We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,441)
Filter reviews
3,445 results
Traveller rating
2,141
917
247
85
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,141
917
247
85
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chief of the village family holiday beach restaurant french speaking evening shows other resorts baby food water skiing special thanks water sports reception desk south africans fantastic holiday recommend this resort special mention feel special sea view
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 3,445 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

The club is situated in a vast property which the guests could sit spread out and find own secluded spot as desire.
It took them 4 hours after us arriving on the club to be able to assign us a room. We spent the supposed waiting time at lunch and beach. The room was basic. AC is our room was hardly cool the room at all. The housekeeping team was great keeping the room tidy and clean. Especially the fold up animal towels, it was nice gesture but I would prefer clean towels that were simply fold than someone playing with it before I use it on my face and body.
Food options were excellent. We enjoyed ourselves very much during meal time.
Staffs attitude were awesome.
A lot of activity for everybody to enjoy. Though I wish they have a separated adult only pool. The current pool was mostly occupied by children and I would have liked to have an option for a quiet time by the pool as they have in Bali club.
Overall we enjoy our stay and planning to be back again in November this year. Recommended.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Muthuuu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Dear Muthuuu M,

Thank you so much for your nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your holidays with us, and the diverse aspects of the resort. We can't wait to have you back in November :)

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

We chose Club Med because we wanted a family holiday which included children. Our first surprise was how spread out the resort is, lovely if one wants privacy and you don't want to hear the evening entertainment, but a long way to walk if the heavens have opened and it is pouring with rain. An umbrella in the room is the only comfort you are offered.
Our room - a deluxe room with a sea view - was very nice and well appointed. Our man who cleaned the room, Sawan, was excellent and did a great job. He folded the towels into the most gorgeous animals every day.
We have been to other resorts in Mauritius and Club Med has a really nice beach by comparison, it is great for little children especially, no big waves and no current to push you around.
We were on the all inclusive package and the food in the main dining room was fantastic, every night a great choice and every night a delight. The service wasn't amazing though, we had to ask often for the table to be cleared and more cutlery brought. Three nights before the end of our stay we discovered James and he waited on our tables very efficiently, thank you James.
The kids club was a bit of a disaster in that they really only catered for French speaking children.
And the electric plugs in the rooms only catered for French people too..... very suprising in an international hotel - all the other hotels we have stayed in on Mauritius have catered fantastically for our different plugs. Even if it has meant loaning us adaptors, but Club Med didn't have adaptors at reception and I feel were arrogant about the fact that our plugs (an English square pin and a South African two pin) didnt fit, just shrugged as if it wasnt their problem. So go prepared with your own adaptors if you need to use a proper hair dryer not one of those bathroom ones hotels supply.
A plus for the ladies, the hangers in the cupboard at Club Med are plentiful and free standing - the hangers at the beachcomber hotels on those rings attached to the rail are a menace to use!
We made a reservation to eat in the beach a la carte restaurant Paul et Virginie one night only! The food was not good, nobody at our table of five finished anything. It wasn't a la carte, it was a la choice with an either or choice for each section. They were excellent on my allergy to garlic and that was strictly catered for, thank you. We ordered some wine and were told that there was no ice available. disappointing.
The staff theatres put on every evening are entertaining and they do a very good job of getting the audience involved, clapping and laughing, well done.
If you are going with small children (there is a well equipped baby section in the dining room) and very active young people (the water sports and activities are really good) then go to Club Med.

Room tip: The Deluxe sea facing rooms are well away from the noise of the entertainment area, a bit of a walk but probably worth it.
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear Beryl R,

Thank you for your nice review. We are happy to hear you overall had a good time at the resort, and appreciated many aspects of it. On the other hand, we are sorry you did not fully appreciated, due to some drawbacks such as the kids club and the food.
However, we are sure you will keep great memories of your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon,

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

Flying from South Africa, we spent a week here out of the normal school holidays. We found it a little difficult with our 3 kids as they were not able to enjoy the full benefits of the kids club as 99% of the guests were French (it was French school holidays). There was a largely French theme and most of the GO's etc. catered to this market. I must however point out that management and the couple of South African GO's made a fantastic gesture and effort by presenting a dedicated evening to the 'non-French', english speaking guests. We had a lovely evening. The facilities are what you would expect in Mauritius and you have access to all water sports. The only qualm I had with this was the age restriction on kayaks etc.. All 3 of my sons are strong sportsmen who participate in many water based sports and not being able to join me kayaking and SUP'ng was a bit unfair. We have stayed at other resorts in Mautitius and did not have this problem. Food was good and entertainment was fantastic but if you are looking for a more intimate, quiet holiday there are other choices that could be better.

Date of stay: February 2017
1  Thank Lucsta_KTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Lucsta_KTM,

We are happy to hear you had a fantastic time at the resort, although it was mainly French speaking. We are sorry your children could not benefit fully from theur holidays because of it, but are glad you overall appreciated the services and everything that was at your disposal.

Have a lovely day,

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

A group of us from school who all have just turned 50 decided to go to Clubmed to celebrate turning 50. There were 6 couples with kids ranging from 22-2 years old. Clubmed was fantastic and catered for all age groups. Ther evening entertainment is always excellent and kept the older kids fully entertained, as the same time there was plenty to do for the younger ones. Food was great. An over all very memorable experience. Sadly the weather was not its best, we seemed to have got caught up in a tropical cyclone, so we had a fair amount of rain. This did not distract us from having a brilliant time.

Room tip: The delux rooms are bigger and have good sea views
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Robert S,

Thanks a lot for your review. We are happy we contributed to celebrate your 50s, and even more that you chose us to throw your party. So happy birthday to you!! All the best, happiness, for this year coming.
We are sorry you did not have a nice weather, you will have to come back to experience your holidays in better conditions, such a shame... ;)

Have a lovely day,

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the resort for 2 weeks in January. Unfortunately it rained for most of the time, but overall, we had a great time. This place is special and especially great with kids or teens as it offers lots of activities.
The food was amazing, the kitchen staff worked hard and it showed. It rate it 5*.
Pepito was a great GO host and we enjoyed his company during our stay. He has a great flair for introducing people. Nash was our waiter and it was great to see that he was promoted from last year, he is very hard working and was fantastic and helpful.
Try out Nathy‘s vanilla ice coffee at the bar, delicious. If you have teens, leave them up to Babuska and Khaled, they did a great job and my son loved it. My compliments also go out to Karishma (thanks for always keeping the spirit up in the rain), Max, Hugo, Ashid, Chloe, Gabi and Stephanie, it was great spending time with you all. See you hopefully soon again.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nestor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club Med Ψ, Guest Relations Manager at Club Med La Pointe aux Canonniers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Nestor L,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear you had a good time at the resort, and enjoyed the activities that were proposed to you. We are glad you had a good time, and can't wait to welcome you again. No doubt the GO members will be delighted by your feedback.

Have a lovely day,

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews