We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shalini Villa

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
127 reviews
Pool
Seating area near pool
Seating area near pool
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Lounge area
Hallway
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1
Unawatuna Beach
Blowhole near Tengalle
Sunset at Unawatuna
Paddy Fields near Unawatuna
Koggala Lake
Habaraduwa Beach
New Unawatuna Beach
Yoga
Breakfast
Coconuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 127 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Whilborou...
2 reviews
“fabulous villa”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The villa is lovely - spacious and tasteful - set in a lush garden which is frequently visited by amazing wildlife (including cute monkeys). Pool is ideal. The guys looking after us are very helpful, organising tuk tuks, taxis etc and cooking delicious Sri Lankan meals. Location is ideal for either popping down to Unawatuna or onto Galle and not too far from the airport (2.5 hours).
We had a lovely time there. Would definitely come back and have already recommended the villa to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wildlife visiting the garden
Liked least: i couldn't sleep well due to noise of aircon ( I am a light sleeper however)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing - where you can find family in Sri Lanka you did not even know you had!”
Reviewed 28 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I cannot say enough good things about this place. If you are looking to be pampered beyond what a hotel can do without feeling like people are hovering over you then look no further. We have stayed at vacation rentals all over the world and none have compared to the service that this rental provides. The staff here went above and beyond starting the moment I put in the request until the moment we left the property. This is a beautiful property located in an ideal location. On arrival we requested a meal and after this we requested breakfast and dinner every day that we were there (a first for us as we typically like to do things ourselves). The chef made everything we requested and he even prepared a separate meal or item for our daughter when we knew she would not eat what we had ordered. We spent hours in the pool as well as watching monkeys everyday. The landscaping on the property is gorgeous and Kamindika (the hoursekeeper) showed us a few of the trees and plants on the property that make this place truely unique. Kamindika cleaned the place and made our beds daily. He even played with our daughter and provided entertainment for her - that to us only elevated the ambiance of this rental. We felt safe here both during the day and at night. Again, we cannot say enough good things about this place. We will defiantly stay here again and highly recommend this to anyone (young and old) looking for a place to stay in Sri Lanka where they can not only enjoy themselves but feel like family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
festival2...
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautifully designed verdant retreat”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Hidden from the main Galle road by c.200m this delightful property afforded a silent tranquility. The very tall cathedral ceiling afforded a constant flow of cool air and the whole property was spotlessly clean and maintained to the highest level. The staff spoke good English and accommodated all our enquiries and requests and also provided, on time, all requested meals with a quiet efficiency.
The temperature of the pool was perfect---thanks to the sun gods.
Therefore, a most enjoyable sojourn, we can also recommend their sister Massage Spa where we enjoyed their very professional and skilful therapy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort & spaciousness
Liked least: returning home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ektel2015
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 4 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Muliple +++
Great Villa, in walking distance to Unawatuna Beach, nice swimming pool in secluded and beautiful garden. Well equipped, very clean. Great staff, including "on request " cooking possibilities...very delicious and inexpensive ! View of Monkeys, not the hazzards.

Little Minors
- wifi not always optimal.
- although staff tried utmost, mosquitos find their way inside the villa ( leaves nothing else than stay in AC and Mosquito nets provided bedroom area).
All in all a great experience, Thanks Alisson and staff !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa and Staff
Liked least: Wifif signal speed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
priyangan...
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful villa - so difficult to leave”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Over the years I have booked many holiday apartments and villas and this was seriously the best. It was so well thought out and just as described. We are a family of 4 (grown up sons) plus my 81 year old mother was also travelling with us and we were all so comfortable there. Loads of lovely spaces to sit in, either tougher or on our own and the pool was perfect.
The staff toolk a lot of trouble and the assistant manager, Shanka, Thilak cook and Violet the helper were all great. Vilolet chatted to my mum in Sinhala & Thilak helped us get a great spot to see the festival parade in Unawatna. We loved Thilak's meals and spent mornings on the nearby Wijaya beach a perfect spot for all of us. We hope to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the design of the villa.
Liked least: Everything was perfect.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing