out for dinner or drinks. There is a lovely family next door and one has their own tuk tuk and is happy to take you anywhere and can collect you after dinner as well. I cannot recommend the Jungle House highly enough, the setting is fabulous particularly if you are looking for somewhere a little different away from the tourist strip.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your review! It was lovely to meet you albeit briefly
Hope you'll be able to visit us and Sri Lanka again soon
Keep in touch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVT23
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A simple little place tucked in the jungle away from tourists.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The Jungle House is a rustic, one-bedroom house nestled against a verdant backdrop in a neighborhood of local Sri Lankans. Most of the other places around Unawatuna are shared apartments right on the beach. My girlfriend and I wanted to relax in a bit of a private setting and that's exactly what we got with the Jungle House. It's a 5-minute walk to Dalawella Beach and a 5-minute tuk-tuk ride to Unawatuna Beach - close enough that going to the beach is easy but far enough away to get a little privacy and enjoy the sights and sounds of the jungle (we particularly enjoyed the monkeys' dusk-time raids on our neighbors' fruit trees - our neighbors, not so much). The neighboring houses are separated by vegetation and each contained a Sri Lankan family spanning three or four generations. One of the young men of the families, Gayan, drove a tuk-tuk and gave us his mobile number asking us to call any time we needed a ride, which we did several times. He also rented us his scooter for a day at a very reasonable price and we drove it into nearby Galle. The owner of the Jungle House, Cecilia, lived just down the road and was very helpful and welcoming, telling us things we could do around town and even helping us find accommodations for one night near Yala National Park. You are not going to find marble floors and a gilded bidet at the Jungle House, and I wouldn't recommend it for large groups, but for a couple or small groups, it offers a minimalist charm that we found very peaceful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was nice and private compared to other nearby rental options.
Liked least: The place was minimalist but that's exactly how it was described.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2013
Thanks Matt
We thouroughly enjoye your visit and look forward to welcoming you both back soon!
All the best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing