We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USDĀ 165
USDĀ 129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USDĀ 125
USDĀ 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apa Villa Thalpe(Unawatuna)
USDĀ 185
USDĀ 138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cantaloupe Aqua(Unawatuna)
USDĀ 122
USDĀ 99
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USDĀ 98
USDĀ 91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USDĀ 370
USDĀ 332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USDĀ 81
USDĀ 73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Thambapanni Retreat(Unawatuna)(Great Value!)
USDĀ 69
USDĀ 61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of USDĀ 79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

CoCo Bay Unawatuna(Unawatuna)
USDĀ 210
USDĀ 174
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,016)
Filter reviews
1,016 results
Traveller rating
590
287
81
34
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
287
81
34
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousesister hotelseafoodsri lankasuperior roomsea viewtunafresh fishfirst floorstayed for nightsthe ground floorlovely roomspecial thanksprawnsfour poster bedcurryindian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,016 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed for only one night before moving to the Thaproban Pavillion Waves. Amazing location on a beautiful beach. Nice, basic room. The bed was comfortable, but a bit high off the ground. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic, but good. We came back a few days later to try the restaurant outside on the beach. It was probably one of the best meals we had in Unawatuna. In total, I visited/used facilities of three of the Thaproban properties and I can't find fault in any of them.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jb_familyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We were looking for a great place to eat some sea food and a local person recommended Thaproban Beach House. We went and ordered the Sea Food Platter for 2 and waited with great excitement.

20 minutes later our waiter came by with a massive platter containing a big crab, 4 jumbo prawns, calamari, a massive piece of tuna steak cooked to perfection, 8 smaller prawns and 2 plates of chips and salad. My wife and I loved the food, drink, atmosphere and friendly staff. Other people at our table ordered Thai Green Curry, Prawn Curry and Seafood Chowder. Everyone of us had an amazing meal, no complaints.We will definitively go back for dinner.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank luke_erasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Very attentive staff. Amazing location right on the beach. Breakfast is average but try their restaurant on the beach - superb food and amazingly fresh seafood. A must try. Would book again and/or recommend to a friend.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chilie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

After touring Sri Lanka we booked the penthouse for 9 nights. Reception staff were friendly and informative on arrival, a welcome drink was provided.

Our room was very spacious, lovely and clean, nice big bathroom and very large balcony area, lovely to sit and watch the chipmunks, monkeys and different birds in the trees. The hotel is located right on the beach.

Breakfast is ordered from a menu and although not a lot of choice it is ample and very nice and is served in the reception part of the hotel.
The main restaurant is on the beach and the food is really good, we did eat at other places but decided that our hotel offered the tastiest food.

Must say a big thanks to Ashinti our room boy, it was great to return to our room every afternoon to see the display he had made on our bed with towels, petals and flowers, also Indu in the restaurant who was very good at recommending tasty dishes and cooking styles also wines and Priyandha who was always made us feel welcome and was always on hand to help or just have a chat. A brilliant stay can't wait to return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

I was traveling with a friend, and we chose this hotel because it was on the beach and rather affordable and nice comparatively for this area. When we got there, the beach house was very nice with a nice restaurant in the back on the beach. The majority of the staff members were very friendly and welcoming, but certain staff members were pushy and too involved in our business - calling our room to see if we were eating dinner at the hotel restaurant or asking what our plans were all the time was a little excessive. We did really enjoy the hotel restaurant, but when you're on vacation, you just want to relax or be left alone. The questions and inquires about where we were going or what we were planning to do became annoying which made us not want to be in the hotel. We had some friends who were staying at the Waves across the street. It was not on the beach, but the room and bed was nicer than ours and it was half the price. They had the top floor and the view was amazing. I almost would have rather picked a place like that and then visited the restaurant at Thaproban.

Room Tip: We were in room 7. It was probably one of the louder rooms. We are young girls who like to stay out later, so it didn't really bother us.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews