We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
212
121
25
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
121
25
16
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chic suite coconut restaurant tuk tuk indian ocean sri lanka sea wall plunge pool sound of the waves overlooks the sea palm fringed beach nice boutique hotel amazing ocean beach access small pool hotel is located spa treatments sister hotel
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

From the first moment we arrived we felt like we are in a paradise. The room was clean and modern. The bed and pillows were super comfortable. We loved the view to the ocean from our balcony. The AC worked perfectly. The pool is small and it can feel awkward to be in it with people you don't know. There is practically no actual beach in the hotel buy it was fine for us. There is many sun beds in the deck of the hotel to relax on. We had breakfast every morning and it was very tasty and filling. We also had dinner here three times. The menu is more focused on seafood, so if you're not a fan of seafood then you run out of options pretty fast. The food was tasty and well made. The service in the hotel is the best part! Everyone was so kind and polite to us during the whole stay. We had the couples full body massage in the spa. It was very relaxing and the masseuses were polite and totally professional. We would definitely love to come back to Cantaloupe Aqua again one day. Thank you for making our holiday as perfect as possible!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank SatuJonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear Jonna,
Thank you for your kind and detailed review covering everything from the food to the pool and beach. Reviews like this are really helpful to prospective travellers and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do stress on seafood in our menu as most of it is freshly caught local catch , but are incorporating more vegetarian and meat options too.
Hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday. All the best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We visited Cantaloup Aqua as a short get away from Dubai for my birthday, given that there is so much to do and travel we wanted somewhere that we could get to easily/ relatively quickly and be near some kind of night life. Anyway Aqua delivered all of these and much more!! We recommend you take the Jacuzzi suit (apart from the obvious) the almost 360 degrees view of the beach is actually breath taking, then to be woken up by sunrise and the sea as background noise is soothing and phenomenal! For the weekend there were a number of special requests from flowers and a birthday surprise to which the team took onboard all requests, and followed up and finalised in great time with brilliant execution. On top of that as a birthday gift Aqua arranged a special outdoor cooking class by the chef and we were taught how to cook a Sri Lankan Curry (and we got to eat it too). We strongly recommend going to Cantaloupe Levels for Dinner as there are various seating choices, both in and outdoor and the menu and food is out of the world. Levels privately seated us outside almost over looking White Beach with no compromise in service, which was a perfect backdrop to our dinner. We also did the Tea plantation tour and did a couples massage which was all facilitated with ease by Aqua and we were truly taken care of by the team and we cannot recommend Aqua enough! We are eagerly awaiting the opening of their beach site next year July 2017 :D

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Hi Imran,
Thanks for the fantastic and detailed review! we were happy to help make your birthday wekend a memorable one and loved having you and your partner with us. The cooking classes are a must for those who enjoy Sri Lankan food.. while it can seem complicated initially with the right instructions it is a breeze.
Please get in touch the next time you are in Sri Lanka, Dubai is a close journey! Looking forward to welcoming you back to one of the cantaloupe hotels.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights and three days at this fantastic place. The view from our room was absolutely stunning. The staff was very kind and helpful and the restaurant had a very calm and nice atmosphere. The food was great and the room were fresh and clean. We did couple massage and they helped us book tours, tukk-tukk and arranged with flowers and birthday cakes when we asked them. Can really recommend this magical place.
/Zanna Wiede

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Zanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear Zanna,
It was lovely to have you and your partner, especially on a special occasion like a birthday. We are always happy to make these occasions memorable for our guests.
Please keep in touch and stay with us the next time you are in Sri lanka. We alwys ensure our return customers get the best packages.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this hotel, the rooms were spacious with privacy and great views and the area we were in was quiet. All of the staff were friendly and helpful and the food was good. I would recommend this place to others.

We rented a tuk tuk driver for the days we were there for approximately 3000 rupees per day.

Right next to happy banana was a restaurant that has fresh seafood to pick from and cooked for you. I cannot recommend this enough, definitely worth a visit and very cheap.

A great visit!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Chlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Hi Chloe,
Thanks very much for this review and its great to hear you enjoyed your holiday. Our views are amazing we have to agree. The area Aqua in is more quiet and for those looking to more of a buzz Unawatuna is a 10 minute rickshaw ride away!
The fresh seafood catch of the day is always delicious, we are happy you enjoyed this! We also organise cooking lessons and packages for our guests which can be inquired about on booking.
Safe travels and take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We had booked this place because we seen there was a pool over looking the water. When we arrived we could see that there was pool and deck maintenance. At first I wasn't very happy until the staff and manager did everything they could to make our stay more comfortable. We were offered a free couples massage which was amazing and an amazing dinner for two. It is by far the best food we have had since been in Sri Lanka!! Rooms are very nice with an amazing view! Much recommended!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank waldo2257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Hello!
We are so glad you gave us such a fantastic review despite the pool /deck maintenance work that had to be carried out during your stay. The team will be delighted with your feedback and our restaurant coconut prides its self on the delicious Sri Lankan food served with a twist.
We are in the process of launching a new dish called the 'EKA muthu' plate which translates to 'unity plate' and aims to showcase the cuisines of Sri Lanka's Sinhala , Tamil and muslim communities , harmoniously on one plate.
Would love for you to try it out the next time you are in Sri Lanka.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews