We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An ideal holiday villa with everything you could...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shalini Villa

Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
128 reviews
Pool
Seating area near pool
Seating area near pool
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Seated area off lounge
Lounge area
Hallway
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Open Dining area
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 1
Unawatuna Beach
Blowhole near Tengalle
Sunset at Unawatuna
Paddy Fields near Unawatuna
Koggala Lake
Habaraduwa Beach
New Unawatuna Beach
Yoga
Breakfast
Coconuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Unawatuna, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 128 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Rob W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An ideal holiday villa with everything you could possibly want !”
Reviewed 18 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

the villa was at all times, cool , well kept and very comfortable despite the heat. The rooms were air conditioned and very clean and well kept. Inside the villa it was beautiful and outside beautifully kept and scenic.

no stone was left unturned where our comfort was concerned and the staff very friendly and helpful. The chef produced just amazing food which left us all speechless at times...

all in all it doesn't get much better from a holiday villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cooking and coolness
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigogg
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Absolute paradise and staff couldn't be more helpful”
Reviewed 12 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

6 of us travelled to Sri Lanka for the England Cricket Team tour and stayed in Shalini Villa whilst we were at the first test in Galle.

Needless to say with circa 8000 England fans in and around Galle, accommodation wasn't easy to find, but I must say I was incredibly lucky to find Shalini Villa.

From the moment of booking it, Alison couldn't have been more helpful providing all the info we needed and arranging for our transport from the airport in Columbo.

We arrived around daybreak and were met by Kamandika who from that moment on couldn't have done more for us whilst we were there. He booked Tuk-Tuks for us, told us how much to pay and recommended places for us to go.

Chef was fantastic and even though we were all getting up at different times most days due to various 'Barmy Army' exploits, he always had a fresh juice waiting for us and then cooked breakfast to order (we opted for English one day and then Sri Lanka the next alternating throughout the stay ad it was always great).

We got him to cook us a proper meal on our penultimate night and what a treat that was. Giving him literally a few pounds each to go off to the market, he came back with some of the best fish and prawns I've ever seen and produced a quite magnificent spread, which we got nowhere near finishing even though there were a few 'larger than average' appetites amongst us!

The night security guy also endured having to let us in at all hours with good grace and all three of them always had a ready smile on their faces.

The villa itself is absolutely fantastic with great bedrooms all with full AC, Mosquito nets and great big en-suite bathrooms and Kamandika kept these spotless throughout.

The gardens are fantastic and only a 3 minute walk to the beach.

Overall I couldn't have been more impressed with the place and would honestly say that I could not imagine anyone no matter what their background ever giving Shalini less than 5 stars.

By way of contrast, when we headed onto Columbo, we stayed in the 5* Taj Corumandel with both the England and Sri Lankan teams and as nice as it was, it wasn't a patch on Shalini!

A huge thankyou to all for making this such a memorable stay (despite the result in the 1st test!).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Staff
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil_Shea...
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
“It is a home from home in paradise”
Reviewed 12 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

What an excellent place to set up base in this region. The villa is way bigger than it seems in the pictures. An excellent standard of accomodation and only a short walk from the beach.

I would not hesitate to come back here. We were looked after like royalty by Karmindika and his team. They could not have been more accomodating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being made to feel at home in the great accomodation
Liked least: the only thing that would improve it would be a pool
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Reviewed 22 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing