We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
52
33
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
33
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjean paulmont choisy beachmon choisyself cateringmicrowave ovengrand baietoilet paperother parts of the islandbus stopminute walkvisited mauritiusfamily holidayport louiscaretakeropeneraccommodationfreedom
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We spent a week in this residence ant it has been a positive experience. Location is quite good, close to a minimarket (very basic!) and 500m from the terrific Mont Choisy Beach, in my opinion one of the best beaches in the Island.
Apartments are confortable, clean and relatively new. A little pool is located in the center of the residence with free access. Garden, all around the pool and the buildings, is well maintained and appreciated, expecially if you are with kids.
So, to recap, it is far from the five * resorts in the Island, but it is clean and confortable if you want to have a "normal" family Holiday. We appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W, Responsable relations clients at La Pointe Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Valerio,
Thank you for your feedback and your time. It was a pleasure to have you and your family at La Pointe Villas. We try our best to make the most of our travellers' stay.
We hope to see you again soon.
Have a great summer !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

These apartments were in a good location, beautifully maintained grounds, very clean and everything you need for a self-catering stay. It was a short walk to the best beach on the island, there was a regular bus service to Grand Baie, Port Louis and other parts of the island. There were few local bars and restaurants and a lovely patisserie. We can highly recommend the La Cigale Pizza restaurant and the eaterie next to MoMo's supermarket. There were some good cocktails to be at the Selfish bar during happy hour.

Room Tip: There are 2 sets of apartments. Choose a first floor apartment in the set furthest from the main road overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W, Guest Relations Manager at La Pointe Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Dear client,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. La Pointe Villas' team really appreciate when we receive positive comments.
We hope to welcome you another time at our place.
Warm Regards,
La Pointe Villas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

I booked the three bedroom villa downstairs. It was huge and with 4 single and one double room it was far too spacious for three of us. My teen age daughter and my husband so we decided to have one room each . It was so good as we have plenty of room each. They have safe at the master bedroom. All the wardrobe have locked and you can keep the keys if you're out , so you can secure your Valuables. Huge shower room . The place and sir rounding are cleaned. Just closed the windows at night as it was at the back of busy road so it can be noisy with cars and motorcycles still padding at night.the air conditioning are working perfect and plenty of hot water.the towels are limited so you have to keep requesting . You can book dome trips and tour by Jean paul the caretaker. you can arrange the pick up and drop off the airport by emailing the hotel. Or they will email you. There's swallow pool by the villa but not deep enough for swimming . Plenty of beach around and you can reach it by car or bus. The bus to grand baie . Where shops and eatery and the marina and beach can be reach by bus . There's eatery around but plenty in grand baie. The shops at the main road in front of the villas stock anything you want if you will self catering as there's stove, microwave kettle , filter coffee and kettle to use. Just disappointed that they don't have a built in stove and oven as its so long to cook on the old portable electric stove. If your downstairs the next cow from upstairs was so frustrating especially right now that the occupier upstairs just arrive and a bit noisy . We want to sleep at nine at night as we're catching some early tours , but upstairs , just arrived at 7pm so a lots of movements till 23;00 hours. No net curtains in b the window so your neighbouring villa can see you . Otherwise its budget accommodation and it is clean

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Wild T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George W, Owner at La Pointe Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Dear guest, many thanks for taking your time to leave this feedback.
We are glad that you enjoy your holidays and the facilities at La Pointe Villas.
We appreciate your comment regarding the missing curtain, we are taking good note and will do the necessary so that guests in this 3BR apartment have more privacy. We regret that you encounter some inconvenience due to noisy neighbours upstairs and will surely tell guests upstairs to keep noise and disturbance to a minimum for the guests below.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Very fine place with everything you need within walking distance.
Very kind and helpful staff and management.
Very fine every-day cleaning.
Very fine surroundings (-no trafgic noise, no dicoteques!)
In short: VERY FINE!
Strongly recommendable.

Room Tip: It is a rather small hotel so it is fine all over.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jørgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W, Responsable relations clients at La Pointe Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Jorgen,
Thank you very much for this good review that we really much appreciate.
We do hope that you will visit us again soon. You and your wife were not just "very fine" clients but amazing ones.
Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile


This was our second stay at this fabulous accommodation. We last stayed over Christmas 2012 and had no hesitation in booking to stay again. And, we will definitely be staying again in the future.
We are a family of 5 with kids aged 13, 12 and 10. For this visit we stayed for 2 weeks from 16th Dec to 31st Dec.

We had 2 interconnecting rooms. The benefits of this arrangement was that we had two bathrooms between the 5 of us. One room had a double bed and the other had a double and a single bed (the single bed was added on request). There was still plenty of space in the room even with this extra bed. To be honest, we spent very little time inside the bedrooms apart from showering, sleeping and preparing a few meals. The weather was so fantastic when we weren't at the beach/pool/out for the day we sat outside on the terrace all the time (which overlooks the pool).

We love this accommodation for lots of reasons. It has a lovely 'family' feel to it. That is not to say it is over run with kids, because actually, there were only a few children there (and those there were very well behaved). However, the guests are very respectful of each other, not making a noise outside too early or too late at night. Even though there were several nationalities of guests, everybody would greet you with a smile and a 'hello'. On Christmas Eve night there was an incident which was very quickly dealt with where a large family who had all travelled from around the world to get together had come to stay in one of the villas, over occupying by at least 100%. Some of the young men in that party were out by the pool at 6am drinking beer. NOT at all within the ethos of the villas. By 10am on Christmas Day they had all left, and the owner of the villas (George) had taken measures to try and stop anything similar happening again.

It is a small and intimate complex. I think there are 16 rooms in total.
There is a lovely pool with sun beds around. Whenever we decided to have some pool time it was never an issue getting a sunbed.

It is close to 2 beaches (Pointe Aux Cannoniers and Mon Choisy) both about 10-15 minutes walk. There are a few restaurants and shops within walking distance, or you can jump on the bus (or a taxi) into the busier resort of Grand Baie only 10 minutes away. We had a car so we could easily get to the supermarket in Grand Baie for supplies, and to go sightseeing. For British people it is very easy to drive in Mauritius as they drive on the left.

The villas are owned by George who we had been in contact with via email prior to our arrival to arrange airport transfers. He offered a very good price and the driver was so helpful. He even took us to the villa via a supermarket so we could get some provisions for our first evening/day.

George's daughter, Rachel, is currently helping with the management of the villas. We chatted with her a couple of times and she is lovely. She brought a gift to each of the villas on Christmas Day, which was very thoughtful. She also showed us round a different type of villa (different layout) so we could get an idea of what we would prefer next time we stay. (Though we think we will have the same rooms next time).

There is also a caretaker for the villas, Jean-Paul, who is available all day (he has a room at the back of the villas) if you have any questions or anything that needs sorting out.

The maid comes in daily and will change your towels whenever you want, providing you leave them in the wash basket. (If you hang them up it indicates you are happy to use them again). I'm not sure how often she changed the beds but they were always made when we went back to our villa after being out. She will also do bags of laundry which was great for us. A large laundry bag of mixed colours/fabrics was Rs 500 (about £12 on current exchange rates) to be washed, dried and ironed.

There is no bar or restaurant/cafe, but it is not that type of accommodation. I guess this means there is no centralised 'hub' for people to socialise with one another. So I would say only stay here if you are happy to spend time with each other and you're not looking for somewhere to make new friends. That said, there are plenty of restaurants and bars only 10 minutes away in Grand Baie. Also a couple of evenings we went across the road to a nice bar Esprit Libre, which had some local live music on a Friday evening. We love this accommodation precisely because it is quiet. We go to spend time together as a family so for us it is perfect.

What else can I say? UK electric sockets, so you don't need any adapters. The site has a generator so when there is a power cut (frequent but usually short lived) the gennie kicks in. There is air con in the rooms, and the black out curtains are great for keeping out the bright sunshine in a morning until you are ready to get up.

I know some people have moaned on some reviews about trivial things like needing to buy your own toilet rolls! Really, if you put it in perspective, you can stay in this lovely accommodation in paradise (because Mauritius really is paradise - once you have been you will always want to go back) at such a reasonable price I can't imagine why needing to buy toilet rolls should be a problem! (And, you have one in each bathroom for your arrival anyway).

The headlines: it's quiet and respectful for guests;it's not in a big resort so if you want night life you will need to go 10 minutes down the road to Grand Baie (plenty of buses and taxis); the owners/caretaker are very friendly and helpful and want guests to have a lovely stay, but are not over bearing; it is clean; it is fantastic value for money.

Thank you for our perfect holiday. We can't wait to come back.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank scmeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W, Responsable relations clients at La Pointe Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Dear Rufus and Sharon,
Thank you very much for this exhaustive and excellent review.
We really appreciate that you took some time to describe everything that can be useful for future travellers.
We were really sad that your family missed the Sundowner drink by the pool on the 31st but we will definitely organise one when you will be around :-D
Again my family and myself thank you for your kindness.
We really do hope to see you again soon. Keep us posted and take care.
Warm regards from La Pointe Villas' team **~~**

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews