We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice visit”
Review of Kingfisher

Kingfisher
Ranked #16 of 129 Restaurants in Unawatuna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Italian, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Kingfisher is a hotel and restaurant beautifully located on the crescent-shaped beach of Unawatuna in the Southern Coast of Sri Lanka. It’s origins run back to late 90’s. We have a designed lounge bar where you can relax and sip a cocktail and we offer a western and eastern menu at the restaurent. All our products are fresh and from the market everyday. We also have daily and weekly events: Every saturday night, we organise a party with dj's, music in live.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

went here for a dinner. the seafood was good and the staff very friendly. would recommend visiting ..

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank MichaelJT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 90 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

We visited the Kingfisher three times during our stay nearby and had a great experience each time. We were sat on tables on the beach and served very well on each occasion by Wasantha. The menu is a little deceiving as they run out depending on how busy lunch was, but if you are into your seafood then this is the place to go. Each time I chose from the fish selection and had them simply grilled - delicious. Make sure you book ahead for the evenings as they do get busy! Simple place but good fresh food served simply.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jon74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We were recommended to go to this place. Maybe it was an off day but the wait for drinks was long. It wasn’t very busy either. We were going to eat but there didn’t appear to be any Sri Lankan food on the menu. Plus we were hesitant as to how long it might take. They only had cans of Lion and then ran out!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank CeylonAlan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We ate here one night, it was pleasant as the tables were on the edge of the beach. Not too much choice and fresh sea food was a little expensive. Staff were friendly. Food was good at the time but left me with a rather upset stomach for a couple of days, the only place to do so in 2 weeks of travel in Sri Lanka.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Good beach beds for rent, attentive service, calming surroundings.
Lunches and evening meals excellent, music and live entertainment adding to enjoyment.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sherpa434893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kingfisher also viewed

Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 
Unawatuna, Galle District
Unawatuna, Galle District
 

Been to Kingfisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing